We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moline, IL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay for a night at the Hyatt. The room was wonderful and the staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. I think the staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. We asked for an upgrade and even though they were sold out of the upgraded rooms they made sure we had a river view, early check in and late check out. We were very impressed with the hotel. It was an easy walk to the 6th street scene. We enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt very much and will return. The view was great of the lake and the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockriver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    649
    218
    75
    38
See reviews for
341
408
79
878
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a very large atrium styled hotel with 16 floors. The rooms are as previously described and I had no qualms with the room/furnishings itself - clean, in good order, fresh linens, etc. Staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. Being right on the river/lake is a great location with a nice running trail for those inclined. But as others noted, this Hyatt appears to nickle and dime. I find it a bit offensive when they have bottles of water in the room with $5 price tags. Do they really need to gouge people like this? I drank tap water and it was perfectly fine. The coffee bar is pretty small for a facility of this size and somehwat pricey at $3-5 for a small croissant. And in general I don't like places that charge guests so much to park - $14 is steep for Austin when considering some mid-town Manhattan hotels charge $25. The bar area is nice for a gathering and they have a large lobby area which is a good place to meet others. But that can be a downside as well. One night during my stay there was a group of 6-8 individuals who were gathered in the lobby/lounge being quite loud at 11:30 p.m. and the sound reverberated throughout the atrium. It awoke me from sleep and I was on one of the upper floors. All in all, it was an OK stay for business. But I would probably not choose to use this property if I were there on vacation and spending my own hard-earned cash. It's also just a bit too far to walk to the South Congress restaurants, etc. So you still wind up driving and trying to find a place to park.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoTravelersToG... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Top grade hotel with everything you need and plenty of restaurants in the area. Great staff,friendly and helpful. Can't say enough for our time there.

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltermcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency for three nights while in Austin on business. The room was relatively comfortable and had a standard desk for getting work done. I still find it interesting that business hotels will nickle and dime guests for wireless internet access even when you are a member of the loyalty program (premium levels usually include the perk however). The internet rate was $9.95 per 24 hr period for standard access, more for faster connection speeds. The fitness room was well laid out with nice equipment, but as with other business hotels, way too small to accommodate the morning rush. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants, which is convenient for travelers who want to avoid renting a car. If I were back in Austin, I would likely return to this hotel depending upon the rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleN0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt for the LiveStrong Austin Marathon. The room was clean & comfortable, but considerably overpriced compared to identical amenities at nearby hotels.

Hyatt charged $9.95 per day for wifi and $14.00 per day to park in the hotel parking lot. Both of those services should be included in the base price of the room.

When I tried to use the wifi, I couldn't log on. I called the front desk for assistance. The clerk, instead of being helpful, said, "that's not the way the registered guest's last name is spelled." As I am "the registered guest", I tried to work with the clerk, but she was argumentative.

If the service was exceptional, I could stretch to justify the inflated price. Sadly, it was not.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSupport, Manager at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your recent review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and our comfy rooms. Please accept our sincere apology that you were unhappy with our service and the price of our wifi & parking. We can assure you that we do a quarterly competitive analysis and that our pricing structure is in line with other downtown full service hotels.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt for our annual DogWatch Dealer meeting - we got an upgrade to an executive room which had a huge sitting room; bar area and another bathroom. The rooms were clean, comfortable and of the usual high standard I would expect from a Hyatt Regency.
The only downside was that the atrium style means that there was a large amount of lift noise into our room that did wake us up early when guests were leaving early in the morning.

The food was of a very standard - some of the best food that we have had Dealer Meetings and the staff were very friendly & accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapmanberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and were pleased. We used Priceline for the booking, so for the price we paid, we were not disappointed. The overall design and decor is a bit dated, but everything was very clean. This hotel is nothing special; it is definitely more catered for business travelers.

The hotel is walking distance from downtown with numerous bus stops near by. It is right next to a dog park and Lady Bird Lake. I would recommend requesting a room with a view of the lake. It is also close to the bat viewing bridge area. (I also noticed a lot of dogs around the hotel, so this hotel is definitely pet friendly.)

We ate and had drinks at the bar one night, which was reasonably priced with above average food quality. Since this area is in the atrium, some sleepers may be sensitive to the noise and music which can last late into the night.

The pool was decent. The view from the pool was great, especially at night when you can see the Austin skyline in lights across the lake. The evening that we spent in the hot tub and pool was nice as there was no one else there.

We used Super Shuttle for transportation to and from the airport. They have electronic check-in/out stations and also a station where you can print boarding passes. Overall, we would stay here again if the price was right, however we also wouldn't hesitate to try another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velayudh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing