We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #102 of 201 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have stayed here 3x. The hotel always seems dirty. It feels a bit worn and dated in need of paint and cleaning.

Front deck staff is very nice.
Bar service was not good. Waited and waited and waited for a bartender who decided to walk away when I approached.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank dawatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dawatson,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and again. We really appreciate the loyalty you have shown our property. I am glad that your encounters with the front desk staff were positive, we really feel they are the best in town. I will make sure to share your experience at the lobby bar with our food and beverage manager. I know that is not typical of their service and she will act quickly to ensure it does not happen again. We are approaching some exciting improvements to the property that should significantly improve our product. I hope that you will give us another try in your coming travels to Austin.

Best Regards

Scott L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel during one night of a Bachelorette party. The staff was great to help us to our room when we arrived and were all very friendly. Our room however was not up to par. It was humid and hot, smelled a little stale, and the shower didn't drain. Definitely did not meet my expectations for the price. Needs some updating. Likely won't be staying here again.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Marge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Marge F

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful during your celebration in Austin. We work hard to make sure our staff provides great service to all of our guests. I am sorry to hear about the maintenance issues with your guest room. I will make sure to share your comments with our housekeeping and engineering teams. Hopefully you will give us another chance at hosting your important life moments.

All the best,
SAUGuestRelations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our 2nd time staying here and we like it because of the location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great, near the Capitol, 6th St and restaurants. The breakfast is good: coffee, cereals, yogurt, OJ, and the view from the breakfast area is very nice. We didn't used the pool.
My only complaint will be that you can hear EVERYTHING that happens in the other rooms and in the hallway. We woke up in the middle of the night because two women were arguing in the hallway, and they were very loud, until the person from the room next to ours open the door and asked them to take it inside, the women stopped arguing and went to their room. I understand it is not the hotel's fault if people start to argue, but you can hear everything: footsteps, voices, your "neighbor" TV. We are kind of heavy sleepers so the noise doesn't bother us that much, it was just the 2 women were very, very loud. And this happened just this time, because the first time we stayed here nothing like that happened, I mean, what are the odds? I would recommend this hotel, just warn people about the noise thing if you are a light sleeper. You can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkashbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a wonderful hotel. It had such a pleasant smell inside the lobby and hallways, almost like a baby powder type scent. It just smelled incredibly clean, it was spotless, the staff was super pleasant, the food was really delicious and the bed was very comfy. The location was perfect for us as it was just a short walk to 6th street and less than 2 miles from all the shops and restaurants on Congress. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in downtown Austin.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get a corner room. The bathroom area is much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I read several bad reviews after I booked a room for 2 nights! Really worried about all the way to Austin. We arrived and were greeted by the valet immediately! We checked in at the front desk by very friendly staff. I asked for advice where to eat and their advice was fantastic. The room was nice, clean and updated. The thermostat was working perfectly and the A/C cooled great! I only had one thing that was less than fantastic about the hotel and that was the $20 charge per night for parking. It was $30 per night with valet! Otherwise great place to get away!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor and it was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff workers Shauna and Mariam were extremely helpful and understanding. They were wonderful to us and I really appreciated their kindness. The pool and exercise room is clean and we'll kept. Very clean hotel and pleasant staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Swaller387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This Capitol Sheraton hotel is fantastic we liked everything about this place from the minute we arrived. The property itself is clean, conveniently located and reasonable. President Obama stayed here so you know it must be great.
The staff makes this hotel priceless. Matt and Sandy took good care of our family after a long night of traveling. Making sure our needs were met over and above expectations. Seth, Ryan, Phillip and Michael were charming southern gentlemen who's knowledge of the city was reassuring and helpful for us tourist. Making fabulous suggestions and keeping us entertained throughout our stay. The entire team worked together with ease and it's apparent.
Our family travels often and we would return to this city just to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank havingfunBrigantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.1 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £126 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin At The Capitol Texas
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing