We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Location, Decent Hotel, Everything as Expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #18 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Decent Location, Decent Hotel, Everything as Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We picked this hotel for a last minute weekend getaway in Austin. We were surprised at the overall rates downtown for our quick trip and booked this as it was the most economical.

So it's across the river but overall a great location. A bit tough with the current construction from an arrival experience perspective but really cool that you are right on the river. I really hope they create a staircase from the back of the hotel to the bridge as that would cut the walk into town by 6 mins or so.

Room was a Hyatt room, service was Hyatt service- all pretty straight forward and as expected.

Not going to be your honeymoon hotel but you always have to appreciate when a property delivers what expected.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    632
    205
    74
    37
See reviews for
317
390
76
810
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Hyatt has done a great job with maintaining and positioning this property. They were undergoing some renovations, but it seemed to be business as usual for their staff. The renovation project really didn't impact our stay in the least. The rooms were kind of your standard fair for Regency, but were definitely well kept and clean. We had a view of the river (which I would recommend) and a view of the downtown Austin skyline. The hotel is definitely not in "downtown" and is a bit of a walk for nightlife and the Austin experience. There were generally always cabs & pedi-cabs available very easily. The hotel is quite noisy as it is enclosed with an interior walkway around the inside of the building. This wasn't a major issue until they hosted a very big event, and the echo generated throughout that building was amazing.

If it weren't for the location, I would definitely stay here again. Location considered...I would stay in downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

As a belated Valentine's Day gift to ourselves, the Mr. & I enjoyed a visit to ATX. We chose the Hyatt Regency as our 'home base' for the evening.

Pros: Great location, friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed with nice bedding, and a river view.

Cons: The room could have used some updates. The tub area was dated and the carpet was a little 'tired'.

The pros definitely outweigh the cons and we'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This place totally surprised me!

From the electronic check in and check out to the friendliest staff you could imagine , they really did a great job and totally caught me off guard.

I am a committed Hilton person and this really opened my eyes. I don't think you can go far wrong at this hotel. The rooms were nice, the hotel was good and the service was exceptional. I would stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GRDorkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Good location, but noticeable flaws. This property does not appear to be in the same league as other regencies. The room was run down and service needs improvement (perhaps in part to the younger/less experienced staff).

First the good: location is on the river and not far from the airport….you can walk to sixth street in about 10 min. A running path goes along the river and if that’s your thing, great location to wake up and hit the trail.

The negatives: First, arriving late I requested room service, but no room service is available at night. (However, the lobby offered me complementary sandwiches left over from the deli that they would otherwise toss out). Second, I requested a quiet room when booking, and I got put immediately next to the ice machine/elevators; as a diamond member I was not expecting this. Third, the room is not the category as regencies I have stayed at….domestic and abroad.


I think the property could make some quick improvements, however, they may simply go unnoticed since they may not be aware: upon checkout I am usually asked, “How was your stay?”….this time, just how do you want to pay and where do you want the receipt sent, printed or emailed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very good facilities with courteous staff. Bear in mind they are expanding and new construction is ongoing this year. Had a room overlooking the river and downtown Austin skyline which was very picturesque. The hotel is centrally located which allows walking to downtown and to hip Soco--a one mile walk north and south on Congress Ave will get you into the mix of everything in these areas respectively.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room with river/downtown view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I've stayed at a few hotels in Austin for work and the Hyatt is one of the nicer places I have stayed. The rooms are a good size and clean and the bed was comfortable. Wi Fi was free, normally $15-$20 a day at some places, but I was not sure if that was part of my work package or a standard for the Hyatt. All the rooms are off a central atrium that is very cool from the balconies, especially from the higher floors. But if you have vertigo you might want to stay on a lower floor.

The hotel has a bar and a very good restaurant overlooking the river. In fact the restaurant was one of the best features and to me is what pushes the Hyatt above your standard chain hotel. The food was really very good, I'd say far better than pretty much any hotel I have ever stayed at. I had several meals at it, both breakfast and dinner, and they were all good and my work colleges all felt the same way. As a restaurant review I would give it 5 stars.

Location wise, the Hyatt is close to downtown and the convention center which are about a 10-15 minute walk away. It sits just off of South Congress and is also a 10 minute walk to the bar/restaurant scene and shopping. It also sits right along the river which has a nice jogging path if you are so inclined. The bat bridge is also very close by.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 through 10 overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing