We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel downtown and for bat viewing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #14 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Greatly located by Congress Street Bridge and close to downtown but without the street noise I experienced with other downtown Austin hotels. My room was clean and wonderfully decorated. I ate on the patio and had the "Hippy roll" sushi as well as chips and queso. Parking is limited and requires an extra fee. My room overlooked the lake and would be perfect for viewing the bats in season. Boat rides and tours are at the base of the hotel on the lake. Customer service was the best I have seen in a while and I was promptly greeted upon arrival. I want to bring my family back and will stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: 501 is on the corner and high enough to have a good view of the lake and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,851 - 1,857 of 2,273 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for a last minute birthday trip with my best friend. Upon check-in Janai was perhaps one of the most pleasant people that I've encountered and set the tone for the excellent service that we received.

The rooms are standard for hotels of this caliber but what really made the experience fantastic was our breathtaking view from our 15th floor room. We had a few specialty cocktails from the hotel bar and I would highly recommend the Mexican Martini. Also, we ordered food from room service that was pretty tasty and the gentleman that brought it up was extremely friendly. I don't recall his name but it happened to be his birthday.

The only things that may have taken away from the experience was the parking and the bats. As far as parking goes, there was limited parking since they were enduring construction so we had to park a bit away and take a shuttle back to the hotel. It was a minor inconvenience but since it made parking complimentary there are no complaints on this end.

Also, the bar area had a bat stuck in it which was flying around. This was not a terrible thing since the hotel is right next to trails and is perfect for viewing bats. I honestly just felt bad for the poor critter.

All in all, we had a great stay. The location is great since it is just across the bridge from a lot of the bars but still easily walkable. We were able to make it to sixth street in about 10-15 minutes and as we stumbled back later that night it seemed like and even shorter walk. I had friends that stayed at the Omni that same day and their experience paled in comparison. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustLookingForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

First - the good things. At every turn, the staff was very gracious and accommodating when there were problems. They were conciliatory and kind - and went out of their way to fix issues if they could. the facility was also very nice and contemporary.

But there were SOOO many bad things. Firstly - when we entered the room there was a room service tray outside - it seemed odd, but we went in anyway. After getting into the room it looked fine at first blush. But when we turned over the covers the bed was clearly slept on - with someone's hair still on the pillows and sheets!!! They made the bed OVER dirty sheets.

We got a room change - the new room was fine.

When we returned from dinner we tried to park our car (we had previously been charged $14/night for parking), but there was NO places left - and no valet. So we were forced to park a block away and walk back (or wait 15 minutes for a shuttle to go a block).

When we returned to the room we quickly found out that there is NO sound insulation in these rooms! We could easily hear every note of the music playing 12 floors below in the atrium - as well as louder conversations. Then later that night when we went to sleep we could hear almost every word spoken by the people in the room next door. We could hear what they watched on TV, the radio, an everything else. It was a miserable place to rest.

Then the next day when housekeeping came they made the bed, and *nothing* else. They didn't even throw away the trash!

At the end of the day I would rate this place on the following:
Atmosphere: 4
housekeeping: 0
location: 4
ability to rest: 0
staff: 4
Overall experience: 2

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cologuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for taking time to write your review. It's always great to hear about our staff's success but are deeply sorry you didn't receive our standards when it came to your room services. There must have been some miscommunication on our part which we sincerely apologize for. We will make the adjustments needed to make sure that we minimize any future difficulty’s and hope that you give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves when visiting Austin again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I love this Hyatt. If you are in Austin during "bat season" you are close to viewing areas or, if you get a room with a balcony you can enjoy the bat parade from there. Awesome workout room. Love that you can walk out the door and be on the lakeside trail - or the bat boats. Easy to get to anywhere in Austin. Good parking. Room comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Balconies have view of Congress St Bridge and the bats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Booked it on Priceline where it is included in the "downtown" neighborhood. It's actually across the river so it's a bit of a walk to downtown. The hotel was clean and parking was reasonable. If you want a room looking toward downtown, you have to pay extra.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The Hyatt Regency is situated on the beautiful river flowing through Austin - a popular path right outside the hotel has dozens of runners, walkers, etc. and the Austin downtown awaits you with restaurants, nightspots, etc. I was amazed at the beautiful skyline views of Austin our standard room had, and the hotel offers packages that include breakfast. The hotel features an outdoor pool and jacuzzi (unfortunately it was out of order when we stayed but hopefully that's rare). Opinions are subjective but I found the accommodations very pleasant and first rate. My only "beef" is even with a discount package from hotels.com, our stay cost $216 a night and that's high for our budget (it was our anniversary so I didn't know). That said, it's a great hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge and go for the lake/river view - you won't regret it at night when Austin com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serendipitous41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We didn't spend a whole lot of time in our room beyond sleeping, but the room was nice enough. Decor is definitely recent and everything seemed clean. The hotel staff was all helpful and nice - they even provided us a mini-fridge to keep a surprise cake cool in our room.

I really liked the trail and park access off the back/river side of the hotel. We even did a picnic in the park and were able to easily walk over from the hotel. The park and trail are clearly popular with the Austin locals.

Room Tip: Try to get a north facing room to have a view of the river and downtown Austin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeritasAzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 202 in Austin
2,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 202 in Austin
1,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £90 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing