We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant small hotel”
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #38 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very lovely hotel. Staff is fantastic. Loved the breakfast in pretty dining room. The small bar was intimate and sophisticated. Rene the young man in the dining room was so professional and helpful. The attention to detail made it a unique experience and I would recommend it highly. Next time I want to stay in the main house after seeing the rooms. Although the annex was great I think the main house rooms are very special. The complimentary car service to dine in other areas of Austin was very convenient. A real bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms in main house are superior.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Kathleen O,
Thank you for your great review. I'm so glad you loved your breakfast in Goodall's Kitchen & Bar. We strive to provide a unique experience for our Hotel Ella guests. Our staff is fantastic and I will let Rene know you found him to be professional and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Ella again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I highly recommend Hotel Ella, my stay was exceptional in every way.
From the perfect location, to the aesthetics and comfort of this historic hotel it provided the perfect experience for the weekend in Austin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kellye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Kellye C,
Thank you for your great review. We're so glad that your stay at Hotel Ella was exceptional in every way! Thank you again for your high recommendations. We look forward to providing you another perfect experience on your next visit to Austin and Hotel Ella!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am on the road as a business traveler all year and I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Ella. The staff at Hotel Ella is personable, courteous and conscientious. They made me feel like I was in their home and provided me with sincere hospitality. My internet worked consistently throughout the property, which is very important to me. The food was amazing and for anyone who is looking for a great restaurant for lunch or dinner, Goodall's Kitchen & Bar is fantastic. I decided to dine in the restaurant several times during my stay and each meal was delicious. It was also great place to meet clients for breakfast and an old friend for drinks on the verandah in the afternoon. What a find! I know where I will stay when I return to Austin. And next time, I look forward to trying out the pool!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciam1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear marciam1969: Thank your for your great review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ella and found our staff to be personable, courteous, and conscientious. It's great that you were able to utilize our complimentary wifi. We're thrilled that you enjoyed every delicious meal at Goodall's Kitchen & Bar, as well as drinks on our veranda. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Better service than a five star hotel. The staff was wonderful, the rooms was great, the bed comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Really loved everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Nancy N: Thank you for your great review. We're so glad that you loved our wonderful staff (better service than a five star hotel), great rooms and comfortable beds. I'm thrilled that you loved your Hotel Ella experience, including an excellent breakfast and dinner at our restaurant, Goodall's Kitchen & Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location . Courtesy car service within 3 miles radius in downtown to 10pm. Current building work nearby unexpected but obviously temporary. Swimming pool and ambience inside very relaxing and staff couldn't be more helpful. Would like to have stayed for more than one night to get into the relax groove. Breakfast scrumptious and well worth booking a rate that includes it for the experience. Not all rooms have a bathtub so if you'd like one I'd suggest mentioning it on booking. Overall a lovely hotel and would definitely recommend it. I thought all the staff were really helpful and genuinely so.

Room Tip: If you'd like a bathtub mention it on booking.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDPPooleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear SDPPooleUK: Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Ella. I'm so glad you found the swimming pool, as well as the interior ambiance to be very relaxing. Also, thank you for acknowledging our genuinely helpful staff. When making your next reservation, please let us know that you prefer a room with a bathtub. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella soon! Hopefully you'll be able to stay longer than one night and "get into the relax groove!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's rare that I take the time to fill out a survey let alone write a review on a hotel. As a frequent traveler for both business and pleasure, I have to say that I was beyond impressed with the service I received at Hotel Ella! The rooms are great. The food was impeccable and the service was just outstanding.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myleik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Myleik T,
It's great to hear that you were beyond impressed with Hotel Ella's service and room accommodations. We're so pleased that your dining experience included impeccable food and outstanding service. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have stayed at the Mansion on Judges Hill for several years and the quality we admired about the hotel was it's status as a solid boutique in a great location of Austin. So, my wife and took a trip to Austin this weekend to try the new Hotel Ella, a transformation of the former Mansion on Judges Hill.

The rate I noticed was high for a suite but made the reservation anyway. What a disappointment for a $500+ hotel room. No desk, a shower you could hardly turn around in, slippery tiles in the shower and virtually no hot water in the morning's shower and on top of this, 2 wash cloths, 2 hand towels and 2 bath towels. I will give them a plus for 1 extra pillow. The bed was average and overall the room was small and was no where near "Suite" size or "Suite" quality.

Updates with the pool, outside art, inside art, new carpeting, paint and decorations was well done. Keeping the mansion and dining room was a plus. Parking is $25 and Valet is the only choice.

My advice for Austin is head to the 4 Seasons which is another favorite of ours in Austin. For $500+ you get a lot more for your money is class hotel. For the new owners of Hotel Ella, your upgrades and capital investment were put in the wrong places and just cost you a loyal customer for the past 6 years.

Room Tip: Go to the 4 Seasons for these prices. You will get more.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mike R:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ella and to recognize our service, cleanliness and location as excellent. We were thrilled to welcome you back and show you Hotel Ella, including all of the new product and service enhancements that make Ella sophisticated and unique. I was glad to see you enjoyed the pool courtyard and art installation. They truly bring out the best of Austin old and Austin new.

I apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the quality and comfort of your guest suite. All of the inconveniences you mentioned are easily overcome. I would be grateful for the opportunity to regain your loyalty. I am available anytime via 512-495-1800.

Sincerely,

Steve Shotsberger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#19 of 202 in Austin
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 202 in Austin
653 reviews
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 202 in Austin
1,205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705-5511 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £185 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin
Hotel Ella Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing