We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
Ranked #163 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great stay at a clean and reasonable priced motel. The hotel was located on a very busy intersection of two major highways with a lot of traffice thenoise was not a problem. I had a problem with my TV and the staff was very prompt in handling my problem. I would gladly put this on my list of places to stay while traveling.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Dwight B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

I was a little taken aback by this La Quinta. It is an older property, tucked beside an IHop. The first room we were sent to had cigarette butts all over the outside area. I went back and they moved us to a different room before we even opened the door to that room. Our room was spotless and I mean spotless. Updated decor, huge TV, separate dressing and tub area. But this is an older property with no amenties. It is hard to get to from both IH35 and 290. You must know exits, because they have put in a huge overpass and distances to exits are decieving. I would stay again if it was just a one night stay but if more I would want a little more. A clean hotel for the money and a very nice staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bandera, Texas, USA
1
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I've seen negative reviews of this hotel & for the life of me cannot figure out where people are coming from with such comments...my 25 yr old daughter and I stay here on a fairly regular basis...they've never messed up our reservation, even though we've booked our room months in advance! staff and customer service bend over backwards to accommodate our stay, it's always clean, comfortable and quiet (in spite of being right off the interstate) and we always feel safe coming and going at all hours...its convenient location makes it a snap to get to South Congress Ave or a quick hop onto 1-35

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Irving, Texas, USA
1
Reviewed 1 May 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The biggest initial problem is getting there.

Sitting at an intersection of major freeways this should be easy, however the address is deceptive. My recommendation use a GPS - however you must input the address as 'Interstate 35 S or South' not I-35 and even so be prepared for some confusing choices.

Despite being close the freeway there is only a small amount of traffic noise, perhaps less than many busy surface streets.

No elevators.

Rooms, showers, bedding and cleanliness are average. This is the only La Quinta I have seen that uses pre-made plastic wrapped waffles to be put into the toaster rather than those made by the customer with the batter and rollover grill. Boring to the extreme.

The other breakfast fare is continental and boring. The nearby Ben White La Quinta Suites is more expensive and probably worth it. This place is inexpensive however you don't get any more than you paid for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californiaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Thought this hotel was a good value for the price. It appears that the interiors have been recently updated as everything was clean, light and bright. No polyester floral bedspread! Bed was very comfy and big and clean. Noise levels undetectable eventhough hotel pretty full on a Friday night. Was on the 2nd floor and had AC on though.

The continental breakfast was the standard fare, all bakery items were packaged and not as good as a nice fresh baked muffin or bagel, but being all individually wrapped was a fair trade-off for someone who doesn't appreciate strangers handling their food. Ihop in the parking lot if free breakfast doesnt suit you.

The only negative was the location, eventhough it was technically "on the highway" it was on the feeder road at the junction of multiple highways. While this was good because it was close to roads, it didnt have direct access and was a bit difficult to actually get to, atleast for someone unfamiliar with the area.

Pros: nice, clean, quiet, free "breakfast" and allows pets, close to area attractions.
Cons: access a bit confusing, no fridge in the room, close to attractions but not walkable,

Perfect hotel for tourists/visitors. Not an all-inclusive or "resort" property. Although pool area was nice, wouldnt use this place as a destination, but great home base for tourist after a long day of exploring.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed there for 8 nights during SXSW 2012, and it was ok. A few days with unstable wifi, but that got fixed. Big, semi-old room, but always clean and with a new TV. The breakfast was not for me; muffins, marmelade, bagels, coffee and juice - too much sugar for a norwegian, but they had some fruit though. IHOP right across the street, so you could get breakfast there. The pool was pretty nasty, on the other hand, it was the beginning of March and not too hot weather, so I don't blame them for that. Really friendly and helpful staff. I stayed there because it was the closest downtown I could get during SXSW. I just slept there as the days and evenings were very busy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarjeiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
South Austin
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#150 of 202 in Austin
61 reviews
Wyndham Garden Austin
#48 of 202 in Austin
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Address: 4200 I-35 South, Austin, TX 78745-1202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin i-35 s. Ben White Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing