We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I didn't get sick”

Ski Shores Waterfront Cafe
Ranked #592 of 3,736 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glad I didn't get sick”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had been to Ski Shores several times before and always enjoyed myself. The last time I went with my family we sat at a table by the little playground. This was great because we could easy watch our son while he played and we ate. The bad part is we could also see into the kitchen. We watched as the worker who was washing the dishes in very dirty water, cleaning off the plates and leftover food with his bare hands and was emptying the garbage can was also in charge of assembling sandwiches and burgers with the same bare unwashed hands. We immediately stopped eating and continued to watch as this happened repeatedly for the next hour. And you guessed it, no hand washing. Nice location, cute idea but that is inexcusable and dangerous.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slodoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go for the view - not the food or service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Poor service. 40 minutes from order to delivery.
Fish tacos - OK. Chef's salad - very poor - leaves wilted - sliced carrot dried out - meat looked like just unwrapped from supermarket and scattered on plate.

Admosphere - good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomcb_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good food in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Ski Shores has changed greatly over the last few years. First it was renovated from a walkup burger place to a full service restaurant with pizza delivery. This year no pizza but an expanded menu. Not the feel of the old restaurant and the personnel have completed changed. Good food but less of old Austin.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Talon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ski Shores is definitely a hidden gem. A lot of people don't know where it is, but those that do, love it! Great hamburgers, fish tacos, and nachos. Prices are reasonable and the food is good. The drinks are great too! Majority of the seating is shaded. Family-oriented place. Great for boat watching on Lake Austin.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Food on Lake Austin”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Ski Shores has been a popular place to eat for many years on Lake Austin. Recently renovated, it now includes waiters and a much larger menu of tasty food, a much larger area indoors and outdoors to dine, and the outdoors is dog friendly. We especially enjoy the bacon cheeseburgers, tacos (fish and beef), and pizza. Relaxing place to hang out and have a margarita!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Talon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ski Shores Waterfront Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ski Shores Waterfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing