We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #40 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with my stay here. I was in a king room in the corner of the building so I had the walk in shower and more space in the room. I really have no complaints about the room itself. The parking was not too bad, $20 self park or $28 for valet. The wifi you have to pay for as well. They promote free wifi if you are a member of the Omni rewards program but what they don't tell you is that you have to book your reservation thru the hotel itself, not thru an outside party like expedia. So expect to pay for wifi, as I don't know many people who actually book rooms directly with a hotel. The only other complaint I have is I think the rooms need bigger tvs. it was really small compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxbizman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,296
    736
    309
    175
    116
See reviews for
366
651
120
1,060
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location of this hotel is great. Close to 6th street (where a lot of the night life is). The elevators had some problems and I heard they are usually kind of slow. The service is great, the breakfast is good and they have good marmalade. Did not love the fact that half of the building is dedicated to offices and half of it to the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Italian_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was very spacious and the decor was very nice. Both the queen bed and the full pull out sofa were very comfortable. It was very clean. There was quite a bit of street noise that made it a little difficult to get a good night's rest and the TV had poor reception but those didn't factor into my enjoyment very much.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with wife and baby while she attended conference. The service was among the best I have had at a hotel. Whatever we needed was and it happened quickly.

Stay on exec floors as the amount of people on the regular room floors make the elevators SUPER slow. Amazingly slow.

I'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frodo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide your valuable feedback. Please accept our apologies for the delays in elevator service during your visit. We appreciate the positive comments regarding your overall stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I accompanied my husband while he was on business. From the express check-in all the way to checking out, you felt like you were the only guest there.
On one occassion we had an issue with the plumbing in the restroom. When we returned to our room, everything was taken care of and nothing out of place.
I took advantage of the location and was able to walk to UT, the Capitol, 6th Street, Congress St bridge, etc. Bus availability is there if needed but the walks were not bad. Very safe area, even for a female walking alone.
My only "complaint" is that the AC vent in our room pointed straight out, towards the desk and window. While the room was comfortable, at night even with the thermostat at 60°, it was hot and I'm very cold natured (I sleep with a quilt or blanket and the thermostat set on 73°).
Overall, great experience and would stay again and again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rpd645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We're pleased you enjoyed your visit. Please accept our apologies for the HVAC issues you encountered. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

An excellent stay awaits you at the Omni- Downtown. Location is great, walking distance to most all downtown area's. The hotel staff are courteous and professional. The government rate offered was a significant savings compared to rack rates.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

In the past 20 years I have seen many hotels in Austin. The Omni hotel is among my favorites. While the rooms are just ok, the reception service, bar, breakfast and gym are fantastic. Also the free wifi works great throughout the hotel. The Omni is also close to downtown (6th street one block away) so you find enough good restaurants outside. Dinner at the hotel - restaurant or room service - is not recommended. Also the pool on the roof is rather disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rudy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#24 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing