We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old moldy HoJo”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #178 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good old moldy HoJo”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Howard Johnson Inn Austin

There is not much to say about this hotel...it is the good old rancid HoJo. Horrible old carpets, stained walls -has not seen any kind of refurbishment in decades.

Hotel is right by the Interstate, next to a Gas station. Free parking, about 10$ away from Downtown Austin.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    49
    75
    100
    146
See reviews for
88
91
50
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was in Austin to photograph a friend of mines niece's daughter wedding so she made my arrangements, otherwise I wouldnt have stayed here.

The hotel looks nice enough at first glance. But after looking closer. RUN.

My single full room was extremley small. The bed felt like it was almost on the floor. The desk/work table was int he middle of the room and the power cords for the desk lamp was a tripping hazard. The walls were covered in stucco of some sort but looked dirty. Also no base board that gave it a unfinished we dont care look.

You could barely turn around in the bathroom. Wall paper was peeling in several places. Paper towels would have been better than the cloth towels provided.

First morning I was walking down the hallway and the cleaning staff was blocking the way and didnt seem too concerned about it. Also being on a non smoking floor the hallway smelled like stale cigarette smoke and bad aftershave.

No places to eat close by and you definately dont want to walk anywhere. The first night I walked the "few blocks" up the road passed the other low rent hotel, the abandoned hotel, the wooded area the was strawned with empty booze bootles.

They had a pool area at the end closet to the road. Never got in it but could see it from the end of the hall. It appeared clean enough but the deck was trashy.

Definately not the name Howard Johnson used to be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Fort Worth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I was very disappointed in my stay at this HoJo. Terrible experience from confirming my reservation to check out. My family and I had 3 rooms reserved for a family wedding happening nearby. When I called they only had 2 of my 3 reservations, which was eventually sorted out. When we arrived at the motel the check in lobby was so hot and the check in staff was unfamiliar with the payment options. We were told that they needed a credit card to authorize the charges and we could pay cash at check out. We checked in 1 hour and half early are were told that only 2 rooms were ready. One of the rooms given to us was actually occupied and when we walked in there were all these personal belongings in the room. When we asked for another room the key card given did not work. Finally we were given a key card that did open the door and were able to settle into the rooms. All 3 of the room smelled like dirty socks and mold. This property truly needs updated remodeling and am surprised that the city has not shut them down. At check out the attendant tell us that my credit card was charged for all three rooms at check in ! After 20 minutes the attendant was able to "refund" my card and allowed us to pay cash. You get what you pay for!!!, NEVER AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igarciapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I paid less than $70 per night and was expecting the worst. I was quite surprised with the Howard Johnson. Clean, quite pleasant and helpful front desk. The conditions of the could be better maintained, but everything was clean and worked perfectly (from air conditioning to how water). My bedroom was actually big.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brazilian_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I travel frequently for work and spend about 2 weeks a month away from home and in hotels, so there are certain things I have learned to expect from living out of a suitcase, but this was one of those hotels that really made me hate my job.

I will start saying that the staff was VERY nice but that was the ONLY good thing about this place after its low price. I travel a LOT for work and this place was SO moldy I was sick for 2-3 days after. The carpet was so dirty I didn't even want the dog to have to put her feet on it...we never took our shoes off unless we were sleeping. The mattresses we COVERED in stains. The bathroom had mold you could actually see in the rusty door frame on top of the peeling wall paper and 70's linoleum tile! When we turned the AC on it filled the room with an aroma that made us leave it was so thick. I can't believe even half of the posted reviews are real, several couples stopped us when we were outside in the parking lot commenting on the condition of this place!

I contacted customer service and NO ONE ever got back to me, NOT common for HoJo at all! I have no idea what the deal is, but this place isn't safe if you have ANY allergies! Be warned! You will pay later for the low rate now.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We only stayed for one night, late in, early out, as we had a very early flight to catch.

The rooms were nothing to write home about, but for the price we paid it was a steal, and we wouldn't mind coming back again.

Breakfast was included in the rate, but we left too early to eat. However, when we left for the airport they were just preparing for breakfast and we were allowed to take along a couple of muffins and even provided a paper bag.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcsjcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I came into Austin late one evening and found a coupon for Howard Johnson's. I travel on a budget and have good and bad experiences with hotel coupons. However, this hotel was a pleasant surprise. Although the hotel was busy I was able to use my coupon and got a nice room. I frequently dislike hotel pillows but this room had a bed with several pillows of varying firmness. The hotel was quiet and I got a good night's sleep on both nights I stayed there. The continental breakfast was nice also. The staff there were professional and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Budget Inn Capitol
#135 of 203 in Austin
7 reviews
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Americas Best Value Inn
#153 of 203 in Austin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 2711 Ih 35 S, Austin, TX 78741-5514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Austin, Tx Hotel Austin
Rodeway Inn Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing