We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotel experiences we ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #40 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
1 review
“One of the best hotel experiences we ever had”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel was fabulous. One of the wonderful things, the proximity to the vibrant 6th Street scene, also meant that you could hear it once in a while at night. That being said, we would stay there again in a heartbeat. Best staff ever. The restaurant (Anchos) has an excellent breakfast/brunch.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank flsabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    736
    310
    175
    116
See reviews for
367
651
120
1,061
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,443 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 715 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Again a very positive Omni hotel review, perhaps biased by a superb freebee one bedroom suite over the weekend thanks to the generous Select Guest frequent sleeper program. Only remark would perhaps be that despite a large bathroom, there was only a shower, not a bath in the suite. No big deal.

Pleasant and personable service, e.g. at check-in.

The Omni Austin downtown has a superb central location, steps away from Sixth Street nightlife, Congress avenue, the State Capitol and even the famed food trucks and trailers on seventh and eightth street.

The building has interesting architecture dominated by a very spacious and tall atrium which you can oversee from the elevator windows.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great location, friendly service, clean/nice/roomy rooms. We were here for a business trip, and because of the location were able to explore downtown Austin and do business. All the food served at the meeting was excellent and the team of servers did everything perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isabel, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location was perfect as it was within walking distance of many great restaurants and attractions. The hotel was amazing. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was in Austin for business. The Omni Hotel is very good. I like my room, the quality of the food. I am allergy and I was happy to see gluten free products at the breakfast ... the staff is friendly...5stars!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anne Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had not been to Omni in many years but my experience was even better than I remember from past visits. The personal attention is great and the staff are always smiling and friendly. The Select Guest perks make the visit feel like home. I had breakfast in the club lounge each morning and went to the lounge again in the evenings and the gentlemen that worked in the lounge were conversational with and attentive to the guests. I can't wait for my next visit to the Omni.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Location, location, location. If you want to experience Sixth Street and be within a block, this is the hotel for you. Underground self parking is available for $18/night. Had brunch on Sunday at Ancho's inside the hotel. It was typical brunch food, omelette bar, taco bar, eggs (which were cold), meats, potatoes, assorted fruits & pastries, all for $40/pp. I can't eat $40 of food so not sure how good a deal the brunch was but you could order off menu if you prefer. The only bad thing worth mentioning was the walls were really thin and I could hear the female neighbor next door enjoying "romantic" moments with her partner! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardydesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing