We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice space and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #48 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I always stay at Hotel Ella when in Austin. The building is very nice, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is great. It's easy to get to the UT campus in the courtesy car and you don't have to worry about parking!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Diane C:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella and for being such a loyal guest. We are glad to hear that you think the building is very nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I loved the fact that the hotel had a car service anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel, they were always available too. The Pool was relaxing and the hotel bar staff was most accommodating whether at the pool or on the porch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AGPERRYFSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear AGPERRYFSU:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our pool to be relaxing and the bar staff to be accommodating. We are also glad you got a chance to take advantage of our car service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel manager was absolutely wonderful in considering our requests and making our stay very comfortable and special. A real-life case of listening to customers and understanding their needs. Physically, the hotel is beautiful and situated in a lovely neighborhood. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChoralScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear ChoralScholar:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. It is great to hear such positive feedback about our service. We take pride in providing a personalized experience. We are glad to hear that you found the hotel to be beautiful and that you enjoyed your stay immensely. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with exemplary service. Very charming and classic. They offer a private car service to the downtown area and will come back and pick you up with just one phone call. Restaurant is nice but fancy. There isn't really a place to get a casual bite to eat at this hotel. Grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkrutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear jkrutsch:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear you enjoyed exemplary service and got to take advantage of our private car service during your stay. We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Business trip with conference at AT&T conference center, which was was within walking distance. Quiet, and very comfortable room. Did not use pool area but looked very nice. Free shuttle to downtown from hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Brett W:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be quiet and very comfortable and that you had a chance to utilize our car services. We hope you get the opportunity to come back and use the pool area soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had a two day business trip to Austin and had the pleasure of staying at this new boutique hotel. If you look on a map it seems to be far from downtown, but the reality is this hotel is in a great location and they offer a valet service to drop you off and pick you up anywhere thou need to go in the city 7am-10pm. This has to be one of my favorite parts of the Hotel Ella experience. My room was very clean, thoughtfully modern designed and nicely furnished with a beautiful bathroom, and a small patio that opened up to the pool area. The whole hotel is very well done in the style of old Austin. You really feel like you are in a time warp. The bar is a great spot for happy hour meet ups and the restaurant was equally excellent. Be sure to try the lobster bisque for lunch and the omelets for breakfast! I would highly recommend this hotel to business travelers and families alike.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Adam C:

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Ella. We are happy to have accommodated you during your business trip to Austin. We are pleased to hear that our valet service was one of your favorite parts of the Hotel Ella experience. We try to make getting around easy and convenient for our guests. We hope you can come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel Ella is a beautiful building in a convenient Austin location and this is my second stay. The service is very good and the rooms are lovely. There was a wedding on my first night there and i expected to hear the noise but my room was very quiet, I didn't hear anyone.

The newer hotel annex makes every effort to fit with the inside architecture of the old hotel and succeeds well. The bar is cozy, the outside seating graciously arranged and lovely and the pool is very pretty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank serina51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear serina51:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella! We are glad to have had you back. We are glad to hear that our location was convenient, the service was very good and the rooms were lovely. We are also pleased that the wedding did not disrupt your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 202 in Austin
2,063 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 202 in Austin
739 reviews
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#16 of 202 in Austin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
514 reviews
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 202 in Austin
1,233 reviews
1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705-5511 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £129 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin
Hotel Ella Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing