We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I know now why they give you complimentary ear plugs....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #18 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
246 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I know now why they give you complimentary ear plugs....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and great service, but the busy lobby made it impossible to have a quiet evening! On top of things my last evening there, they were hosting a party that went until probably 2am.
The rooms all had complimentary ear plugs so I guess the noise in the rooms from the lobby is something they are aware of.

Overall though, great location, wonderful staff, and clean rooms

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrab28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    632
    205
    74
    37
See reviews for
317
390
76
810
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I live in Austin but stayed for a long weekend with a friend who was visiting for a wedding. This hotel has an amazing top floor space for a wedding that has exquisite views of Austin, Town Lake, and the hills to the west. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The only issue with the layout of the hotel is the atrium style tends to amplify noise at night that could be heard by sensitive ears like mine if people get rambunctious in the lobby bar. The coffee shop is a little slow but convenient. The location gives great access to the south trail of Town Lake and the bat bridge is walkable. Adventurous types could also walk to South Congress [quirky and famous bars, restaurants, shopping], but you may need a taxi if going downtown to Sixth Street, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room/view of downtown not south Austin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for in November for three nights.I enjoyed the hotel.Location was great,room was very clean and modern,front desk people were very helpful and professional.Also the restaurant in second floor was amazing with most known in the town for fajitas.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Piramidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Concur with other reviewers that this hotel does offer nice views (if you book a room overlooking water) and location is pleasant. My stay was over Thanksgiving holiday, so it also was pleasant surprise to witness the bats flying out from their residence beneath Congress Ave bridge .... by this time of year, usually the bats have all migrated south to Mexico.

But the parking garage was a colossal pain-in-the-butt! Hopefully the problems will be rectified soon, however if you're booked to stay at Hyatt Regency within next few months I'd strongly suggest you re-think the plan. Again another reviewer has also discussed their displeasure around parking. For the entire duration of our stay (11/29/13 thru 12/2/13), there were problem with people being unable to either enter or exit the parking structure. It got to the point that a Hyatt employee needed to be stationed at the entrance/exit in order to swipe their card and allow patrons to get in or out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2727-tejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was hesitant at first, because the hotel certainly isn't the newest in the vicinity; however, you cannot beat the views of downtown Austin. If you want a view, this is your hotel. The room was clean and adequately updated. I stayed on the top 16th floor balcony room, with the downtown view, and the river/lake in the foreground. If you are with a special someone for a quick romantic getaway, and just want to relax away from the young ones partying across the river but need the convenience of downtown, and relish the idea of sitting on your balcony drinking a cup of Joe, reading a good book or doing whatever else tickles your fancy, you can't beat it;) There is a new parking garage offering ample affordable parking. I certainly will stay here next time I'm in town, regardless of the newer hotels going up across the river.

Room Tip: Request a Downtown View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Tx
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Just joined the Hyatt Rewards in October and booked a total of 27 nights (business) in 2 hotels prior to this stay the first wknd in Nov.

This was to be a free night and some time with family and friends. Upon check in I asked for room with a nice view. The young lady explained they were going to have a busy Friday night but that we would have a nice room.

We get to the room, pull back the curtains to the amazing (in a bad way) view of a grand and expansive rooftop along with HVAC systems. In a bit of wonderment and perplexity, I call and ask for a manager.

She and I speak and I explain that we had just joined Hyatt in Oct and had already booked almost of month of rooms. I went on to explain I was shocked to NOT get a lake view. She apologized for the incident, explained the front desk attendant (please note there was a trainer standing right next to her) was in training and set us up with a great view of the Lady Bird Lake.

We generally use Marriott and Omni but I enrolled in Hyatt because the other two were booked on a trip I had to DC.

Hyatt has not been as accommodating and after booking 27 stays in 4 weeks time, maybe I shouldn't even have to ask for an upgrade?!

Jake, one of the Concierge attendants was great. He took care of dinner reservations for us at 3 Forks and transportation arrangements for my wife's friend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTexans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We enjoyed the HR here on the bank of the lake across from downtown Austin. Beautiful view, if you're on the north side of the hotel. The walking trail by the lake is fun to use, and right next to the hotel. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom OK. BUT, coming in a car and dealing with the parking here spoiled much of our experience. On our arrival, I thought our choice was between valet parking, with a big charge, and doing it ourself in the garage. So we drove (or tried to) in and out of the garage several times. Each time, entering and leaving, there was a line of cars trying to get in and out, trying to follow the instructions and make your room key work to raise the barrier. No luck. Everyone had trouble. And from the garage, once parked, into the hotel requires a long walk through construction, down a dirt path, and finally to the main entrance. No direct access. And on checking out, I discovered that the privilege of going through this and using the garage cost me an EXTRA $19.00 PER NIGHT! Wow! So again, nice hotel, but not if you're bringing a car.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on an upper floor on the north side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geno31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing