We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good compromise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area
Ranked #96 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    197
    203
    88
    86
See reviews for
124
169
89
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Clean, Newly remodeled room. Friendly staff. The candy machine outside ate my money. Twice. The Manager refunded me the 2.50.
The hotel is right next to I-35, and is the least expensive motel closest to the College/State Government district, which means the clientele are usually younger, and less likely to care about other guests. They were a noisy bunch. At 2 in the morning. We never complained (What's the point?) so we can't fault the managers.
The motel had a breakfast setup, but we didn't partake. There was a Denny's 4 blocks up on the same side of the hiway.
The bedspreads could use a good laundering. The one on the second bed looked...icky. The pillows were clean, but rather thin.
Overall, if you need to be close to the capitol on a budget, this is a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue Washington
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was a single-female traveler and stayed at this motel near the end of the remodel process. The rooms are completely updated, including the plumbing. I liked the laminate flooring and the sofa was comfortable to sit on. Good wifi and cable TV. There was a new microwave, fridge and coffee maker. I did not take advantage of the breakfast, but the front staff was very helpful. Jeff checked me in the evening I arrived and helped me arrange a taxi to the Moody Theater for an evening show. The front staff stowed my suitcase after check-out time so I could explore Austin before my evening flight home.

The location is within walking distance of the state Capitol and UT, but it is a trek across the I-35. I did not feel comfortable walking to downtown at night by myself, but cabs were efficient and reasonable ($8.00 on-way). During the day, I walked into downtown and used the metro bus system to explore the area. This is a good basic hotel. The location is about as far as I would want to stay from downtown Austin, without a car. The motel is on the east edge of downtown Austin, a very historic and interesting neighborhood. Franklin's Barbecue is a quick walk up a side street (bring your lawn chair for a two hour wait). There also were a few clubs and restaurants a short walk away on east 11th street.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 215. It was the farthest area away from the highway, quiet during my mid-week stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSUGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Freewater, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Remodeled rooms were great with hard floors. The location was in walking distance to downtown area and two blocks to Franklin BBQ. Close to the Capital building and LBJ library. Nice quiet and clean rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here for a bachelor party in January. Very nice rooms, considering it is a motel. It was fairly loud, and the door didn't feel super secure - luckily the location seems fairly safe.

My room was in the middle of being remodeled, and consequently did not have artwork or a headboard for the bed. Still - considering location and cost, it was an acceptable place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

PRICE AND QUALITY
I paid about $75 after taxes for a Tuesday night stay. I was placed in room 130, the furthest room from the lobby that's on the 1st floor. The room actually had wood floors, which was a shock since Super 8 is a lower-tiered motel. Everything else is exactly what one would expect- no frills- just the necessities.

SLEEP QUALITY
At night, I could hear cars driving on the highway nearby. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. One of the two pillows I had was also unbelievable flat. It was to the point where you can fold it in half and it wouldn't unfold by itself.

BREAKFAST
Meh- Yogurt, individually packaged muffins, cereal, bread, jelly, and bananas. The only teabags that were available were large decaffeinated Lipton tea bags- the ones meant to make an entire pitcher of tea. Kind of a waste of resources if you ask me.

PROXIMITY TO FRANKLIN BARBECUE
If you're visiting Austin, you may have heard about how awesome the restaurant "Franklin Barbecue" is. If not, go look it up and read some reviews about the delicious brisket and the long multi-hour wait in line each morning. This Super 8 is in a FANTASTIC location if you're considering buying food at Franklin Barbecue- less than 2 blocks away. .

(By the way, I rated Franklin Barbecue a 4 on TripAdvisor, but the overwhelming majority of people rated it a 5. If I focused solely on the food quality, I would also have rated it a 5)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area

Property: Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area
Address: 1201 North I-35, I-35 and 12th Street, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area Texas
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing