We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not UP to Par for La Quinta” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
Ranked #147 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not UP to Par for La Quinta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nout sure how this facility can be 2 story with NO ELEVATOR. Reqistered online for Senior Rate Room and was advised at CHECK IN that Room number was 220. NOT TOLD that it was on the second floor and only way up was stairs. Bathroom had urine drops in front of toilet. THEY WERE STILL THERE THE SECOND DAY>

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank bigjammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    96
    93
    64
    63
See reviews for
138
76
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We checked in at 0200 hours, 9 April 2014. Stayed for two days. Room had cockroaches, horrible smell, and no one changed our towels. Security around the complex was non-existent. WARNING!!! Dot not stay in this hotel

Room Tip: STAY AWAY! Cockroaches, horrible smell, no room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 656Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is of very low quality, from the minute we arrived, we had to wait 10 minutes just for a receptionist to arrive to check us in, NO ONE was at the front desk, keeping us waiting, horrible after a long day and drive. The rooms here had issues as they have doors in the back with adjoining rooms, so noise possibilities, there was no microwave nor refrigerator, no lotion, the heater smelled bad, the internet did not work and let you go to some websites, the staff was not really friendly and made you wait, they didn't really seemed to care. The breakfast was not good, few choices and the waffles tasted horrible. The coffee was like water, so weak. There were no hot items for breakfast like eggs, it really is not a good hotel, more expensive than the one down the road heading north, which we stay at first before going to San Antonio, we canceled that reservation thinking that La Quinta would be better and it wasn't, I'll stay at the orange roof the next time again, the other hotel had an elevator, microwave, or refrigerator, better breakfast items, etc, and they were only $49. A bigger savings. All rooms have an attached adjoining room, so potential for a lot of extra noise in your room. I will never stay at this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Insist on these things, They need to: Remodel Have an elevator Improve wait times and staff attit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is of very low quality, from the minute we arrived, we had to wait 10 minutes just for a receptionist to arrive to check us in, NO ONE was at the front desk, keeping us waiting, horrible after a long day and drive. The rooms here had issues as they have doors int he back with adjoining rooms, so noise possibilities, there was no microwave or refrigerator, no lotion, the heater smelled bad, the internet did not work and let you go to some websites, the staff was not really friendly and made you wait, they didn't really seemed to care. The breakfast was not good, few choices and the waffles tasted horrible. The coffee was like water, so weak. There were no hot items for breakfast like eggs, it really is not a good hotel, more expensive than the one down the road heading north, which we stay at first before going to San Antonio, we canceled that reservation thinking that La Quinta would be better and it wasn't, I'll stay at the orange roof the next time, they had an elevator, microwave, refrigerator, better breakfast items, etc, and they were only $49. A bigger savings. I will never stay at this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone. They need to: Remodel Have an elevator Improve wait times and staff attitude have microwave and refrigerator in the room give lotions and more soap, etc. Get rid of adjoining rooms doors to minimize noise Get rid of orange tacky shower curtain Improve overall image so hotel looks nicer and more professional This hotel is one of the worst I have stayed it should be only about $40 a night-we stayed in another hotel we we first arrive 4-5 hotels north of this one on the other side of the street we only paid $49 and it had so much more, refrigerators and microwaves are a must in rooms. Improve your internet so it is not selective and guest can go to any website they want to. They need to do a lot here, likely change the owner or management to make real change for guests. A sad stay for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The sink was malfunctioning, it was draining poorly, then the valve to stop the water from draining malfunctioned and would not drain. The room also did not have a refrigerator to keep medicine and child food cool during the our visit. The location is also not the safest. But the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Everything about this hotel is poor! Not so clean, its smells old, it looks old, and if you are looking for comfort after a long drive, the beds sucks!! This hotel needs some major upgrades. Front desk service was only one person and the phones kept going off of people complaining what they didn't have in their room. I don't think I'll be going back ever!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Staff very courteous but accommodations old, musky and in disrepair. Little or no noise insulation in walls, so you won't sleep unless you are a very heavy sleeper. It's not an expensive hotel, but even at the price you won't get your money's worth since you won't sleep. Location is good, but the cons far outweigh the pros.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQGS, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi John, We've read your comments about your recent stay at our La Quinta Inn Austin South / I-35. We're sorry you did not have a positive experience with us. This issues you've mentioned regarding the odor and disrepair are concerning to us and we'll share your feedback with our Maintenance team so they can address those concerns. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we're hoping on your next trip you'll once again choose La Quinta Inns & Suites for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Courtyard Austin South
#112 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
Address: 4200 I-35 South, Austin, TX 78745-1202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin i-35 s. Ben White Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing