We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel stay yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf
Ranked #165 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 3 June 2014

i booked a 7 day stay at this hotel as my husband had a week long convention in austin. noticed from the first day that everything was dirty. the stairwell by the office, at the back of the building and just by my room all smelt like dog & human pee.
only 2 people of all the staff i have met have been warm, all others are cold and unwelcoming.
The rooms offer nothing, but the very basic soap, towel tissue. breakfast is really bland. Room service is very poor, they wont wash the bathroom except you ask and i found mould obviously on the shower curtains, fridge and in the toilet seat.
Breakfast was swooped off the stand on the second day without notice to the diners. (breakfast is 7-9 on weekdays) no one would probably tell you this.
the pool? run from it!!!
The only good thing would be the free wifi which is not limited to number of devices. looking for better options in the same price range.

recommendations anyone?

Room Tip: Pick the rooms closer to the office and with balcony, the fresh air would help. Check bathroom, toil...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzsprings123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

When I arrived the first room I was assigned was dirty. Linen used by the previous occupant was still on the beds. Left over food was in the chest of draws. The bathroom looked as if it had not been cleaned in awhile. The toilet bowl needed a bad scrubbing. I was given a second room that was cleaned and assigned to us but the desk clerk forgot change it in the computer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Hector T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I spend a lot of time in LaQuinta Inns. Recommend use select another one if you are in Austin.

It is old and tired.
Amenities are one small shampoo bottle and two bars of soap. No conditioner, no lotion, no writing pad, no pen, no nothing.
Only half the channels on the TV work.
Breakfast was minimal. One waffle machine and selection was smallest I have ever seen at a LaQuinta. Counting 2 small tables in the adjacent lobby, total of 6 tables in the breakfast room for 133 rooms! We paid for breakfast elsewhere rather than eat here.
Shower stopper doesn't work and ceiling above shower starting to collapse.
There are major opportunities for renovation throughout the property

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had booked this hotel due to interior rooms were described but when I checked in; the doors all opened to the outside. This hotel is in a less than desirable location in Austin but 8 miles from my office. When I said that I wouldn't be staying because I chose interior rooms the desk clerk offered me the executive interior rooms in an adjacent building instead of my canceling my room. This was very nice of her but then the keys didn't work so had to make a trip to rekey 4 different times during my 2 day stay. The hotel is old, fridge in room didn't even get cold on the coldest setting, the hallway in the building was stifling, found bugs on the pillow, hair on the counter, the shelving that held the MW and fridge were dirty. Breakfast on the third morning was out by 715 a.m. and no restock. I love LaQuinta the brand I have always had a good experience but this was not the case this time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank cynthiaah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Security door did not lock. Hallways and elevator were nasty. Room was dirty. Towels and sheets filthy. Avoid this hotel. I didn't even want to check the breakfast. Lucky it was a short stay. Shower Curtain had grime all over it. Did I say this place was dirty? yuuuuck

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

older unit needs new paint all plumbing fixtures,new carpet and wall plugs average stay but close to down so it was good for a business,staff was average no stand outs as for personal goes traffic sucked on hi-way 35

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank GARY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My room was filthy. Floor had debris, trash, stains. I was afraid to walk barefoot on the floor. Bathroom, filthy. Sheets--had some kind of goop on them, not to mention the stains all over them. I didn't have a bar of soap in the room, so I went to get supplies, while waiting for my turn at the overwhelmed desk, I checked out the breakfast area--still food leftover in the wafflemaker, on the counters, etc--Not clean at all and this was 11pm at night!! The panhandlers coming onto the property and begging for money while I was loading my car in the morning were a real bonus for an already crappy night. Never stay here!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Wyndham Garden Austin
#52 of 202 in Austin
1,555 reviews
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf

Address: 1603 E Oltorf St, Austin, TX 78741-3814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £54 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin
La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing