We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cinnamon rolls”

The Upper Crust Bakery
Ranked #9 of 54 Bakeries in Austin
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Restaurant details
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great cinnamon rolls”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Definitely one of the top 3 cinnamon rolls I ever had, and I love cinnamon rolls. To be clear, these cinnamon rolls are different from most. First, they are very dense, not fluffy like the grocery store variety. Second, there's no icing. Just cinnamon and sugar. I travel a good deal for work and tray cinnamon rolls pretty much everywhere I can. These are so good that I ask a co-worker who lives in Austin to bring me them whenever we meet somewhere.

The only other thing I had there was the schnecken I think. It was also really good. Almost as good as the cinnamon roll.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiHoHiHoRDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, cakes and pastries”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Best sandwiches in town, on homemade bread, wonderful cakes and cookies, great coffee cakes and the best sticky buns ever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Tasty Baked Goods and a Good Price”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Upper Crust Bakery is a well established eatery in North central Austin. It had been a couple of years since I have visited so I dropped in early this morning. I was curious if it was still as good as I remembered. It was!
The Colombian coffee is rich in flavor and pipping hot. All the baked goods looked fabulous.
I had a "sized just right" bran muffin that was moist, flavorful and not too dense.
A small coffee and muffin was less than $4. Nice :-)
I am definitely going to come back soon and try there lunch menu!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I dream of The Upper Crust...”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Basically, I love this place. They have quiche, sandwiches, soups, homemade breads, and the BEST pastries ever!!! Come early for the apple turnover and sausage wraps.

For lunch you can have a custom sandwich with tortilla soup. And you've got to try their teas with lemonade. Amazing!!

When I take young kids I like to order them the hot chocolate, cinnamon roll, and a cookie of their choice. And believe me, there's a lot of mouthwatering choices.

They've also got delicious vegan choices!

The only bad thing is I can never leave with less than one "doggy bag"...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmai89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
462 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fantastic cookies!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

The chocolate gold cookie is amazing! It's chocolate with chocolate chunks with big pecan pieces, so yummy! Chocolate chocolate cupcake was great-loved the icing! Choc italian cream cake was good but a little dry. Chocolate croissant was delicious! Peanut butter oatmeal choc chip cookies weren't sweet enough or me but great cookie texture. I'm looking forward to lunch next trip as a friend assures me their sandwiches are great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachbumAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Upper Crust Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Upper Crust Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing