We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”
Review of Saxon Pub

Saxon Pub
Ranked #15 of 194 Nightlife in Austin
Attraction details
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A great venue with a superb sound system and staff to match.Always some kind of live music going on, many of which are free.

Don't miss Bob Schneider and Lonelyland, who appear to be on most Monday nights.Had never heard of him, but folks in other bars told us to go see him. So glad we did, a real original act that would be hard to pigeon hole.

Good beer prices as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    5
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Resentments”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A great band, and regulars at this friendly, clean and fun spot. We spent a month touring various various Austin clubs and consider this our favorite. Another great music spot is right across the street, One 2 One Club.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best music (and value) in Austin”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

And that is saying something, because you have so many choices. On Thursday, there is a happy hour show with one of the greatest music performances you will ever be witness to---"86". These guys just plain rip it up.....have never failed to see them and go here when I am in town. Even Tommy Shannon, from SRV's Double Trouble was playing bass when I was there at one point. Also, this is a free show, and the jar is passed around after. But really, for the price of a drink this is amazing.

The staff is just fine, and one thing I like about the Saxon is that you can actually find a place to sit!

Drinks so-so in potency (so get several). Good location on Lamar close to SOCO and other fun Austin stuff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Want to Hear REAL Austin Music? You Can't Go Wrong at the Saxon”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I am a fan of live, local music in Austin. The Saxon Pub is my favorite place to hear the Austin sound seven nights a week. Located in the less bustling South Lamar corridor, parking is rarely an issue. There are free happy hours where you can hear amazing music on your way home from work. The crowd is a cross-section of real Austin - not suburban, flashy. Affluent or not, everyone will be treated great by the friendly staff. Pop in anytime and trust you'll hear something truly special. And if you scan the crowd, you just might find yourself elbow-to-elbow with some famous folks in the know.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steinermayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst bar staff ever!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I've been a faithful music lover in Austin for over 20 years, and have been to virtually every club in the city over that period of time. The Saxon Pub has the rudest staff of any bar I've ever experienced anywhere. Ever.
I don't want to denigrate the music, however; it's usually amazing and the room has great sound.
Just wish whoever owned the place would hire decent, respectful staff!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank McNikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saxon Pub also viewed

 

Been to Saxon Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing