We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austin stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel during an annual convention. The hotel was very clean and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The concierge helped us find local restaurants and printed out our boarding passes the night before our departure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,752 - 1,758 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of downtown, which it made it really convenient to walk to all the restaurants, bars and shopping. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're traveling in Austin, and want to be close by to the nightlife. Hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have stayed in Omni Hotels all over the US. They are all outstanding, and the downtown Austin Hotel is wonderful. The service is 5 Star, the location is perfect, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I have stayed there many times in the past and intend to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We thank you for your continued loyalty to Omni Hotels & Resorts. We look forward to welcoming you back to Austin in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very comfortable accomodations ! Great bed and beautiful bathroom. Sound proof rooms ! Loved the roof top pool after a long hot day at my convention and hitting 6th street district for dinner/drinks. The items in the mini-bar were great too ! Good assortment

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michelle R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just loved this hotel, and could not say a negative thing about it! The staff were great, even though it was incredibly full when we were there. (The X-Games were going on at the same time, and every room was booked!). The restaurant staff were great! We got to know them on first name basis, as they were incredibly friendly! The food was great, and even though we arrived late for the buffet, the staff still not only accommodated us, but also accommodated some of our food intolerences. At no time did they feel we were keeping them after hours, or that we were being high maintenance.

The rooms were large and airy, with great bedding, and the lobbies and the restaurants were also large and airy, which gave a feeling of expansiveness.

We would definitely stay there again if we were visiting Austin again, and would also have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: I would think that all of the rooms are pretty good in this hotel. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Over the past 10 years or so, I've called the Omni Downtown as my "go-to" hotel. Just a few reasons: very clean, professionally staffed, A+ bar in the lobby, above average restaurant (breakfast buffet is awesome). The real highlights - the rooftop stainless steel pool... it's not big, but it's great. And the best, it's only 2 quick blocks to 6th street bar action. I've attended the Riders of Texas (ROT) rally several times, and it's a good thing to ride hard all day, bring the bike back and know it's safe, hit a quick shower, then walk down and drink plenty and walk right back. Then in the morning, up on the top in the pool with a fresh bloody mary from the bar.
This is a hotel that is great for large event, or small, couples, romance, friends or solo. (note: parking garage spaces aren't f350 friendly at all... even a regular Texas truck has a little trouble and it's $20 to self park... if you're in a big truck, just plan on the valet ($28).

Room Tip: 1407 is a king bedroom on the club level. This room has a view of the interior of the hotel... look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mccullor739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

There's nothing really WRONG but nothing awesome either. The layout of the entire hotel is pretty angular in an odd sense. My first room was facing the conference room of one of the businesses across the atrium. Ah. No. I got moved quickly to an outward facing room but it was literally the exact same clunky layout. And, in 2014, why am I paying for wifi?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks so much for your response. I am pleased we were able to move your room to the outside. Please feel free to request that on your next stay. We will certainly accomodate that. As for WIFI all major upscale chains charge for WIFI unless you are a part of their loyalty program. Ours is called Select Guest and offers many "perks" to our regualr guests. It take only a few minutes to sign up and is well worth the time. Hope to see you again soon.

Gene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 202 in Austin
2,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 202 in Austin
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £97 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing