We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food / drink for business travels”

Amaya's Taco Village
Ranked #158 of 3,699 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food / drink for business travels”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A friend suggested Amaya's - I went there - it did not look so inviting on the way in but the food was great - sat at the bar and the bartender took care of me. His recommendations were spot on. He suggested the happy hour beer and his recommendation for a margarita was a great finish to the evening. For business travelers this place is excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    57
    22
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressed ...”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our hotel desk clerk recommend this place over others that I had inquired about. So, we were hopeful. We were disappointed. The food wasn't bad, but it was very mediocre. I have had, and made for that matter, better breakfast tacos (food). my boyfriend will eat bland food, but did not finish his breakfast platter w/ Chorizo. my Tacos were just okay. The best flavor was the real cheese. I was shocked when I requested a side of Verde (green sauce) that the Waitress said they did not have anything like that. Hmm! Weird in a city that is known for using green chilies, but ok! Had her bring at what ever type of salsa they did have, which was not good. Smelled like a can of Stewed tomatoes. Never tried it. The coffee was good considering the glass of water tasted like it came out of a garden hose! Had much better at other eateries in Austin. I was left with this thought when We left... " if I can get better taco @ the Bana, then this Will not be a repeat place to visit!"

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stayce77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex at it's best”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I remember several years ago at the old location waiting in line for almost an hour to get a table. Now that they are in their "new" location there is plenty of room, no waiting for a table. The food is great! The chicken enchiladas with green sauce are excellent. Real pulled chicken inside! The chips and salsa are complimentary. The salsa is homemade, very good! Service is great, quick to refill your glass and the manager checks on every guest even the ones at the bar. If you want great Mexican food, this is the place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthTXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Tex-Mex Breakfast Menu”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We usually go to Amaya's Taco Village at least twice a month, usually for breakfast.
The breakfast tacos are a tasty bargain AND the corn tortillas are made at the restaurant. The coffee is good and the service is always friendly and efficient. We do occasionally go their for lunch.If you are a carnivore with a big appetite the rib plate is for you!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joannreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Salsa is awesome and so are the fried tacos”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Since Amaya's moved to it's current location they have really upped their game! Fantastic salsa....at times it can be HOT. Wish they would put it in bigger bowls but oh well.

I love the breakfast tacos along with their fried tacos....beef is best! Margaritas are a tad pricey, but they are very good and they have a ton of flavors.

Tons of TV's to watch the Longhorns!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austinmike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amaya's Taco Village also viewed

 

Been to Amaya's Taco Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing