We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Austin North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Inn Austin North
Ranked #149 of 197 Hotels in Austin
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We love to stay at this hotel everytime we visit Austin. The indoor heated pool and sauna are great after a long day. Wayne, the cook, though is our real reason for always coming back. He makes everyone's breakfast to order and does the work of 10 men all by himself while making it look easy. Rooms themselves are clean & comfortable but could use some updated carpet and minor cosmetics, i.e. painting, etc. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Fish6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    40
    40
    23
    27
See reviews for
53
33
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have stayed here about 4-5 times. Love it. Inside pool water is soooo warm. Really nice man cooks your breakfast fresh as you order it. Bacon, eggs, toast, the works....staff helpful. Rooms nice, microwave and refrigerator in room. Didn't try internet. Cheap price for the amenities. The location is convenient, about 3 blocks from freeway. , Red Lobster a block away, neighborhood slightly less desirable, but not bad at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We needed a base for a weekend visit with family. This hotel worked out very well. It was clean, comfortable, and had a nice small indoor pool. The pool was just right for all the cousins to enjoy on a cold afternoon. In addition to the pool, breakfast was a highlight. The cook was very friendly and made pancakes and eggs to order. The pancakes were sized to match the requester: children got mini-pancakes, dad got plate sized cakes. The bacon was crisp and hash browns well done. The interior of the hotel looks like a ski lodge with wood rafters and was decorated for Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hockley1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed here by myself for 5 nights to visit my daughter in Asutin. Uncertain at first from the look of the outside, but inside is newly appointed and updated and very nice. Room was spacious, clean and quite, and it had been recently updated. State troopers stay here while attending classes down the highway, so I felt VERY safe. Complimentary breakfast was GREAT - eggs cooked to order, bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy, in addition to the regualr bagels, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, etc. Only complaint would be that the lighting was rather low, due to the CF bulbs. I plan to stay here every time I visit my daughter in Austin.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north don't get blazing sun, so better for sleeping in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccarney52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Besides the neighborhood, this was a good stay. The area has obviously gone downhill in recent times and numerous empty buildings are around the hotel. However, it appeared that there was work being done next door, so there might be hope. The beds were nice and room service did a decent job. Weirdly, I would vote this as one of the most comfortable beds.... better than what I expected from Best Western. The breakfast and happy hour were good for the price of the hotel, but be ready for plastic and paper products. The internet was hit and miss, sometimes it was fast, other times, dial up is fastert, but I was along way from the front desk which might have made a difference. Overall, a good room for a good price.

Also, depending on your activities, it could be nice or not so nice that there was a huge amount of law enforcement staying there (10+ patrol cars every night).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justllooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

-Wifi exists but too weak to do anything in the room, you have to go out on the lobby.
-Telephone in my room did not work, problem was reported only to have engineer came 2 days later to confirm there is an issue with cabling and can do anything about it
-breakfast sever in plastic dish and cutlery, too lazy to cook eggs upon order even when not busy, rudely told me to get pre cooked Luke warm scrambled eggs covered by foil, spilled everywhere

If you don't need Internet connection, phone line, nor decent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 000ttt000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

I'm a solo traveler and stayed here for 2 nights. Had to change rooms because the first room didn't have any hot water. Matiencence said he "fixed it" when clearly it wasn't even luke warm. Second room didn't have a problem. I payed extra for the whirl tub and I didn't even use it! In both rooms I was in, the cab to one of the jets had hair and gunk wrapped around it. Enough to gross me out. Also, In middle of my shower in the 1st room I was in, a roach came out from underneath the shower door. Very limited on the channels that came in one the 1st room. 2nd room I had more of a selection. So I guess you get what ya get. Resturants (Dennys, Chilis, Applebees) across the highway just less than 2 miles away. Nothing in walking distance. About 10/15 minutes from the downtown 6th street shopping and bars. 1st room there was left over empty sugar packets still in the coffee bin from previous person. Front desk was so-so helpful. They were nice and smiled and stuck me in another room without problems. They answered all questions I had and were nice but I got the vibe it was because they "had" to be. So overall, not worth the price or the location but if a last resort I guess it would have to do. Also, right directly across the street is a bunch of run down apartments and questionable people walking around all the time. The hotel is put in middle of a scary looking place especially for a solo traveler that is a chicken like me.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrinsicB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Budget Inn Capitol
#129 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#147 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Comfort Inn Austin
Comfort Inn Austin
#141 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
St. Johns
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Econo Lodge North Austin
#142 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Austin North

Property: Clarion Inn Austin North
Address: 7928 Gessner Drive, Austin, TX 78753 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Austin North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off Interstate 35, the Clarion Inn Austin North in Austin, TX offers easy access to Texas Memorial Stadium, as well as a variety of other attraction, including: Austin Convention Center Texas State Capitol Bob Bullock Museum Pickle Research Campus LBJ Library ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Clarion Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Atrium North Hotel Austin
Best Western Hotel Austin
Best Western Austin
Austin Best Western
Clarion Inn Austin North Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing