We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Ask for Room No. 319 - Huge Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Ranked #46 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a quick girls weekend. It was close to the 6th Avenue night life and Congress Avenue shopping. Everything was in walking distance but the hotel offered a shuttle.
To do: Request Room 319. Our room didn't smell like it had been sprayed for bed bugs like the previous post and it was huge and very room for the four of us! It had two very comfortable queen beds and a huge living area. The pool was nice and well kept. The hot tub was very clean. Work out area was clean as well. The breakfast was pleasant and the staff at the grill were on top of all of the orders! Fast and friendly!
To skip: The happy hour/reception was little to be desired. The sangria and margaritas were cheaply made and the snacks were very low quality as well.
Must do:
1. See the bats in the evening. A need phenomena from the Congress Avenue bridge just down the street. Line up about 5:45pm along the bridge and enjoy the show!
2. If you are here on the first Thursday of the month, go up the street and check out the great boutiques! So cool and most offer wine and specials while you shop!
3. Rent a Kayak from the Hyatt next door and paddle down the river. The water quality was poor while we were there due to the recent flooding but was still a neat way to see the city!
4. Join a free trail running group and a corepower yoga class. Both are downtown and a close walk from our hotel. We found these neat events a nice workout option during our stay!
5. Hit Happy Hour along 6th Avenue and enjoy a steak at Lamberts!
6. Have the hotel shuttle you to Whole foods. While the thought of going to grocery store during my stay annoyed me, I am so glad I did go! We enjoyed the wine tasting, picked our favorite bottle of wine and ate an amazing lunch there! All for less than $30 for four of us!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coloradotrigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Embassy Suite are generally my pick of hotel with their great breakfast and spacious rooms. They put me in a room that had just been fumigated for bugs and the smell was awful. They said they had no where to move me the first night only to find out they had several empty rooms.This is not up to their normal excellent standards.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank DublinOhioVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodySmith, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration this incident has caused you. We strive to ensure every guest has a positive experience through our service and accommodations and we regret this was not your impression. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Thank you,

Jody Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Friendly helpful staff. Great location. When we arrived, we were greeted by a helpful and friendly staff. From the manager to the parking attendants, all services were great. The rooms were clean. The complimentary happy hour and breakfast met our expectations. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to SOCO area, as well as downtown. Free shuttles run form the hotel within a two mile radius, so we took advantage of the rides to Sixth Street. The hotel is adjacent to the Bat Bridge, so there was free entertainment in the evening if we anted to . Overall, we have no complaints and will return for another stay. For the price, all expectations were met.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while in town for SpiceWorld 2013 (conference for IT pros).

So many things to rave about, in no particular order: manager's reception, breakfast and location.

Manager's reception: two hours of free booze every night from 5:30p-7:30p

Breakfast: daily cooked to order breakfast downstairs in the dining area. Omelets, pancakes, BACON, etc

Location:
Right by Congress Ave bridge where you can view ~1M bats fly out every evening
10 steps from the bus stop that'll take you directly to the airport (take bus 100)
10 minute walk to the convention center
15 minute walk to 6th Ave (nightlife, restaurants, shops)

Also, huge two-room suites, friendly staff and clean property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I spent five nights at the Embassy Suites in Austin. The. hotel was really conveniently located, spotlessly clean and check in and out was simple.

However, it seemed to me that the hotel was on the edge of being unworkable. The internet was extremely spotty, the phones worked intermittently, the batteries in the remote went out in both TVs, the key card only worked for 24 hours maximum before needing a recharge, taxis wouldn't respond to calls because the shuttle drivers talked so many people of using them instead of the cabs, the drop off area was so small that cars couldn't maneuver and I had to meet people on Congress because it was so inconvenient to drive in. I didn't have a car, but $16.00 a day for parking in a garage around the corner seems crazy.

The staff was polite, but totally disengaged. It really felt like an imposition to talk to them.

To sum up, a clean, convenient hotel with a crazy kind of edginess, you just never know what's going to work and what isn't.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolkiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Good location close to both 6th street action and S Congress shops and restaurants. Like all Embassy Suites, the rooms are spacious, but we did have problems with not being able to set the clock (oddly, we're told only the "engineers" can set their clocks - also experience this in San Antonio Embassy). Clock was 2.5 hours off which was annoying. WHy doesn't the housekeeper notice and get it fixed? Toilet seat was also very loose...again, poor attention paid by housekeepers to keep maintenance informed. Lastly, the AC went out at a crucial time getting ready for a formal event. Hot ! The "engineers" fixed it within 90 minutes while we were getting showered and dressed. Free happy hour great! Nice complimentary full breakfast, but coffee kept running out on consecutive days ! Overall, average hotel because employees have to be asked to fix stuff or bring out coffee.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room.....better views and sometimes 2 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

In a great location if you have a car. Midway between SoCo and downtown activities. Self-parking is easy in the garage next door. We were put on the top floor, the premiere level, which only meant complimentary bottles of water and bags of trail mix.

Extremely dated decor, including plastic ivy throughout. Complimentary breakfast is pretty plain, but gets your day started. Everything, including our bathroom, was spotlessly clean!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake

Address: 300 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-1221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
#38 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £119 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Austin, Texas on South Congress Avenue, the Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Downtown/Town Lake hotel offers convenient access to many attractions. Situated opposite the scenic Lady Bird Lake and its surrounding hike and bike trail, this downtown Austin hotel is the ideal destination for extended stays and short breaks. Find entertainment for the whole family at the trendy Warehouse District, historic 6th Street, Barton Springs Pool and the South Congress ‘SoCo’ shopping district. Highlights •Downtown all-suite Austin hotel on South Congress Avenue •Near Austin entertainment, including 6th Street and the Warehouse District •Located adjacent to Lady Bird Lake and the Congress Avenue Bridge •Free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary Evening Reception* •Newly renovated lobby, restaurants and bar •Flexible Austin hotel meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas Hotel Austin
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Austin Downtown
Embassy Suites By Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing