We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, beautiful hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #43 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
1 review
“Great service, beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is lovely, but it was the service I received when I was there that will convince me to stay with them again. Each staff member I encountered went above and beyond, and met everyone with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Kelly L:

Thank you for your great review of Hotel Ella. We are so happy to hear that each staff member went above and beyond - we expect nothing less! We will be sure to share the positive comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    69
    19
    18
    6
See reviews for
54
139
7
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a fantastic experience! Everything about Hotel Ella made the stay relaxing. The bed and pillows were exceptional! The spacious room that lead out to the patio was so nice! Will stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dominik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Dominik K:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are so pleased that you had a fantastic and relaxing experience. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently visited for the first time a couple of weeks ago with our toy poodle. We had lunch on the porch as we arrived early and the waiter brought a water bowl for the dog. In the room they supplied him with a pet cushion (we just brought his blanket), food and water bowls and welcome biscuits. Everyone petting him and talked to him. He thought this was exactly as life should be.

The room was comfortable, quiet, and well appointed. The bar is exceptional - they make some of their own mixers. Goodall's restaurant is terrific. Food is excellent and the staff strike a balance between professional courtliness and relaxed welcoming. We are ready to return.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the original mansion. Didn't go into the new wing, but it is new construction and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Tom C:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you and your dog appreciated the pet cushion and welcome biscuits - we always love having dogs around! We also love hearing that you think Goodall's is terrific and our staff is professional as well as relaxing and welcoming. We are also ready for you to return, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

After a major f-up at another hotel we were booked at Hotel Ella for our "bed for the night" as the other hotel we were booked at had no beds.

We were literally in the hotel about seven+ hours as we checked in around 11 p.m. and left at 7 a.m. to go get in line at Franklin's. Since hotel check-out is typically no later than noon we took our luggage when we left in the morning.

So, despite our micro-stay I can comment that the room was very nice and spacious and the property was very beautiful! The staff was also very courteous and friendly.

Now looking their website it looks like we had a Garden Junior Suite. The bed was super comfy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystalized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Crystalized:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella and for recognizing our courteous and friendly staff. We are glad to hear that despite your micro-stay, you found the room to be spacious and the property to be beautiful. We hope you will come back for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I wanted a comfortable, quiet stay somewhere off sixth street. The hotel was conveniently located, we had the use of a courtesy driver, the property was immaculate, great art on the walls. The hotel was quiet, discrete and service oriented. All in all I highly recommend Hotel Ella.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Judith:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and that you had the chance to utilize our courtesy drivers. We take great pride in the art on property and love hearing feedback. We appreciate your high recommendation of Hotel Ella - we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel Ella is a Beautiful Historic property. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very pretty and comfortable. However, I would be careful not to get the corner rooms that have the student dorms right behind them unless you are prepared to hear lots of noise all night long! There is also construction going on as well, but the noise was not too bad. The Hotels cars that they have on property to take you locally are a definite bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Kiberly C,

I appreciate you taking the time to share some feedback about your recent stay at Hotel Ella. I'll be sure to share the positive comments with our team as they take great pride in providing a five-star experience.

I also wanted to let you know that we are planning to build a barrier enhancement adjacent to our Classic Guestrooms to help buffer the noise from our neighbors. I hope you will visit us again soon to experience the new and improved product for yourself!

Sincerely,
Luca Reck
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Service and food at this hotel are very good indeed. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you.

My only complaint would be that it is not the quietest hotel, soundproofing is not great at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Terry R,
Thank you for your review; we truly appreciate every bit of feedback from our guests. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed our restaurant, Goodall’s. Thank you as well for recognizing our amazing Hotel staff. I couldn’t agree more.

As for the noise, I’m happy to report that we are improving our soundproofing. I hope you will join us again and allow us the opportunity to show off our new enhancements.

Sincerely,
Luca Reck
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#20 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#25 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Property: Hotel Ella
Address: 1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin
Hotel Ella Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing