We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #40 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel Ella is a Beautiful Historic property. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very pretty and comfortable. However, I would be careful not to get the corner rooms that have the student dorms right behind them unless you are prepared to hear lots of noise all night long! There is also construction going on as well, but the noise was not too bad. The Hotels cars that they have on property to take you locally are a definite bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Kiberly C,

I appreciate you taking the time to share some feedback about your recent stay at Hotel Ella. I'll be sure to share the positive comments with our team as they take great pride in providing a five-star experience.

I also wanted to let you know that we are planning to build a barrier enhancement adjacent to our Classic Guestrooms to help buffer the noise from our neighbors. I hope you will visit us again soon to experience the new and improved product for yourself!

Sincerely,
Luca Reck
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    79
    20
    19
    6
See reviews for
62
149
8
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Service and food at this hotel are very good indeed. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you.

My only complaint would be that it is not the quietest hotel, soundproofing is not great at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Terry R,
Thank you for your review; we truly appreciate every bit of feedback from our guests. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed our restaurant, Goodall’s. Thank you as well for recognizing our amazing Hotel staff. I couldn’t agree more.

As for the noise, I’m happy to report that we are improving our soundproofing. I hope you will join us again and allow us the opportunity to show off our new enhancements.

Sincerely,
Luca Reck
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Expensive hotel with excellent service, but half the hotel is new and not historic. For the price, staying in the new part is nothing special. If this hotel was $200-250 it is well worth it...but not at $450. The beds were comfortable. The room clean. The food is excellent. It's convenient to downtown Austin, but the construction in front of the building made me miss it the first pass and the old, weird apartment building we looked out on was not conducive to the price either.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nannerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Nannerdoodle,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Ella on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the newly renovated area by the pool. Thank you for recognizing the comfort of our beds, the clean rooms, and the great food served at Goodall's. With regards to the construction, I am happy to let you know that both buildings next to us will be finished soon.

If you have any additional feedback, or wish to speak further about your experience, I would welcome the opportunity. Please accept our thanks for your constructive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Ella in the future.

Sincerely,

Luca Reck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very lovely hotel. Staff is fantastic. Loved the breakfast in pretty dining room. The small bar was intimate and sophisticated. Rene the young man in the dining room was so professional and helpful. The attention to detail made it a unique experience and I would recommend it highly. Next time I want to stay in the main house after seeing the rooms. Although the annex was great I think the main house rooms are very special. The complimentary car service to dine in other areas of Austin was very convenient. A real bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms in main house are superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Kathleen O,
Thank you for your great review. I'm so glad you loved your breakfast in Goodall's Kitchen & Bar. We strive to provide a unique experience for our Hotel Ella guests. Our staff is fantastic and I will let Rene know you found him to be professional and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Ella again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I highly recommend Hotel Ella, my stay was exceptional in every way.
From the perfect location, to the aesthetics and comfort of this historic hotel it provided the perfect experience for the weekend in Austin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kellye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Kellye C,
Thank you for your great review. We're so glad that your stay at Hotel Ella was exceptional in every way! Thank you again for your high recommendations. We look forward to providing you another perfect experience on your next visit to Austin and Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am on the road as a business traveler all year and I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Ella. The staff at Hotel Ella is personable, courteous and conscientious. They made me feel like I was in their home and provided me with sincere hospitality. My internet worked consistently throughout the property, which is very important to me. The food was amazing and for anyone who is looking for a great restaurant for lunch or dinner, Goodall's Kitchen & Bar is fantastic. I decided to dine in the restaurant several times during my stay and each meal was delicious. It was also great place to meet clients for breakfast and an old friend for drinks on the verandah in the afternoon. What a find! I know where I will stay when I return to Austin. And next time, I look forward to trying out the pool!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciam1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear marciam1969: Thank your for your great review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ella and found our staff to be personable, courteous, and conscientious. It's great that you were able to utilize our complimentary wifi. We're thrilled that you enjoyed every delicious meal at Goodall's Kitchen & Bar, as well as drinks on our veranda. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Better service than a five star hotel. The staff was wonderful, the rooms was great, the bed comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Really loved everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, General Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Nancy N: Thank you for your great review. We're so glad that you loved our wonderful staff (better service than a five star hotel), great rooms and comfortable beds. I'm thrilled that you loved your Hotel Ella experience, including an excellent breakfast and dinner at our restaurant, Goodall's Kitchen & Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 203 in Austin
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,940 reviews
0.3 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
594 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Property: Hotel Ella
Address: 1900 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705-5511 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin
Hotel Ella Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing