We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #18 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Southern comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The employees at this location really made this stay special for me and my friend from maryland. Erin at the front desk was knowledgeable about the local area and made some great suggestions for us to do. Dan with the swb really help get the day started right with his senserity and prompt service. And the overnight manager Jerry truly went above and beyond for us more then once. First night he gave us a shuttle ride to the famous 6th street. And the second night when there was no where to get food he shuttled us to a cafe called magnolia. Fantastic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey_holmes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. We have shared your compliments to the staff and hope to see you on your next trip over. Safe travels and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    632
    205
    74
    37
See reviews for
317
390
76
810
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple days in November, great place. Excellent location on the river, very close to downtown attractions. Rooms are very nice, comfortable, great views. The hotel was hosting an event, so it was crowded and busy, elevators were slow to arrive because of the crowd, but not terrible. Recommended if you are in town...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KontrolFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Hyatt is located right along the river and has access to numerous trails. It is located close to downtown (a bridge next to the hotel separates it from downtown).

We stayed there for three nights during the annual Austin City Limits Music Festival. And while we’re fans of live music, we’re not fans of the “scene” or all night activities. Give the Hyatt is located within walking distance of Zilker Park, where ACL is held, we were expecting loud, all night noises and disturbances. We were completely and utterly wrong. In fact it was quieter here than most other hotels I’ve stayed where there wasn’t a festival happening!

While the hotel is in a great location, it is in need of renovations. My wife joked that they may be waiting until the ‘70s-80 style comes back in fashion. But I read a sign that said they are about to embark on series of extensive renovations, which is good to hear.

We ate breakfast one morning there and it was fine. The selection was limited and as a result I highly recommend you take a short walk to any of the many breakfast places to eat.

Overall, this is a fine hotel. Again, my expectations were quite low due to the festival, but I was proved wrong and had a great night’s sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel three times, each time has been worse. Avoid the front desk troll Ruben at all cost. His haughty attitude is deplorable and he should be fired. If you have a reservation, they do not honor it. This was happening to many of my colleagues. Worst, the hotel has massive construction going on next door and across the parking lot and they give you ear plugs to block out the noise from outside. Moreover, the revelers in the atrium lobby make it hard to sleep. The rooms are worn and bathroom has chipped paint and mold. This is the worst Hyatt period. It's not close to anything downtown unless you like to walk across a bridge. I travel over 100 nights a year and this is by far the worst hotel, with the worst customer service for the price in America. We were going to have this be a conference hotel for our annual meeting, but now we'd be better off staying anywhere but here. Seriously.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessTraveler3565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We definitely enjoyed the Hyatt regency. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, the best pain au chocolat I had in the USA! Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious for a family of 4. We will definitely stay there next year again for the 2014 ACL! Zilker Park is about a 25 min walk away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Petra0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel that's been cosmetically updated, but a new ballroom is under construction now. The king room w river view was fine but not as large as other kings i have stayed in in austin at lower price points. No fridge. Decent mattress but most la quintas' are better! The atrium apparently gets noisy enough that you might need ear plugs, but I didn't have a problem. Access to trail by Ladybird lake. Fantastic view of downtown Austin. Good location off South Congress. Attended a conference as well as stayed here. Catering was really good...breakfast and dinner. Lunch was typical conference chicken and potatoes. not bad but blah. Overall,

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePracticalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The rooms are very small, no refrigerators, no microwaves, very out dated. The room service food is expensive and was horrible to taste. The only food available was either sushi or over priced steak. Not a family hotel at all, do not bring your kids here!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karloff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We're very sorry to hear about your dining experience as our hotel just recently revamped our children's menu this year. ( http://www.hyattflavorjourney.com/menu/ ) Perhaps there was some miscommunication with our staff, which we will gladly pass along to our management. Again, we hope you'll give us another chance and request a fridge and microwave during your next stay so we may accommodate you. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing