We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #40 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I regularly stay at the Omni when traveling to Austin for work. (Their loyalty program is one of the best in the business.)

Checking in is always super easy, staff are friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are large and clean. I've never had a problem staying here. Location is perfect, just a few blocks from 6th street restaurants and bars.

Particularly if you travel to this hotel a lot, the staff makes an effort to get to know you and greet you by name. I always appreciate the little touches like the free coffee delivered to your room in the morning, and it's these things that keep me coming back to the Omni every time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,584 - 2,590 of 2,982 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed here the night of my bachelorette party and we were very pleased with our room. It was comfy, clean and had a nice view. The manager bought us a round of drinks before he headed out for the night. This is a great place to stay for the price and location. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kw12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

On my recent trip to Austin, we decided to try the Omni when the government rate was not available at another hotel we had been staying at. Regardless of what other review say, this Omni is outstanding.

Starting at the front door, the staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone was willing to answer questions and provide guidance. Being a member of Omni Select Guest, check-in was a breeze and I was off to my room in no time. This hotel has 18 or 19 floors, but currently the top 4 (I think) are under renovation. You are warned at check-in that noise may occur between 7 am and 7 pm. If they were doing work, however, that would have been news to me, as I did not hear anything during my stay, and I was on the 13th floor.

The room was clean and comfortable. The bath towels were large, which does not seem to be a regular thing for hotels anymore. If I had a complaint, it would be the light in the bathroom. It was very dark in the shower, so dark in fact that you could almost not see. Additional light in the bathroom (or at least in the shower) might be helpful next time the hotel is renovated.

The hotel has a great fitness facility on the first floor, with four treadmills, four ellipticals, three bikes, and a host of weight lifting equipment. Both mornings I was there it was in use, but never so crowded that equipment was not available.

Finally, the hotel restaurant has a nice spread for breakfast. Currently, the cold continental breakfast is $11 and has cereal, breads, bruits, yogurt, etc... and the hot breakfast is $16 and adds oatmeal, eggs, bacon, potatoes, and an omelet station.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you very much for the kind words regarding your stay here. We strive to provide the best guest experience in Austin, and it sounds like we hit the nail on the head for your time with us. We appreciate your loyalty to Omni Hotels and look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

It is nice to know that companies still value customer service and have consistent standards. I travel to Austin frequently for work and will not stay at any other hotel. The thought of taking my business elsewhere makes me cringe. Allison and the staff at the Omni downtown treat you like family. I am consistently welcomed by all staff members. My room is always immaculate and the staff is always willing to go the extra mile to see that my needs are met. The hotel has a great location close to 6th street, the trails, the Capitol you name it. When the weather warms up the rooftop pool is awesome. My favorite place to hang when i have down time. I look forward to seeing the newly renovated rooms. If you don't feel like going out the Omni has great room service and a great bar downstairs in the lobby. I ordered room service on my stay last week and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was kind enough to suggest additional items that i might like with my order which i did end up ordering and I am so glad i did.... the chocolate mousse cake was too die for. I can't wait to come back too stay again. Kudos again to Allison and her staff. Keep up the good work! You all make me happy that I picked the Omni.

Room Tip: I prefer the high floors some people complain about 6th street noise but i can't stay that it re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadTravelerMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I loved my stay here! Everyone on the staff was well-trained and helpful; the concierge scheduled a masseuse to be in my room within a half-hour of my asking. It is close to everything downtown. I stayed in one of their club rooms and the evening appetizers and morning breakfast were both delicious! There was a little trouble with noise from construction when we first arrived, but when we complained, they discounted our room and provided us with sleep kits! I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natali Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Bright, light, cheerful, & friendly. Had a room facing atrium & no noise at all. Location quite central. Great room. No complaints. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is my 3rd time at this hotel and I love it ! Great location to 6th st in downtown Austin; walking distance to state Capitol too; their bar in the hotel is great too ! The beds are comfy,rooms clean and very nice! Ate at Sullivans Steakhouse on Colorado st which was fantastic !!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kataTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 204 in Austin
2,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 204 in Austin
2,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 204 in Austin
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £136 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing