We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #37 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Business trip with conference at AT&T conference center, which was was within walking distance. Quiet, and very comfortable room. Did not use pool area but looked very nice. Free shuttle to downtown from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Brett W:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be quiet and very comfortable and that you had a chance to utilize our car services. We hope you get the opportunity to come back and use the pool area soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    76
    20
    18
    6
See reviews for
59
146
7
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had a two day business trip to Austin and had the pleasure of staying at this new boutique hotel. If you look on a map it seems to be far from downtown, but the reality is this hotel is in a great location and they offer a valet service to drop you off and pick you up anywhere thou need to go in the city 7am-10pm. This has to be one of my favorite parts of the Hotel Ella experience. My room was very clean, thoughtfully modern designed and nicely furnished with a beautiful bathroom, and a small patio that opened up to the pool area. The whole hotel is very well done in the style of old Austin. You really feel like you are in a time warp. The bar is a great spot for happy hour meet ups and the restaurant was equally excellent. Be sure to try the lobster bisque for lunch and the omelets for breakfast! I would highly recommend this hotel to business travelers and families alike.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Adam C:

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Ella. We are happy to have accommodated you during your business trip to Austin. We are pleased to hear that our valet service was one of your favorite parts of the Hotel Ella experience. We try to make getting around easy and convenient for our guests. We hope you can come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel Ella is a beautiful building in a convenient Austin location and this is my second stay. The service is very good and the rooms are lovely. There was a wedding on my first night there and i expected to hear the noise but my room was very quiet, I didn't hear anyone.

The newer hotel annex makes every effort to fit with the inside architecture of the old hotel and succeeds well. The bar is cozy, the outside seating graciously arranged and lovely and the pool is very pretty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank serina51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear serina51:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella! We are glad to have had you back. We are glad to hear that our location was convenient, the service was very good and the rooms were lovely. We are also pleased that the wedding did not disrupt your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I would love to give this hotel 5 stars. A perfectly trained staff is the most rare and perhaps the most difficult to achieve attribute of any hotel--especially one that advertises itself as "a small luxury hotel". Hotel Ella exceeds every possible expectation in that regard. The staff, from valet, to housekeeping, waiters and managers, is uniformly helpful, capable and friendly but they take things a step beyond--greeting guests whenever encountered with friendliness and warmth and going far beyond the usual to accommodate guest requests or needs. The physical plant is another story. An historic mansion with an added motel-like "garden" wing, the Ella begins with an odd physical layout. This handicap is made much worse by the stark (not stark modern-just stark) furnishings. Our room in the annex had not one single drawer or shelf--not even in the odd nightstands. The terrifically nice room manager had a chest of some kind brought into our room so we did not have to live totally out of our suitcases for four days and he and others followed up to make sure we were totally satisfied. It was graduation time so one expected inflated prices but the price for a room which is exceeded in customer convenience and style by the average American chain motel was really lofty. The dining room, bar (and porch which served both) were all wonderful. GREAT service, excellent food. I understand that some redecorating is underway in the "motel" wing. I really hope the rooms are glamorized and customer needs and expectations are considered in this effort because hotel Ella has the essential ingredient for becoming not only one of the small luxury hotels of the world but near the top of that list.

Room Tip: Until rooms are redone I would recommend choosing a mansion accommodation. At least ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackBa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear JackBa1,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Hotel Ella. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and that the staff, the food and the hotel met your expectations. I understand your feelings on our classic hotel rooms. I am excited to report that we are undergoing a room renovation this summer that is already in progress. We are remodeling the bathrooms and upgrading the furnitures in all our classic rooms. I invite you to visit us again this year and see the new improvements first hand!

Sincerely,

Luca Reck
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Everything your eye falls upon at the Hotel Ella is interesting and well designed. It's a beautiful mix of old and new. The staff was unbelievably friendly, but not pushy, and they DRIVE YOU WHEREVER YOU WANT TO GO. The bed was very comfortable, and the food in the restaurant is first rate. There was construction nearby, but it was only seen and not heard, somehow. (Old building and thick walls, I guess.) There was a wedding the weekend I was there and the families couldn't have been happier with their choice. The pool area is beautiful and is a natural gathering place. We had many things to do, but actually cancelled a couple of them in favor of hanging out at this little garden of Eden. This place is a must see / must stay!

Room Tip: Many first floor rooms have a private balcony with pool entrance - very handy, because the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Robert M:

We really appreciate your review of Hotel Ella! What a compliment that you favored hanging out at our "little garden of Eden." We are so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be unbelievably friendly and that the construction did not bother you. We are glad the weather allowed for you to use the pool area. We are looking forward to your next stay at Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our daughter wanted a more intimate venue for her wedding reception rather than other large venues. We had lots of friends and family staying there also. It was so beautiful and convenient for all involved. The reception was rather large but the staff handled everything professionally and personally. The food was excellent and the bar was great. Everyone was so impressed with the rooms and the atmosphere of the entire place. A jewel in the middle of Austin!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Anne B:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ella and for sharing your daughter's special day with us. We are so glad that our venue provided the intimate setting that your daughter wanted. We are also pleased to hear that our location was convenient for all involved and that the staff handled everything professionally and personally. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have stayed at a number of boutique hotels. Hotel Ella rates above the rest! They have a staff that goes over and beyond to make you feel welcome and to meet your needs. Goodall's Restaurant has yummy, yummy food. We ate their at breakfast, lunch and dinner and each meal was wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank chzmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear chzmarie:

Thank you for your rave review of Hotel Ella. We love hearing such great comments from a boutique hotel aficionado. We are very proud of our staff and glad to hear that they went over and beyond to make you feel welcome and to meet your needs. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#20 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#26 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Property: Hotel Ella
Address: 1900 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705-5511 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin
Hotel Ella Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing