We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #36 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Omni hotel was great for a weekend trip in Downtown Austin. Within walking distance to sixth street, and the rooms were great. Big best, nice shower, etc. Sign up for the Omni guest program to get free wi-fi. The rooftop pool was pretty, but kind of small. Also, parking is $20/day at the hotel but you can park across the street for $5/day if it's on a weekend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    725
    300
    166
    105
See reviews for
359
642
117
1,031
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ABILENE, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the staff extremely courteous and always go out of their way to make you feel welcome! Have been staying here for 9 years and would not go anywhere else. The restaurants are great and have a great lobby bar. Great workout facilities. Close to Austin lake if you prefer jogging outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your continued patronage. We're pleased to hear our hotel is your home away from home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

overall the hotel is very good and the service is friendly and prompt. Car parking is available at the hotel but the instructions for parking charges were not very clear. hotel guest should get a discount for overnight parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ricky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May Court House, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

spent 3 nights at the Omni 2 weeks ago. LOVED IT! the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. Our room was cleaned daily but our housekeeper went above and beyond. She/he would organize our makeup, toiletries and shoes that were all over the place. the bathroom was always spotless. It's just 2 blocks from 6th street bars and very accessible to other parts of Austin. The next time we visit Austin, we are definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My family and I have stayed here twice. The first time was a year ago and it was a much nicer room. It was bigger and on a higher floor.

However, both stays have been good. Hotel staff are all wonderful. Gym is spacious and full of equipment.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the interior of the hotel, some have views of the city. You want a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marfa, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The downtown Onmi Hotel in Austin TX is a wonderful hotel for those traveling to Austin for business downtown or near the state capitol (can't really get any closer nor find a better hotel). Several good restaurants are within 1-2 blocks walking distance, as is the infamous 6th St that the city is known for if you are looking for live music or people watching. There also is a nice shopping district one street over and the university is fairly close without being too close.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Quint T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Room was nice and a very good value. Hotel staff from valet, bell staff and front desk were all very good. Complimentary hot beverage in the mornings was a nice touch. They were quick to retreive an article left in the room after checkout and held it for pick up later that day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing