We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I was a little worried from the look of the construction outside the building but everything was wonderful inside.
When checking in we were immediately greeted by a very nice employee. No line. It was very fast and within minutes we were in our room.
Although the room as on the small side, it was nice. The view from the window was fantastic. Again there was construction but you cannot hear anything from within the room.
The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet and I never once woke up from noises from the hallway or other rooms or outside. This is a very important factor for me so I was very happy it was so quiet. We did have a room at the very end of the hall.
The bathroom was a normal bathroom for this type of hotel, nice but nothing over the top.
The best part of this hotel is the location. You can walk to Congress to eat, walk around, plus it is a great location if you want to run.
There was an extra charge for parking and you need it if you have a car, I believe it was something like $16. It was the only downside. However, that said, the parking is very close to the hotel. It is very convenient and worth the price for the convenience. It is downtown Austin, on Congress, and parking is at a premium.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyM223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    649
    218
    75
    38
See reviews for
341
408
79
879
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is my first review of this property since it was refurbished a couple of years ago. The exterior and interior are much improved, and the rooms--while somewhat small--are more than adequate.

The location on town lake is great, and there are running/walking trails up and down the lake/river in back of the hotel. The S. Congress and S. 1st bridges to downtown and the warehouse district are both easily accessible. This is a great alternative to staying downtown, as the walk to the nightlife in the warehouse districts is and easy 12-15 mins, and 6th St. about 15-18 mins.

You pay $17 for self parking per night, and $9.95 for internet. Breakfast is not included in the standard rate.

The property receives 2 stars primarily because of the noise level wafting up from the atrium (where people are drinking at the bar, playing blackjack, having wedding receptions, etc.). The design of the hotel leaves much to be desired in terms of noise and acoustics.

The rooms face inward and the noise is louder than a hotel at Disneyworld (no joke). The ear plugs they provide in your room and actually very good, but if your ear holes are small-ish and the ear plugs are too big (or if you simply find ear plugs uncomfortable), you are not going to be able to fall asleep much before 1am on weekends. Weekdays (Sun-Thurs) are probably less noisy.

The other inconvenience is that they do not guarantee that the type of room you have reserved will be available by the 4pm check-in time. So, instead of the 1 king bed facing Town Lake we had reserved, we elected not to wait around and instead got put in a 2 queen bed facing a dirt hole (they're constructing a new parking garage...parking can also be a bit of an issue if you arrive much after 6pm on weekends).

Having stayed in many Austin hotels in the general downtown area, the Hyatt is not an awful choice but I would probably look elsewhere before the Hyatt due to the noise levels.

Room Tip: Obviously ask for one facing the water. Make sure you have ear plugs in the room if staying on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braziliansoccerstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your first review. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and the overall look of the hotel. We are also sorry to hear you experienced some noise issues during your stay and hope you can give us another chance as our weekends tend to be popular. Thanks again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Hyatt Regency in Austin, TX was selected by my company for our annual meeting. This Hyatt is within walking distance of numerous good restaurants and retail shops that appeal to a wide range of tastes. Currently the hotel has a considerable amount of construction going on (a new parking garage) but once you get inside it is a very relaxing atmosphere. The bar area is very nice and inviting and on a warm sunny day you can even sit outside and and enjoy the lake. Customer service at the hotel was good and the staff that I met were friendly and pleasant. I had a room on the 16th floor and I have no complaints. The room was clean and attractive. The food at the conference, provided by the Hyatt, was very good. All in all this hotel was very nice. Once the construction on the parking garage is completed I have no doubt it will be even better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoLor349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Every time we turned around, it seemed there were extra charges. Extra for parking and a lot extra for wi-fi in the rooms.
There were leaves in the pool, but aside from that, the hotel was in excellent shape. Very clean and attractively appointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamiAm725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a nice hotel and I will stay here again. The lobby/bar is nice and this hotel is in a good location overlooking the water. A short walk across the bridge and tons of shopping and great restaurants are all right there. Only complaints are valet is very backed up due to the construction of the parking garage they are building. When that's complete (by next year I was told) it will eliminate that problem. It took me 25 minutes to get my car and I wasn't expecting that so make sure u plan accordingly. I would also like it if they had mini bars in the room. I was surprised they didn't. I will stay here again. Rooms a little dated but clean and consistent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Hotel overlooks and sits next to town lake. Taking morning walks along a path that runs parallel to the lake was a relaxing start to my day. Our room was cleaned while on our morning walks and it was such a good feeling to arrive back to a clean room. The staff is both friendly and knowledgeable of activities in the area. Good location and much activity within walking distance--- walked south on congress one afternoon exploring and north across Congress bridge the next day.
Our room was clean and comfortable. Daily our room was cleaned with necessary products restocked without requesting-our needs anticipated. The bed was comfortable and room temperature consistent.
We ate twice at the on-site restaurant. The food was good and the service excellent. I strongly recommend this hotel if staying in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceilokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is an atrium hotel and one of the nicest I've seen. The view up the elevator is astounding. Spent two nights here and the hotel was completely booked but the staff were on the ball and there were no major problems. Oddly you can get a king bed or two double beds in your room. The rooms were otherwise quite nice and well appointed. Housekeeping was very tedious in cleaning the room and reseting all the items each day. The do not disturb / make room is a button you bush that displays a red or green light on your room. When you leave you push the make room button for a green light to let house keeping know you are gone then you can push the DND button for a red light. No idea if its tied electronically to anything else.

The lounge/bar area is quite large with a big patio area. Sadly the bar closes at 12. The workout area is very large and well appointed with citrus water and towels in a small fridge. They constructing a parking garage on one side of the hotel so parking was limited and there was some construction noise. Taxis are always standing by and its 10-15 to get to 6th street.

Look forward to returning there in July for a conference.

Room Tip: Its basically a triangle layout with northside facing the lake and downtown Austin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing