We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Great beds, comfortable, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #99 of 202 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Great beds, comfortable, great breakfast”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed there four nights for a business meeting in Austin and they did a great job. Rooms were very nice. I had such good sleep while I was there, which is unusual for me when I travel. I have to credit the very nice beds and bedding and pillows...very comfortable. Since I was there with a group, we had the breakfast buffet included with our stay - and it was wonderful. My only concerns were that there was a concert playing down the street from the hotel and it was so loud I could hear it in my room. It sounded like it was on the property, but I later discovered it was several blocks away. The other concern I had was that there was nothing in either the cardio gym or the weight room to wipe down the equipment with. That did not seem very sanitary. There was also a shooting right outside the hotel entrance the morning I got there which was all over the news, which made me rather nervous.

I appreciated the extras the hotel offers like the "loofa" sponge in the bathroom. Nice touch.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room high up away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 103lisas103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant view the first day you came to visit us but are very happy that you were able to enjoy our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds! We are also happy that you had the chance to experience the Landmark breakfast buffet! Please let us know the next time you come back to the hotel so that we may provide you with earplugs and a sound machine to help you sleep. We will follow up about your other concerns as well. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
The Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    306
    258
    108
    62
See reviews for
114
191
56
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location if you driving in just off the 35 north. The hotel has a spacious reception where the bar is located as well, a pleasant area to sit and relax of an evening. Checkin was prompt and efficient and a friendly smile greets the guest as they approach.
Rooms are comfortable with a great bed, tea and coffee facilities are on hand as well as an ironing board and iron to sort out those last minute clothes.
The pool area is fairly small and the sun doesn't seem to reach it till about 11am, there is a fitness centre close by.
Breakfast is served as a buffet or A la carte. The buffet is well stocked with hot or cold choices and is a reasonable price of $16.
The hotel is on the edge of the city so it's a short walk to the bars and restaurants on 6th or south congress, but other than that a nice place to stay whether on business or for just a night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Austin as your home away from home. We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to experience all of the facilities that we have to offer. We will look into the concerns that you had and we really appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards,

The Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent 5 hours trying to get a roll away. Numerous calls to guest services, promises someone would call us back which of course never happened. Finally got angry and they admitted that had none and had known it before we ever checked in. We would have stayed somewhere else. We are in our 60's and 3 to a bed simply doesn't work. they should have purchased some inflatable beds. Turns out they knew about this at 1:30 in the afternoon, we checked in at 4:00,and wouldn't admit it until 9:00 at night. Dishonest and cowardly we will not stay at a Sheraton again.
Long black hairs in the bathtub Yuch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent hotel stay. We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you felt we were not hospitable. At the Sheraton Austin we pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service to all our guests, and we again apologize that you did not experience this while you were with us. We hope that you will return to our property soon to enjoy a relaxing time at our hotel and allow us a second chance to improve your impression. Thank you again for communicating your concerns with us.

Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

There for a conference with the spouse, nice hotel clean and comfortable.
Staff was great,especially the valet guys. Battery died and they help out to get me up and running so I could get one. Really helpful!
Close to the capital and other sights

Room Tip: I would ask for a downtown view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank machandler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stay at this hotel on a weekly basis. The common areas are clean, the gym has plenty of equipment, and the club room has good breakfast/appetizers. The rooms are very outdated and in need of repair. It is not uncommon to have dressers or cabinets with chips or cracks in them. The water in the showers has a horrid seaweed smell and the toilets make odd sound in the middle of the night - the pluming has obvious issues. The rates are good and they are accommodating to regular travelers, but they are definitely ready for a renovation.

Room Tip: Avoid poor #4 as it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasau76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We are happy to hear that the fitness center powered by Core Performance and the Sheraton Club Lounge exceeded your expectations! We do apologize that you did not feel that the quality of our rooms did not meet your expectations. We will have the engineering team follow up on the plumbing issue. Our staff tries to ensure that every guest leaves the property 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again and improve your impression of our hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I travel to Austin almost every week and this is my favorite hotel I've stayed at yet! The staff is always friendly and I love going up to the lounge at night. The guy who works the night shift, Kaleo, always has a smile on his face and always has dessert sitting out for you. Kaleo is one of the best parts of this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the capital or downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very nice room. Free 16 oz. water but be sure to read the tag on the water bottle the 32 oz. was $3.50. Free Starbucks in the room too. The cream & sugar packet was old, sugar was hard. For making a Green Choice not to have housekeeping you can get a $5.00 food & beverage voucher or 500 SPG Starpoints at check out. Which is a nice perk.

Green Features: Love the Green Choice perks. By not having housekeeping everyday you can receive a $5.00 food & beverage voucher or 500 SPG Starpoints.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vahat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Property: Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin At The Capitol Texas
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing