We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
175 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of an overseas high school reunion. People came from multiple locations around the globe to attend.

Check in was easy -- it was computerized and quick. The bellhop was great. The room itself was very nice and clean. The view was OK but not perfect (we overlooked a parking lot.) Catching a ride to another location took almost 45minutes. The pre-party room was not kept up regularly. Between this and the time we waited for a ride is the reason that I ranked this a 4 rather than a 5. The beds were extremely comfortable. The curtains kept out the light.

The evening of the reunion was nice for the most part. There were not enough chairs for the guests but the food was Great. Another reason for the 4 rather than the 5. The overall location is great. It's downtown and the Bat Bridge is within waliking distance. (http://www.batcon.org/index.php/get-involved/visit-a-bat-location/congress-avenue-bridge/subcategory.html)

Overall this was a nice place and I would stay here again despite a few quirks!

The night of the party

Room Tip: Ask for the River View so that you can watch the bats as they leave the bridge at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeedMe_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    649
    218
    75
    38
See reviews for
341
407
79
878
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was a great location aside from the construction going on. Check in was a breeze. When asked what brought us to Austin, I told the desk clerk we were there to celebrate our anniversary. The lobby and public rooms are very nice as was our room. When we returned from dinner we found a wonderful surprise waiting for us. We found a nice chilled bottle of wine and fruit, along with a very thoughtful handwritten card congratulating us on our anniversary. What a great touch. We decided to try the breakfast buffet the next morning and both of us were pleased. Overall, it was a great stay. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Austin Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lghamiltontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSupport, Manager at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a kind review. We're thrilled you received your special anniversary treat and we hope you'll come see us again next year. Cheers to another year of love & happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I celebrated my birthday by booking a room at the Hyatt Regency with a few of my girlfriends. The front desk service was nice and check-in was very quick. Our room was nice and the view was fantastic overlooking town lake. Really stellar view, but that ended up being the only good thing about our stay.

We decided to lay out by the pool for the afternoon before heading to dinner downtown. The servers at the pool were terrible. We had to chase them down several times and when they did come around to us they were abrupt, dismissive and rude. It was as if we were a burden to them. I understand and can appreciate that sometimes servers get busy and drinks can take a little time. But this was more than just being busy, this was poor attitude and poor service. Disappointing.

We didn't let it get us down though, and went out as planned and had a fantastic time. We had fun hanging out on the balcony when we got back to the hotel. Again, check-out was quick and efficient. The front desk was pleasant and the valet was great. However, when I got home I discovered that my boyfriend had ordered us champagne that was to be waiting in our room upon arrival. It was not! When he called the hotel he had to wait on hold for 15 minutes and then he was told that they would "look into it and call him back." I was appalled! When they did finally call him back he was told that there was no record of the order. We have not checked the credit card statement yet, but I sincerely hope that we won't find a charge for the champagne that we never received. Such a nice gesture from him for my birthday and the staff at the Hyatt totally dropped the ball.

Truthfully I was going to give them 2 stars after the night but I did just receive a phone call from the management and they are compensating us for the mistakes. For that reason I bumped it up to 3 stars. I appreciate the apology and will give them another chance... (but I probably won't be hanging out by the pool next time I stay.)

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing Ladybird Lake, definitely do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleJuliosATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Two things were very concerning about my stay:

1) On the first of my five night stay I ordered room service. About 90 minutes later I was feeling very sick. Then, spent the entire night in the bathroom, horribly sick. I hadn't eaten anything since about 11:00 a.m. so it had to have been something from the room service. When I finally had a chance to complain, the front desk attendant removed the charge from my bill. That was good. But, I would have rather paid for food that didn't make me sick than get free food that made my sick. I was in town for a conference that I was sent to by my employer. I had a very packed schedule. To have spent an entire night without sleep because I was very sick added a ton of stress to my trip. Also, I filled out the comment card that was with my room service and set it on the tray so it could be collected, but when I came back it was taken off the tray and left on the desk. I left it out for the duration of my trip so that it would get picked-up, but it never did.

2) When I checked into the hotel, the front desk attendant told me that my room was pre-paid via the credit card on file. He asked me to provide a credit or debit card for incidentals. I gave him my debit card and asked how much he would be putting on the card. He said that since it was a debit card, and not a credit card, I would be charge $50 per night for a total of $250 for the stay. Instead, I was charged $1,000 immediately. I am still waiting for this charge to be removed from my account. When checking out, I was told that the attendant who checked me in incorrectly placed the deposit on my debit card because he failed to see the hotels.com deposit.

There was a lot of construction going on around the hotel. It was made it more difficult to walk to the convention center. But, whatever, I don't really hold that against them. I am mainly upset about getting sick and being charged four times what I was told I would be charged.

Room Tip: Corner rooms near the river have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

stayed for a short weekend getaway and absolutely loved the location! yes there is a ton of construction going on but we weren't staying outside:) so it didn't bother us one bit. The lobby and bar area was very nice and we got to meet several people there who ended up partying with us on Rainey Street. (which by the way is a very short cab drive away and provides tons of fun) The outdoor patio was an added bonus to sit out, enjoy the scenery and sip a cocktail. The rooms were good in my opinion. It served its purpose and had an amazing view of the lake and downtown. If you are in Austin and spending the majority of your time in your room, you are missing out on all of the fun the city has to offer, so ignore the construction and ignore the fact that the rooms may be a bit outdated and go explore. its a prime location. We absolutely made the most of our stay and would book this hotel again for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmarias73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After staying at the Hyatt on Townlake in Austin, TX for a quick one-night getaway, I totally understand the reviews about the rooms needing a facelift. I live in the Austin area and just spent the night there to have a romantic night with my husband. I used to go to the Hyatt in its heyday for lunch and dinner - back in the early 1980s when it first opened. I don't think they've done any changes to the rooms (except for the linens) since then.

The lobby, bar, deck, and restaurant areas all look fantastic - they've obviously put some work into those areas. Gone is the old rock wall/water area and it's done in nice, up-to-date decor. 5 stars for those areas. I was surprised though how empty the hotel was - granted it was a Sunday night and nothing special was going on in Austin that night.

We had appetizers & drinks on the deck - they were great! Wish they'd clear up the trees by the lake so we could see the water a bit better, but it was still so peaceful & relaxing there. Breakfast buffet was great - delicious omelet and great spread.

But it all comes back to the room - we had even upgraded to the top floor with a balcony. You'd think being on the top floor, it would be a bit more special with a larger bathroom but the bathroom could only fit 1 person at a time! The shower was just a small bathtub with a plastic shower curtain - really? You can't even upgrade the shower curtain?? Not to mention the used washcloth we had draped over the curtain when we arrived - yuck! The carpet in the room was worn, especially at the sliding door onto the balcony. The balcony was okay, but it had a high concrete wall so we couldn't see the lake unless we stood up. It was a bit disarming looking into the drain in the balcony straight down to the ground - made me a bit nervous. And the floor of the balcony was some sort of gravel which we carried back into the room every time we came in. And the walls must be paper-thin, we heard the people next door talking until late in the night.

They're spending a fortune building a parking garage which is a good thing. But if they don't upgrade the rooms, people won't be coming there when there are so many new hotels in the downtown area now. They didn't even have any meeting rooms booked for that Monday from what I could see - that's a problem right there.

Hyatt - you were great back in the 80s, but it's time to make some changes to your rooms or you're gonna be losing lots of business to the new guys in town. The only thing you going for you is being on the lake.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lpmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSupport, Manager at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review today. We are glad you chose to stay with us for a little getaway. We are very sorry to hear your stay was less than exceptional. As we finish our new Ballroom, we're always taking our guest feedback seriously and include room updates into consideration. Thanks again for letting us know your issues. We have shared them with our staff and hope to see you the next time you're interested in a getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just 1 night here. Our room was a standard Hyatt style, clean, tidy and enough room for 2.
Our room did not have a downtown view, however, this did not distract from the stay as we were out most of the time.
The location on the lake was lovely - we took a quick stroll down to the lake and bridge before a quick change for our finale dinner evening at the W Hotel.
Staff were pleasant and very helpful - especially after we had made a slight mess in the room, they arranged to have this cleaned and sorted ready for our return that evening.
All-in-all a good stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing