We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Only stay if you enjoy cockroaches” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Austin North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Ranked #153 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only stay if you enjoy cockroaches”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was by far the most disgusting hotel I have ever seen. I travel a lot but have never experienced something this gross in a hotel. It's in a very unsafe area just behind the hotel. There were COCKROACHES crawling around in the bathroom. The toilet was used and not cleaned. There are no amenities like an iron or hair dryer. The non-smoking room smelled so much like smoke after just three minutes that all of my clothes smelled of smoke. The carpet was coming off the floor, the furnace was damaged and coming off the wall, and the service at the front desk was terrible. I cannot stress enough to not stay at this hotel. I had to leave after about 5 minutes because I could not imagine sleeping there, in what I can only imagine was unclean sheets with probable bed bugs. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. And definitely don't stay on the first floor for safety concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof210, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. In regards to the incident you mentioned about our hotel, I would like to assure you this is an issue we take very seriously. I have diligently followed a detailed procedure designed to maximize the prevention of this and of all similar incidents. Once I was notified of your concerns, I immediately reacted by placing the room out of service so it could be inspected and preventative measures have been taken. I appreciate you reviewing your stay and hope you will give our hotel another chance should you happen to be in the area. If you ever have further questions, you can contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    30
    15
    45
See reviews for
30
15
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This place was nice and clean. Check in was fast and easy. Night manager was super nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Web_Precision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I definitely was concerned about the neighborhood we drove through that was behind the hotel. They did have a high fence, and is my understanding they had security at night. It was a very affordable place, and we had things that we needed (fridge, internet, etc.) that other hotels make you pay extra for. Our room was clean and didn't have bug issues, although it was a little outdated. The one staff member we dealt with was very nice and the cleaning staff dropped by at a reasonable hour (not 7am like other places we have stayed.) Easy access to 35 of course, although be prepared to deal with the traffic. All in all, definitely a lot better than other cheap hotels we have stayed at, but not the most updated Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAmTheWalrus909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof210, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you very much for your review. Here at Red Roof Inn Austin North, we pride ourselves on a clean room with great service at a super price. It is great to hear that you had that experience with us. We do have security that patrols our parking lot . We want you to feel safe at all times while you are staying with us. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I always booked here for the last 5 months for a monthly event because it was cheap and my little dog stayed free. It's always been clean and quiet for the most part. The riff-raff was bad every once in a while because of the bad neighborhood but this stay was the WORST. No water when I needed to take a shower. Water was running in the basin, but only cold. I couldn't access the internet. After a very long day, I come back to a bunch of softball teams of twelve year olds running around screaming at midnight, AND, when I complain TWICE to the front desk, the person there yelled at me as if I was the bad guy. IDIOTS. I am NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER spending a dime here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ftwtxblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof210, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. In regards to the incident you mentioned about our hotel, I would like to assure you this is an issue we take very seriously. I am currently working with the City of Austin Water Utilities Department to rectify the intermittent water pressure issue. I have already addressed the issue you stated regarding our front desk staff. I also want to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with our internet service. I appreciate you reviewing your stay and hope you will give our hotel another chance should you happen to be in the area. I would like for you to remain a repeat customer. If you ever have further questions, please feel free to contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Overall great quality customer service. The room was very clean,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_anjewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof210, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

This place is crawling with bedbugs. I stayed there five nights, ending on May 20th, 2011...woke up that morning, and a bedbug had sucked a hole in the main artery in my right forearm...another one had sucked a hole in my right temple...

My arm is still swollen, hot and bright red two days later...and the bite on my temple is the same way, swollen, hot, and bright red.

I don't care what kind of hotel you have, how nice it looks, or how friendly the staff is - if you have bedbugs, you either replace all the beds and the bedding immediately and call a professional exterminator and take care of the problem or prepare to be sued.

Some people are allergic to bedbugs. (They can go into shock and die if bitten.) And bedbugs today carry horrendous diseases.

Don't stay at this place. You've been warned.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RambleOn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof210, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. I would like to assure you this is an issue we take very seriously. In order to investigate this incident further, please contact me so that I can gather more information. This hotel follows a diligent procedure that involves preventative measures to avoid this type of incident. I appreciate you reviewing your stay and hope that you will give our hotel another chance the next time you are traveling to the area.

Sincerely,

Dale Harrington
General Manager
i0210@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el paso
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Red Roof Inn Austin North. The staff was friendly, helpful and very accomedating. The rooms were suprising large, clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Jennifer at the front desk ,gave me great suggestions on where to dine, and listen to live music. Next time my friends and I are in Austin, we will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markiemark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof210, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that Jennifer made such a positive impact for you. We will be sure to share your comments with our team and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Marianne Arriaga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Budget Inn Capitol
#128 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Days Inn Austin Crossroads
#156 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Austin North

Property: Red Roof Inn Austin North
Address: 8210 N Interregional Highway 35, Austin, TX 78753
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of the Live Music Capital of the World! The newly renovated Red Roof Austin North is conveniently located off of I-35. This hotel provides easy access to Austin's many great restaurants, shopping, entertainment and attractions. Located just minutes from downtown Austin, the 6th Street Entertainment District, the University of Texas, Lyndon B. Johnson Library, and Lake Austin. Come stay at Red Roof Inn Austin North and experience what Austin has to offer. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. The Red Roof Inn Austin North features an outdoor unheated pool, an elevator and all guest rooms include a microwave & refrigerator. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Austin North Hotel Austin
Austin Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Austin North Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing