We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff. Clean comfy rooms. Poor dinner service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Ranked #53 of 201 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Loved the staff. Rooms are very comfy. Dinner is held in the bar area. The kitchen is down the hall and there is no phone communication with the ONE CHEF available so they have to travel back and forth with orders, etc, This makes the wait for evening meals WAY TOO LONG. Also, the conference room above the first floor are rather small and DO NOT HAVE PUBLIC BATHROOMs. You have to go all the way back downstairs to the first floor or to your room if you are staying onsite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lynnette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thanks for the 4-star review of your recent experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. I appreciate the kind words regarding our wonderful staff and our comfortable rooms.

We do serve dinner from our Lounge and actually use an electronic paging system (in lieu of telephones) to inform our servers when food is ready to be picked up. We have a number of boardrooms located on various floors throughout the hotel, some have restrooms and some do not. For the boardrooms that do not have a restroom, we typically block a vacant guestroom close-by so that our guests will not have to travel back downstairs. Please accept my most sincere apologies if this did not happen for the meeting you attended.

Thanks again for the candid feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your company on your next trip to Austin.


Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have been staying at this Doubletree regularly for over twenty years, every time I visit Austin for holidays and weekends with my extended family. Not only are their rooms well-maintained and comfortable, but their staff is extraordinary--always friendly and helpful, they always make me feel like a valued guest.

Last weekend, I hosted a graduation celebration for my daughter at this hotel. It could not have been a more fun experience. I really appreciated all the special touches the catering crew provided. In short, I love this hotel!

Room Tip: I always request a high floor, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLC7799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review of your recent experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and it is very gratifying to read that your graduation celebration was enjoyable. I will be passing your comments along to our catering team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is convenient to downtown Austin. Best service was bell hop and valet attendants. Took taxis to Vince Young Steak House and Drisckoll. About $10 each way - worth the $ as parking in downtown Austin is terrible.Front desk did not charge our bill correctly- it was prepaid with a friends cc, their treat to us, and the hotel requested a cc from us at checkin, then charged the stay a second time to our card - still trying to get it resolved, sure it was just policy and bookkeeping.
We had breakfast included in our stay, but the breakfast staff was not in favor of my request for a yogurt, coffee, and danish to go. Oh well. I'd look for other hotels before I book this one again.
The room was corner suite -small for a suite.Quiet, comfortable, not luxury bedding, and needs new pillows.

Room Tip: I'd ask for higher than 3rd floor, might get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I appreciate the positive feedback regarding our location, bell-stand employees and valet services. I was disappointed to read that an error was made with the billing of your room charges and that you had a challenge getting some to-go items form the breakfast buffet. I would encourage you to please contact me directly if the billing issue has not been resolved to your full and complete satisfaction.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Austin
james.prendeville@hilton.com
Direct: 512-374-4850

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

At the time it was undergoing some renovations. Still had an old building feel to it, but some updated amenities just the same. Ended up forgetting something in the room and they kept it and got it safely to me. Room was more spacious than expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks for the review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel and the positive comments regarding room size and amenities. I was very pleased that our staff was able to locate the item you left behind and return it to you in a timely manner.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Austin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

great to be able to stay in the same hotel where the conference was being held. near a lot of things in the austin area. great hotel stay. convenient parking at reasonalbe prices in the attached parking garage. food during the conference was very good and the hospitality of all staff was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks for the review of your recent experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, convenient parking, food and the service from our wonderful employees.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company on a future trip to Austin.


Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Austin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Excellent, friendly, helpful staff and great location. easy to find and convenient for my business. I have stayed here multiple times and always have my teams stay here as well. The hotel resturant is very good but this location also has the advantange of having very good establishments in easy walking range.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks for the 5-star review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin. The kind words regarding our friendly employees, location and restaurant are greatly appreciated as is your loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Austin.

Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Austin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

There was nothing great nor bad to report on this hotel. It was pretty average and predictable which isn't bad when traveling particularly for business. Everything in the room was clean, nicely set up and comfortable. It's not special if you're planning a good vacation or getaway but it's a really decent place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vfwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thanks for the review of your recent stay. While I was pleased that you did not encounter any problems, I was also disappointed that your stay was not as memorable as we would have hoped. I do appreciate the kind words regarding the cleanliness and comfort of your room and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 201 in Austin
1,277 reviews
Northwest Austin
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin

Address: 6505 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Austin
#41 Business Hotel in Austin
#46 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £73 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin, centrally located at the intersection of IH-35 North and Highway 290 East. Situated between the downtown business district and the Austin Arboretum, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin is just 20 minutes from Austin Bergstrom International Airport and five minutes from downtown Austin. Our elegant Spanish Colonial-style hotel is minutes from the best shopping, dining and entertainment Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin
Austin Doubletree
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing