We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

My wife and I stayed one night and cannot fault the hotel in any way. This is the best option in Austin ands we thoroughly recommend the hotel in all respects. It has recently undergone a multi million dollar refurbishment and combines old world charm with comfort. We were greeted at the front desk by Lauren and Kathryn, both of whom provided friendly, efficient and excellent service. We even received a complimentary up grade which was a welcome and very pleasant surprise !
5 stars !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimCass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear TimCass2014:

Thank you so much for your rave review and recommendation of Hotel Ella! We pride ourselves on our level of service, so we are so pleased to hear that Lauren and Kathryn provided such friendly, efficient and excellent service. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    72
    20
    18
    6
See reviews for
57
144
7
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This property is extremely convenient to the UT West Campus area. Easy access off MLK Blvd so you can skip the one way roads and parking problems. Hotel itself is nice, clean. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Complementary car service to restaurants in the area was a big plus. Good location even if you have no business at UT.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LMN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear LMN711:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are so happy to hear how convenient our property was for you to the UT West Campus area. We are also pleased that you found our staff to be very friendly and attentive. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel Ella is a fine hotel just north of the Austin Downtown area. the service and staff are excellent. a bit of an issue with the AC at night but the staff worked diligently to fix. would recommend for a getaway. best part was i never drove in Austin. as long as it was less the 3 miles, they took care of the driving.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Steve W:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found the service and the staff to be excellent and that you had the opportunity to use our complimentary driving service. We apologize for any inconvenience the AC caused, we are working hard to make sure the units are all up to par in this Texas summer heat. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

if you ask for a mansion suite make sure you get one. Confirming the day before does not ensure you will get one ever if you are told so. The rooms we did get was nice and tastefully decorated, We tried their room service from the restaurant, not so great. We will not be booking a return trip. This is a shame because the mansion in beautiful and the staff tried to do all they could.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mitchell G:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ella and to recognize the effort of our staff and the beauty of our property.

I apologize for failing to secure a mansion suite for your stay and that our room service did not exceed your expectations. I assure you we provide better service than what you experienced. I would love the opportunity to speak to you directly and apologize personally. Please contact me at luca@hotelella.com at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Luca Reck
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was in town for a convention and picked this hotel based on the photos I found online and the special mobil rate.
The house is simply gorgeous and full of history, our room was ready early and we were greeted with a personal note.
The rooms are beautifully decorated although I felt the bathroom in our room was small it was hard for me and my companion to get ready to go out; the pool is also small but very enjoyable I highly recommend the Long Horn Margarita.
They have a car service that can take you anywhere in the downtown area at no cost, valet parking is 25.00 and I don't think there is an option to park yourself.
There is renovation going on around the hotel and the workers are there bright and early hammering away even on the weekend

Room Tip: State Capital is close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohuggeidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sohuggeidy:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our property to be gorgeous and full of history and that you had a chance to enjoy the Long Horn Margarita and car service. As for the construction, we are happy to let you know that the properties on both sides of us will be finished very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel Ella strives for elegance and is very close to reaching it. In spite of being located on a busy street in downtown Austin, our room was quiet and well appointed. However, there was no "sitting area" in our room, and only one chair on one side and one on the other which was required movement of furniture to achieve the feeling of intimacy that we were particularly looking for. Add that to the fact we had asked for a Garden Terrace Room and our "private" terrace turned out to be the verandah on the front of the hotel facing the street and disappointment reigned supreme. There was not a decent sized table for 2 people to use for eating inside the room. (Luckily for us we didn't ask for room service for breakfast). AND most importantly there was No information on how to reach the concierge or front desk to be found in the room. The A/C unit fan did not work well and being used to air moving and not having it made us uncomfortably warm. Our sleep was disturbed by having to turn down the thermostat.
Now to the good points of our stay. Our bed was very comfortable. There were pillows for those who like hard and those who like softer. We could not hear noise from the street (although in the morning we did hear construction work going on next door). The bathroom was luxurious and filled with plenty of towels, robes, toiletries and extra touches like cotton swabs and a magnifying mirror. When housekeeping stopped by our room we received bottled water, ice, and a mini-brownie for our sweet tooth. The staff was super efficient and eager to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene_Smith42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Charlene_Smith42:

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel Ella. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room's sitting area or your private terrace. We also apologize for the subpar A/C unit. Thank you for recognizing the comfort of our beds, our bathroom luxuries, and extra touches. With regards to the construction, we are happy to let you know that both buildings next to us will be finished soon.

Please accept our thanks for your constructive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Ella in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansville, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I booked one night in this lovely place when we needed a stopping point before flying out the next day . We stayed in the old part of the hotel, on the third floor. The building has been beautifully renovated, with interesting art and lovely architectural details without feeling fussy or ' B&B' precious. Much more charming and interesting than a big chain hotel. From the moment we drove up, the staff were lovely. We had room 31, up under the eaves, which had a very comfortable queen bed, antique furnishings and crisp, white linens. There was a nice mini bar, and a Keurig. The bathroom was newly remodeled and quite lovely, with a great shower, magnifying mirror, and toiletries. Turndown service left bottled water and a sweet chocolate brownie, which was fabulous. We had some great cocktails in the bar and a chat with the very congenial bartender before going out to eat, but the restaurant looked great as it was being set for dinner. The hotel isn't in the heart of downtown but it is well situated and easy to get to all the action either via Uber or the hotel's car. This will be my new go-to spot in Austin. I like places with some history and charm, nice toiletries and a sense of place- which this hotel had in spades. The only slight negatives we experienced were some early AM noise from the back up alarms of some trucks working construction next door, which is both temporary, and not a reflection on the hotel but might bother some, and that the A/C was not controlled from inside the room. The room was cool enough for me , but not 'arctic' as my Husband prefers. Loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mansion room for the character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanHines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear SusanHines:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ella - we love hearing that this will be your new go-to spot in Austin. We are glad that you had the opportunity to have some great cocktails in the bar and chat with one of our congenial bartenders. We are also glad to hear that you found our property to have some history and charm. We apologize for the inconvenience of the construction - they adjacent properties should be complete this fall. We invite you to come back and enjoy our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#20 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#26 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Property: Hotel Ella
Address: 1900 Rio Grande, Austin, TX 78705 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin
Hotel Ella Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing