We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #16 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Super Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is located right on the little lake that runs through the middle of downtown Austin. While the immediate neighborhood is rather unimpressive, a short and pleasant walk over the 1st street bridge takes you right into downtown where you can find a wide variety of restaurants and shops. In addition, there is a walking path along the lake that I really enjoyed while I was there. The hotel hands out a little card showing a 4 mile loop (hint: there's one tricky part when you go clockwise as they suggest, so I suggest doing it in reverse, at least the first time). There is a concession right outside the hotel that rents kayaks, canoes, and pontoon bicycles, so you can get out onto the water (multiple other places to rent as you walk around the lake). The hotel itself is a fairly standard Hyatt Regency with the open atrium in the middle, but in very good shape. The hotel was quiet, day and night. Staff were very attentive and considerate. My room had a partial view of the river and the park nearby. There is a little "grab and go" shop called Perk in the lobby that had a very good selection of cold sandwiches and salads to take away. Everything I tried there was good. I would definitely stay here again if I find myself back in Austin.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a lake view room; even a partial lake view on the west side is nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: They had divided trash cans in the room for recycling.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    673
    227
    76
    38
See reviews for
372
432
82
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, the time we went there was construction all over the place but, the nice thing was they provided ear plugs just in case! Loved it! Only miss was wish the servers on the patio had mentioned the Texas Mule drink was that spicy, I liked it but it was too spicy to enjoy for my husband (thankfully they made it right and got him a new drink right away! Kudos!!)

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zedd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Who would have ever expected a wonderful lake view right out of your window? Our room overlooked Lady Bird Lake and we had an amazing lake and skyline view. We were here for a professional conference and we found the staff friendly and helpful in every way. Be sure to sit on the patio overlooking the lake and see the kayakers and other boaters go by. The famous "Bat Bridge" is just a short walk down the path below the hotel. There is great bat viewing from the top and from below the Congress Street Bridge at twilight. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyOntheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I enjoyed the room and location. It is in walking distance of downtown and a nearby park. The walking path follows the lake shore. Indoor dining. I liked the breakfast. That was the only meal I ate at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judson I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Facilities were nice and folks were polite, but my experience was underwhelming. The young lady at check-in was cheerful and informed me of the walking/running trail around Lady Bird Lake. I recalled that Hyatt Guest Services sometimes included the ability to borrow "workout" clothing, including running shoes. Sure enough the Guest Services directory in my room indicated who to call for the workout gear, unfortunately after being transferred several times and placing a separate followup call, I was told that that "service" was not, and had never been, available; when I referenced the in-room Guest Services book, I was told it was a typo. Otherwise, the room was great, very nicely appointed and comfortable. Views of Lady Bird Lake and DT Austin are pretty cool as well!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarciaDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt for my daughters graduation. Perfect location close to St. Ed's, UT, and downtown. We had a wonderful view of the city. The beds were super comfy, and we ate a terrific breakfast on Mothers Day. The outside bar is great for happy hour. Parking is expensive.

I'm a photographer and photographed a couple getting engaged on the trail around the lake. It was easy and convenient to get to from the hotel.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator and didn't hear a thing. The view is nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Impressed by the recycling garbage cans in rooms. They use energy efficient A/C and light blubs, the towels were used again if you wanted, tinted windows for better view and non glare. I love that they use local produce and products, that is wonderful and makes you feel like it is good for you.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriziphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfectly located within walking distance to restaurant row - downtown Austin - bat cave - lake activities and more! It felt like everything was only a 10 min walk away. I food was amazing and rooms were clean and spacious. My only complaint is that the music from the bar area really carried through the hotel - right into the rooms...and that ANYONE with issues with heights should not have a higher-floor room. I was on the 11th floor and thought I was going to puke every time I left my room (all rooms face inward open area) and I do not have issues with heights. The glass elevators might be a problem for some people too! I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are afraid of heights, get a LOWER level room! Try to get a room facing the water too...othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing