We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #40 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great friendly staff, great location, comfortable rooms, Felt welcome from time I walked in to time I left , staff really seemed to enjoy their job. very clean hotel, rooms were nice and clean and quiet. No hall way noise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank kevinAmarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,031 - 2,037 of 2,955 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Location was great. Easy walk to great Ausin attractions and restaurants.

Comfortable room and beautiful bed coupled with some very special service.

Breakfasts were very good although they could use some new toasters, current toasters were seriously dodgey!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review. Our Director of Food & Beverage has purchased new toasters. We appreciate your feedback and hope you have the opportunity to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for SXSW last year and will be my first choice anytime in Austin. Service, property, and dining are all excellent. It's a 10 minute walk from SXSW conference, but well worth it. Slightly quieter than the bustle of the Hilton, and that's a very welcome thing if you're in town for any sort of business conference. Guest rooms are lovely, staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed & reviewed this hotel almost a year ago. Sad to say it is just as bad now as it was then. Rooms are ok but the service is awful. They even comped one night but I am going to check out and move to another hotel for my next 2 nights.
Sorry Omni but you need management changes all the way to the top.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We are always happy to have reviews of our hotel. Some posters, however, post negative reviews of everyone they review. We feel our service is outstanding and have many loyal guests who love the property and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great last minute stay in Austin. We were happy to find a vacancy at the Omni to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary on New Year's Eve. We hadn't stayed at Austin Omni forever. For years, we have been Gold/ Platinum Passport members of Hyatt. Endless construction and diminishing value at this facility led us to look elsewhere. Omni Austin is centrally-located with easy access to all of downtown Austin. Hotel is well-maintained with an extremely friendly and efficient staff. Room was clean, quiet and a good value for the money. Cannot mention any negatives regarding our stay. Will go back soon and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is heading to Austin for either business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our family needed to stay near the Austin Convention Center, and we got a discount on a block of rooms at the Omni. Our room was fairly small, but clean and comfortable, with a good-sized bathroom, 2 beds, and extras including a minibar, a safe, and a hair dryer, but no minifridge, microwave or complimentary breakfast. Sound really carries here, and even on an upper level it was pretty noisy with a party in the lobby, people coming and going at 3 a.m., the guy snoring in the next room...maybe it's not usually so loud. Overall, though, it was an easy walk to many restaurants, the staff was friendly, the hotel was attractive, check-in was fast, the exercise room was great, and our kids liked the heated shallow pool and the glass elevators. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We appreciate the feedback from your recent visit. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort as a result of the event in our Atrium. We do hope to see you and your family again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel was very nice outside the room.The bathroom wear i do my best thinking was very poor with the fan not working and the unwanted quest the roach.I did take the roach to the front desk and leave it with the manager who said she would present it to house keeping little good that does me.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We appreciate your comments from your recent stay. We're very sorry to hear about the pest in your guestroom and thank you for reporting the issue as it certainly does not reflect the typical experience of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#12 of 203 in Austin
2,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 203 in Austin
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £135 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing