We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip, friendly and delicious”
Review of Woodland - CLOSED

Woodland
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Home Style
Neighbourhood: South Austin
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hip, friendly and delicious”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Let`s start this review backwards: get the Coconut Cream Pie. In fact, consider starting with it just to make sure you have enough room to savour this dessert delicacy the way it should be savoured. It`s just....too much goodness to even describe. Just get it. You will not be sorry. If you insist on having actual food first, try the corn fritters, butternut squash ravioli and the fried chicken. The green beans are dressed in something very garlicky and wonderful; I`ve tried (unsuccessfully) to recreate that taste at home, but I guess a return trip is in order! Great atmosphere, too, with clients of all ages enjoying the food and festivities. Definitely book ahead -- this place is justifiably popular!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank totontogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
481 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“We only went for pie, but what great pie”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Friends took us here for the pie. They think that it is the best and we have to agree. We had both the chocolate and coconut pie. It was delicious, maybe not as good as my wife's grandmother's, but almost that good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 46749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple...get the corn fritters and pie”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Basically a diner atmosphere but slightly more interesting food. Honestly all I can remember is the ethereal corn fritters. You might be better off just going for fritters & dessert...peanut butter pie and coconut cream pie... 'nuff said!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails and Cream Pie”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is the place for cocktails and pie. We're not kidding. They have a full menu but frankly the food just isn't very good. The cocktail and pies on the other hand... Holy smokes! The pie is where it's at, go for either the chocolate cream or coconut cream and you will NOT be disappointed. The other pie options are hit or miss. The cocktails are excellent as well. Do yourself a favor and save this place for your end of day nightcap, have a slice of cream pie and a craft cocktail. All will be right with the world, promise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank E Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Avoid with kids at night”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Food was good but our server was useless. It seems he forgot our order. We waited almost 20 minutes for our table (for an 8pm reservation) and another 45 minutes for food. He failed to apologize, check in with us, or bring even bread or a side to help tide us over. That said, the food was very tasty. Better for a date night or go early if you have little ones.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank marti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing