We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #42 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, United States
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Won a free night stay at this hotel. Even with a free room, we were given a great room with a view of the city. The room was very comfortable and it was easy to visit the different locations in downtown Austin. I would definitely visit again. While we did not try the restaurant or bar, they looked like comfortable environments and I would use them the next time. I liked having a variety of shops in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    756
    319
    183
    123
See reviews for
387
675
123
1,098
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We've stayed here multiple times and enjoy the convenience to all the local spots. We love the roof-top pool- what a view of downtown. The fitness facility is always clean and stocked with fresh towels, earphones, cold water. Great team of valet and bell hops- first rate!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberry, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Oh my!! Great hotel. The manager, Ryan, was incredibly personal and kind. We ran into a weather-related problem traveling Sunday, January 6th, and he was so polite, and helped us with our bill. I wish there were more Ryans in the world!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardyFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Went to Austin for few days in Dec. with family for a quick 3 days out of town. Hotel has a great location, nearby 6th Street and now too far from the Congress Ave Bridge. It was very cold, so walking around at nite was kind of unpleasant. Also this hotel is at the Eastern Fringe of the 6th Street area. If you have an Eastern View from your room, you can see Stubbs BBQ and the nearby Salvation Rescue Mission for the homeless. So when walking around at night, best to keep to the West and South of the Hotel.

Check in was OK, got our room, which was a King Suite. Very good sleeper sofa, which we had to call downstairs to make up each nite. They were very quick about it. King size bed in bedroom was ok, kind of soft in the middle. Bathroom was very spacious and well appointed with shower, no tub. Two sinks and plenty of mirrors and a closet were in the bathroom. No issues with plumbing or water pressure.

Front room was also well appointed with refrigerator, sink and coffee maker. Also a separate minibar. Front room and bedroom had flat screen TV. They do not have a waste paper receptacle in the front room, which I thought was kind of odd.

As for the hotel itself, it is part of a business complex, so if you have a room with a western exposure, you are facing a multistory lobby and office windows. A little noisy, they give you ear plugs for the noise that can drift up to the 18th floor from 6th Street on Saturday nite. We were not there on a Sat. nite, and did not need the ear plugs. Black out curtains were needed in the morning. Did not use the gym. Concierge was only moderately helpful.

There is not much in the way of dining amenities in the hotel and the only place to get a cup of coffee after hours was in the bar. Also no rental car facility in the hotel, have to walk about 5 blocks to get to local Avis. Overnite parking is $20 in a very small and cramped garage, which is shared with the business side of the building. By the way, if you need a car, Zip Cars are available nearby if you need a car for a few hours.

Austin was fun, great BBQ, lots of night clubs and bars. Also enjoyed Texas State Museum and South Congress Street. Did not get to explore the Warehouse District, but did get to sample some of the food trucks. But it can get very cold at nite in Dec., especially with the wind blowing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed for six nights at this hotel in Austin, and while I wasn't blown away, I thought it was as solid of a stay as one could expect. The hotel is undergoing some renovations and the rooms were a bit tired, but the staff was exceptional and the location was very good as well. I would have no hesitation about returning to this hotel if I came back to Austin.

Positives:
- Seemed like the best value to me - I did a lot of research, and received a great government rate, but even at non-government rates, it was competitive with "lesser" hotels in what is a pretty expensive town. I saw refundable "leisure rates" of around $143 per night.
- The Select Guest program (which is obviously not exclusive to this hotel) offers good perks - morning beverages delivered to your door, pressing and shoe shine, free internet, and the like.
- The room was a nice size (good size bathroom as well), nicely appointed and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. There were numerous outlets, an adequate workspace, and plenty of natural light (big windows overlooking the atrium, in my case).
- Had a nice size restaurant and bar on site, although I did not try them. It seemed pleasant and always had some activity. The hotel is part of an office complex, which also includes a small gift/convenience shop, a bank/ATM, and some others that I did not check out.
- Though I did not have the opportunity to use it due to the weather, there is a rooftop pool with nice views of Austin off of the side.
- The staff was lovely and responsive to all of my needs and questions, at both the front desk and concierge desk. The Select Guest manager, Ben, contacted me before my stay and was responsive to emails as well. I've stayed at hotels where I have had the opportunity to be friendlier/more social with staff due to the setup or usage of hotel facilities, but I've never experienced a more competent and attentive staff. They helped put it over the top for me.

Negatives:
- The room was not exceptional, and there was limited drawer space. It was manageable for me for a one-person, six-day stay, but a couple or family might struggle.
- For a luxury hotel, the TV was pretty small (32") and had limited HD service - the broadcast networks and a few major cable stations (e.g. - ESPN was the only sports channel in HD despite the hotel getting FS1, NBC Sports, etc.)
- Parking may be a bit pricey - I didn't rent a car, but I believe it was $20 for self-parking or $26 for valet
- Rooms overlooking the atrium may be noisy - there was a reception while I was at the hotel that used the lobby/restaurant/bar area for part of the time, and I could hear noise consistently throughout the time that I was in my room.

This is a good hotel, by any measure - if I could get the same rate, I would certainly return with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor to avoid street or atrium noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We appreciate you taking time to post such a detailed review of your recent stay. We're happy to hear your experience was comfortable and we do thank you for the constructive feedback you provided. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Omni is "eh"...nothing fantastic but not terrible. The reason to stay here is because of the location. You're one block off 6th street where all the action is. The only other hotel I saw right in the heart of the action was the Driskell. The people at the front desk were really nice and the rooms were clean, which is #1 in my book. I guess I give it an "eh" because it's not going to blow you away but it does the trick if you're coming to Austin to hang out on 6th and downtown, and you just need a place to sleep. I didn't try the food or go to the bar (no need to when you have amazing BBQ & sushi around the corner and $2 drinks on 6th). My biggest issue with the rooms is how incredibly loud the doors are. The doors slam in the hallway and it's quite loud when people go in/out. Also, every time the person in the next room over turned on their shower, there was this loud, jarring screech in our bathroom. I mean, it jarred us out of bed and only lasted like 5 seconds but for "sophisticated luxury" that shouldn't be happening in any room. My last comment is that they might want to get rid of the clothe shower curtains because they have a musty smell. Anyway, I'd stay here for the location but for $250 a night, I might try to stay in a slightly newer hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Fantastic stay at Omni in Austin. Great location, great service and great food. From arrival to departure the staff catered to all our needs and requests. They had a lovely holiday decoration in the lobby along with apple cider to sip on. It's the little touches that make the difference. A definite must to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing