We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salsa is awesome and so are the fried tacos”

Amaya's Taco Village
Ranked #158 of 3,705 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Salsa is awesome and so are the fried tacos”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Since Amaya's moved to it's current location they have really upped their game! Fantastic salsa....at times it can be HOT. Wish they would put it in bigger bowls but oh well.

I love the breakfast tacos along with their fried tacos....beef is best! Margaritas are a tad pricey, but they are very good and they have a ton of flavors.

Tons of TV's to watch the Longhorns!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austinmike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    58
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Tacos”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Simply put, these are the best tacos I have ever had. Think "crunch-chewy". The place is very casual and family friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Beedapox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Tex-Mex”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Quick and efficient lunch time service combined with flavoursome food in a packed restaurant is not always a given. Amaya's exceeded my expectations on all fronts. Highly recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bew996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King William, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great start to vacation”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After travelling all day via plane and car to get to Austin, we checked into our hotel and asked for a dinner recommendation at the front desk. The gentleman recommended Amaya's, where he had just eaten himself. We could walk there from our hotel. It was a Saturday night. They had a live band playing inside. The weather was great so we ate on the patio and could still hear the music. The margaritas were frozen and surprisingly strong (and GOOD). Our meals were standard Mexican fare but good. Prices reasonable. Staff friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank empressellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“I have had better and worse.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Service was nonchalant. Drinks were generous. Food came out quick and was decent. Not a destination but if you are hungry, you could do a lot worse

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TEX2MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amaya's Taco Village also viewed

 

Been to Amaya's Taco Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing