We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I ever stayed in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #16 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 August 2009

I could find NO faults with this hotel, from the price to the staff to the ambience...every thing is a 10+. Will definitely stay there again - this was my first trip to Austin, and now I want to move there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,039 - 2,045 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2009

I have never stayed in a friendlier, more accomodating hotel, ever. Utmost professionalism, i was most pleasantly surprised. Not even at some 5 star hotels did I receive the level of professionalism that here at the Hyatt Austin Town Lake. If coming to Austin, you gotta stay here !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirql8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I am a very loyal Four Seasons traveler and always stay at the FS when possible. On a recent trip to Austin, FS was sold out and I ventured across the river into Hyatt Regency.

Overall enjoyed my stay, nice room, good view and helpful staff. However, i will probably not go back on my next trip. Hyatt has some potential but there little details they need to get right in order to get loyal business following like the Four Seasons. For example, FS offers free bottles of water in the rooms and throughout the property. Hyatt charged 4.75 for a bottle of water in the room. Common, it probably costs 25 cents to get it and they sell it for 4.75? Hyatt Management- the math really does not add up- for 25 cents i will probably not stay there again and Hyatt will loose $200.

It is little things like that that make a big difference and can take the Hyatt into the next level.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler1Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Very nice, pleasant and relaxing. Location is perfect for viewing the bats at Congress Bridge, Lady Bird Lake (Lake Austin), Zilker Park and Barton Springs. The hotel rents brikes for a nominal cost. The bike ride around Lady Bird Lake is a smooth, hard top 10 mile trail. Other local attractions are within easy walking distance. Sixth Street, however, is a bit distant from the hotel. Any late night activities involving Sixth Street would need to involve an automobile.

Staff is professional. Rooms are comfortable and warm. Pool overlooks lake and is very nice. Common spaces are clean and updated. Breakfast was good though a bit short staffed.

Definately a place for those who enjoy a quality hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllWaysGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I've been to this Hyatt 3 other times, but only to park, enjoy a cocktail on their patio, and watch the bats fly from the Congress Avenue bridge right next door. A friend and I stayed here for one evening this past weekend as part of a small group of ladies gathering to hold a shower in one of their suites, followed by heading out to downtown for a bit of bachelorette celebration.

The location is right on Lady Bird lake, with a walking path that goes the length of the shore. There are several river cruise boats available right next to the hotel, there is a large park a short walk to the west and the bat-observation area immediately to the east (visible from some rooms). The Congress Ave bridge provides an easy walk across the lake to the downtown shops, restaurants and bars, or the cab ride is only $4. On the Barton Springs/hotel side there are several good restaurants a short walk away also.

As Hyatts go, this hotel is on par. The decor is a little more conservative/modern than some, but nice. We found everything to be clean and comfortable. The staff, particularly the bell service and cafe staff were superb. We were fortunate to get a good rate which included parking and breakfast, and the Sunday breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in June and would definitely recommend it to others visiting Austin. The rooms were well equipped with a fantastic view across the river/lake. You could lie in bed and admire the city which was spectacular by day and stunning at night. We request two connecting, quiet rooms and that's what we got. and the bed was comfortable. Our rate included parking and there was plenty of space to park up. It was a bit of a trek across the bridge to the main area in the soaring temperatures but we enjoyed the challenging exercise. The staff were attentive and friendly. We did have to place a complaint that the room was not made up on our second night. Even though we always leave our rooms reasonably tidy it's not too much to expect to have the bed made up and have the coffee replaced is it when paying 4* prices? The cleaning staff seemed to clean every room around us, but not ours. We frequented the bar a couple of times and relaxed in the comfortable sofas. Our rate included breakfast which was great - everything you could possibly want to eat and the staff in the restaurant were friendly and welcoming too. The pool was good and you could walk along the pretty riverside walk from the exit at the side of the pool (a great track for joggers). It was exciting to see the bats leave from under the bridge and zoom on their nightly trip out - there are millions of them! Apart from the lack of room service for us this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We went to Austin last minute and booked a 4 Star property on Priceline. We were pleasantly surprised to get the Hyatt Austin. The property is on the south side of Lady Bird Lake with direct access to a jogging trail on the lake, nice touch! Fitness room was nice but why stay inside when you have a beautiful path with great views. The hotel staff were young yet attentive and the hotel looked to be recently remodeled. The room was clean and modern with a boutique feel. Bathroom was standard fare, nothing remarkabe. You can walk across the bridge to downtown, everything was at your door step. One complaint was the back-up in the parking lot. A meeting let out the same time as we checked out and there were 20-25 cars in line to get out and only one pay-booth open. Luckily we were not in a hurry!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 201 in Austin
1,457 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 201 in Austin
1,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £101 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing