We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ACL stay!!!”
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #37 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ACL stay!!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Fantastic location near the University of Texas campus. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel provided transportation to and from the festival which made our trip to ACL so easy. Comfortable and plush rooms and loved the blend of historical character of the main building with the updated modern clean design of the guest rooms. The renovations were ongoing on the courtyard pool and guestroom wing addition, but construction noise was not a problem. Overall, we had a great experience at Hotel Ella and look forward to staying here next time we are in Austin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    77
    20
    18
    6
See reviews for
59
147
7
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Beautiful hotel, until you look beneath the surface. Staff: very pleasant, not especially well-trained. One example: bellman left me carrying a heavy bag, while he carried a light briefcase. Another, no guide book to hotel services in the room. Wound up walking to valet parking to get my car, rather than calling a number, since the doorman had not written any number on the ticket, and the telephone system is indecipherable. Rooms: I had a large garden suite, looking onto the pool. As a result, there was little sitting area, just a lot of open space. No desk for working. I decided to work on the patio next to the beautiful pool and its fountains. Wrong. Construction is ongoing---a lot of noise, plus workmen walking around. Another point: no guide to television channels, so you flip one by one until you find the station you want. Here's a biggie: no closets. An armoire, BUT, it's full of shelves, so your pants, dresses, etc. can't hang straight down, but must be bent. And the sink/vanity is in the bedroom itself, rather than the bathroom. In short, the architect who redesigned the place must know nothing about hotels. It looks good, but is not practically functional. Given the truly outrageous price, I'd have been much more comfortable at a Comfort Inn. So it's a place to see and be seen, but not to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RDTADT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Read about Hotel Ella in the WSJ so we had high expectations. The price was about $200 more that what was quoted in the paper but I figured that it must be weekend rates. Very disappointed. The rooms looked nice but the views were of a construction fence. The hand-held shower head was 5' high so it was a pain in the back to wash your hair. As mentioned in other reviews the walls/doors are thin and the beds noisy. We had a couple across the hall who had a great time all night. We didn't get much sleep either for other reasons. We luckily switched rooms the next day- view of the parking lot. Pool was not finished. Not a bed and breakfast. Bathrooms were cheaply done with ceramic tile. For $400-550 a night I expect better. Staff was very nice.
Beware there is a 72 hour cancelation policy-
Stayed the last night at a hotel near the airport and my son couldn't figure out why it was $200 cheaper when it had a pool, exercise room, breakfast and a better shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rinwitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Director of Rooms at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Rinwitter,

Thank you for your posting. I apologize for failing to exceed your expectations during your recent stay at Hotel Ella with the renovations not being 100% complete at the time of your visit. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the mentioned issues have caused to you. I am available anytime should you wish to speak with me in more detail. Your candid feedback in regards to the quality of the room allows us to address our inconsistencies and make improvements to the mentioned areas going forward. Please contact me personally, as I want to ensure I resolve this matter to your complete satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Patricia Lehberger
Director of Rooms
Hotel Ella
512-495-1800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I have to admit, I was really looking forward to this place and maybe my expectations were too high. I loved that this place was historic and so 'Texan' but the renovations are a miss. There was issue after issue and if I'm paying several hundred dollars, I expect everything to be working, at minimum! I had high expectations because they are part of the 'small luxury hotels' but I'm not sure why that 'club' included them. I guess that goes to show that there still aren't any 'groups' 'clubs' that I can trust 100%, including JetSetter. The one positive thing was the staff, but unfortunately that itself won't make me want to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank dubupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Director of Rooms at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear dubupak,

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at Hotel Ella. We are sorry to read that we didn’t meet your expectations. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the mentioned issues have caused to you. I am available anytime should you wish to speak with me in more detail. Your candid feedback will allow us to address our inconsistencies and make improvements going forward. Please contact me personally, as I want to ensure I resolve this matter to your complete satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Patricia Lehberger
Director of Rooms
Hotel Ella
512-495-1800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,911 reviews
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#21 of 203 in Austin
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
555 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Property: Hotel Ella
Address: 1900 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705-5511 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin
Hotel Ella Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing