We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The location and the looks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #37 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The location and the looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Come here almost every time I am in Austin. The hotel is gorgeous with a short walk to 6th St. The staff always provides us with a minifridge and they give generous military discounts. You can usually find us at the bar in bath robes drinking a nice scotch on a Sunday morning after an awesome weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor_Hiclet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    710
    292
    161
    103
See reviews for
352
633
117
1,006
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

You really can't beat the location of the Omni in downtown Austin. It is walking distance from just about anything and a good place to base your operations whether they be business or pleasure. The hotel seems to be sort of a party hotel that is trying to still appeal to everyone. When arriving on Saturday, the valet gave excellent prompt service. The bellman seemed to be in another world and was not too talkative. Many of the other guests arriving seemed to be coming to party on sixth street as they were bringing coolers, beer, liquor, etc. The hotel lobby is impressive and a nice place to sit. The elevators, though offering a nice view, also offer a long wait. On Sunday checking out, the wait for an elevator was unbearable and I finally took the stairs from the 6th floor. I did at one point see the concierge in the elevator. There was some trash on the floor of the elevator, which he just ignored and left there (left a poor impression on me). The rooms are average. I had no problems, but there was really nothing that wowed me. The pool area on the roof is fantastic. There is a nice bar there, and the scenery on the roof and from the roof are both very nice. To make this hotel go from good to great, I would smarten up the staff uniforms so they fit and give them a little extra training

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptconner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We appreciate your patronage and thank you for posting your review. We're sorry to hear of the shortcomings in service involving our Bellstaff. Please know your experience certainly not represent our customary level of service. We hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My first time to stay at the Omni Hotel in Austin and I couldn't have been more pleased with the service and location of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again. Just 2 blocks from 6th street which was a lot of fun. The Concierge was very helpful. We weren't sure where to eat and things to do. We received a map within walking distance from the hotel to various restaurants, etc. We ate at Iron Cactus one night on their upstairs patio so we could view 6th street while dining. I recommend it. The food was very good and the view was fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni Austin Hotel Downtown. We're pleased to hear your visit was a pleasant one and we appreciate your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Me, my wife, and son were in town for a wedding. We were looking for a suite so that it wasn't lights out for everyone when 8:00pm came around (my son's bedtime). The room was spacious and totally worth the extra money so that we could have our own space at night. The room was clean and spacious. The service was top notch and everyone was very accommodating. I like the location of the hotel but would definitely recommend anyone to stay on the atrium side due to the constant sound of sirens on 6th street. Overall my experience was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was a graet location for staying in Austin. This was a family vavction and The Omni was excatly what we wanted. We loved having the pool for relaxing or having a drink or for lunch. The staff was helpful and very friendly. My daughtters had a problem in their room and management took care of it very promptly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the challenges you encountered were resolved in a satisfactory manner. We hope you have the opportunity to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very nice hotel. The stay was very good. I went for a business trip and it was great for that. The location is good. A lot of places to eat in close proximity to the hotel. (Walking distance) Only drawback is if you're looking for a pool. This hotel has a very small pool. (not ideal for a family with tweeners).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Omni is centrally located in downtown Austin. The staff is attentive, friendly and very good at their jobs. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Concierge gave us many great ideas for restaurants and things to do. The hotel Restaurant food was excellent and the servers were amazing. I would highly recommend the Omni!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank WAtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing