We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service near convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #40 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service near convention center”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I checked in at the Omnibus for a convention. It isn't attached to the convention center but it was still close. Approximately 6 blocks away. Clean rooms and beautiful lobby impressed me. The most impressive part of the hotel is the service. Everyone wants to help. Actually asks you if you need help. I would stay here in a heartbeat again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullsfan0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    736
    310
    175
    116
See reviews for
367
651
120
1,061
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed two nights at the Omni Austin in November, 2013. I had a large executive one-bedroom suite with a queen bed at the end of a corridor. The room was quiet with regard to corridor and adjacent room noises. The bath was large and had a glass-walled shower. This is a good 4-star hotel. The downtown location at 8th and San Jacinto was convenient for my purposes.

There was no desk, but the main room had a conference table seating 6 that was a substitute for a desk and provided a large surface to lay out papers, etc. There was a relatively small TV in each room. Lighting was good.

The major problem with this hotel from my standpoint arises from its design. The ground floor is at the bottom of a very large glass atrium that apparently is hard to heat in cold weather. The atrium was always cold, so cold that I had to wear a sweatshirt and outside coat to stay moderately warm while having dinner. I don't know if this problem can be corrected.

A less important flaw was the huge size of portions served at dinner. These always were far beyond what I wanted and I found them irritating. This extends to all courses. Portions of about 25-30% of those served would have been appropriate.

A final caution is that I could hear muffled music noises until 2 am on Saturday night. These were not loud enough to interfere with my sleep. I don't know whether the noise came from the hotel or from another source. When it stopped at 2 am it was followed by street shouting and horn honking that lasted until about 3 am. This also was muffled, but not as much so as the music.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We appreciate your time in posting the positive and constructive remarks from your recent stay as we do depend upon guest feedback to reinforce our activities if we are on the right track and to put us back on that track, should we go astray. In regards to building design, we attempt to warm the atrium area during cold winter months but due to the numerous entry points of the building, it can be a challenge to insulate the heat in that vicinity. Thank you again for your patronage and input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Really like the quiet policy after 10:30 p.m. Very convenient downtown location. We were given a map with locations of eating places in the near downtown area. Very helpful. All the staff members were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We're pleased to hear you had a quiet and comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Excellent location in downtown Austin Texas , friendly and environment with a walking distance to 6th East street. Very nice place and clean rooms. The staff are extremely helpful and very delightful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Fawaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My experience was overall plesant with just a few minor irritations that I did not bother to address with the staff (I'm sure they would've been addressed immediately). I didn't have the opportunity to enjoy all of the amenities, but the location alone was fantastic! I loved having the ability to walk out and be in the center of the city where everything is happening. Very clean, staff was very nice, restaurant was great, but selection was somewhat limited in my opinion. Loved room service! In room movies were somewhat overpriced...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings park ny, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Omni hotels fell far short of my expectations. poor service, overpriced, bad WIFI, and management is not accessible to deal with guest issues. Stay at the Driskoll when in Austin. The temperature controls in the room couldnt be adjusted properly and the WiFi doesnt work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for your comment. We welcome all feedback and wish I could be more specific regarding the service you received. It appears you may have been here during Formula one. We had unusually heavy WIFI traffic during certain times of the day especailly early morning and following the race practices. It appeard that many people were accessing the system at the same time each day. We do not normally have these issues during normal business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have stayed at this hotel in last summer and found it to always be very enjoyable; great staff, clean rooms, very comfortable beds and the fact that it is within the Domain development makes a variety of restaurants, bars and shopping a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenaabrat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing