We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not wowed but certainly an OK place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #62 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not wowed but certainly an OK place to stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Shared lobby and overall vibe are a bit odd. Attached chain restaurant food turned out to be better than I expected. Staff and service were great. Very close to the convention center and other attractions. But there are other hotels in the area with a bit more ambiance that are close to things and in the same price range.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieRNJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Debbie,
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We strive to WOW all of our guests and thank you for letting us know that we did not meet your expectations. We will continue to work hard to provide the service that we have become known for in downtown Austin. I look forward to your return so our associates can show you their genuine care! Thank you for staying with us! Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    187
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
48
80
24
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Courtyard in Downtown Austin sits diagonally across the street from the convention center. It could not be more convenient if that's where your business is and the intervening intersection is stop signs (not lights), so you can get there in under a minute. Now, if you're going elsewhere in downtown Austin, you can probably walk there from the Courtyard in 5-10 minutes easily.

The property itself is "married" to a Residence Inn -- same building, but two distinct properties giving you access to the amenities of both. The Courtyard has the Starbucks and the restaurant on property, while the Residence Inn has the exercise room, the pool, and some great hidden sitting/working areas in its lobby.

On the Courtyard side, which is where I stayed, the rooms were very nice. One of the most comfortable beds I've had in recent memory, good working area, and speedy internet. Having the Starbucks is convenient. The restaurant on property is a buffet for breakfast and, I think, lunch. It's a sports bar the rest of the day. It's not bad, but not stellar either -- standard tank-filling fare for the morning.

What made the property stand out was the staff. My check in process took seconds and they were standing there waiting on me (or anyone) when I arrived. I needed to delay my check out and they happily accommodated. When I asked about the breakfast options that Marriott Elite Rewards members get, they provided some breakfast vouchers.

When I go back to Austin, this is where I'm staying.

Room Tip: Tip: If you're looking for lobby working/meeting space, walk over to the Residence Inn side. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Rabbit,
Thank you for staying with us while in Austin and for taking time to post your review. I am please that you were able to experience our amazing associates. They work hard each and every day to ensure our guests feel at home and are able to maintain their routine when staying at our hotels.
Thank you again and we look forward to hosting in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed there because it was a short walk to 6th St. to go out for Mardi Gras, and that worked out well.
The young lady who checked us in acted like we were inconveniencing her, and she told us nothing except how to get to our room. We had to ask her about the parking, the breakfast, etc.
Other than that, it was a good stay, with a nice room in a good location.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Texa s,
Thank you for posting your review from your Mardi Gras Weekend earlier this year. Since your last visit we have worked hard on our arrival and do take time to walk each guest to the elevator while explaining some of the features of the hotel. While we cannot get all the amenities into that short walk we will always be available to answer any questions you may have. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward for you next visit so we can show you some changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

coffe maker surrounded by food particles from last guest's breakfast and iron rusted out so shirt ruined all make me wonder if housekeeping is something you have to request at check-in. Won't be staying here again,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EdouardBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
EdouardBostonMA,
Thank you so much for taking time to let me know about the poor housekeeping service you received with you were staying with us. I have taken time this week to work with the housekeeping team to ensure they are not missing any steps while servicing rooms. Also, we have worked on our inspection process to ensure our inspectors are teaching and guiding the housekeeping team and helping them to execute perfect rooms every day. Thank you again and I do hope you give us another try when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After weeks of tiring travelling, I had a few nights in this hotel and it was bliss! Great location, staff and rooms. The indoor pool and spa were a welcome bonus and the breakfast was fantastic! Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsox-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
redsox-wanderer,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your review about your recent down time at our hotel. We are all very pleased you were able to get some R&R from your hectic traveling and enjoy Austin and the amenities at the hotel. When you are ready to get some more needed rest just give a call so we can help you plan you next trip. Thank you for staying with us! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located to Convention Center! AwEsOmE, helpful & friendly staff! Rooms were exceptionally clean & stocked! Starbucks close by. Restaurant & bar in lobby as well. We will definitely book our next stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
AngelaRamos,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our AmAzIng associates! They work hard each and every day to make our guest comfortable and at home. Also, thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Austin we look forward to your next visit! Until next time, enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
364 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What separates this Courtyard from the others? The staff. When I arrived for my conference (5 days), I remembered how much I was paying for the room (all hotels in this area are overpriced during convention weeks) I thought to myself that 5 days hence I was going to be writing a rather bland review. I think most Courtyard Hotels deliver the same standard room and services (although the restaurant attached was excellent) -- so there were no surprises here. And any property is beholden to the surroundings for esthetics (as noted in a recent review of this hotel, I too was facing a rather 1 star view, but every hotel in the area would have this problem as well). But the room thermostat worked perfectly and heated and cooled quickly (it was a time of the year where heat and cooling were needed), the internet speed was great and the bathroom sparkled with a shower that delivered a powerful stream of water. The staff was terrific. In general I expect a nice greeting upon arrival (when my platinum status shows up) but after that the staff would not know me from any other customer. When they were not behind the desk helping customers, they were in front of the desk and were greeters. We had some Halloween pranksters that pulled the fire alarm, and the staff handled it perfectly at the time of the event (about 3 in the morning). Upon checkout when I mentioned this event (when I was asked if I had a perfect stay), I was awarded extra points as an apology. The location is perfect --- a 90 second walk from the convention center or larger Hilton Hotel, the light rail or the $1 airport bus. (I wish I knew that when I took at $40 taxi ride from the airport). It is a about a 3-5 minute walk to 6th street (music and bars).

I do have one issue that I think all the hotels and the city needs to deal with. In order to get to the convention center or Hilton, again 90 seconds by foot, you need to walk past a small park. There were people sitting on the bench that seemed to take turns (politely) approaching a passerby asking if they could have a few words...... for the purpose of soliciting money (begging). Despite the fact the solicitors were polite it was unnerving and unwelcoming. My guess is the businesses in this area and convention center officials need to get the police to clear this area of this type of activity. What does it say about a convention center if the visitors have to deal with this???? I hope this comment urges the city to take care of this problem (yeah right) but I would trade an eyesore city for this type of threatening behavior.

In summary -- a standard Courtyard room and amenities, fairly priced for the area (but overpriced --- this is not Times Square), with a great staff.

Room Tip: I do not know what the view is looking out towards the front of the other sides, but the view lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Bruce C,
Thank you very much for all of your kind words. This team works hard every day to make each guest feel welcomed. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we sure hope to have the pleasure to entertain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Austin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#49 Business Hotel in Austin
#58 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing