We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean Rooms and Cozy Bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #37 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean Rooms and Cozy Bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

This was the perfect location for our trip. The price we got on priceline was unbeatable. The bed was by far one of the most comfortable ever. The decor was updated and like another rater I too noticed that it smelled very clean. Overall great stay. Be prepared to pay about 18/night parking.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — hi speed internet access fees
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lunasoltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    710
    292
    161
    103
See reviews for
352
633
117
1,006
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

I just returned from a wedding weekend at this hotel and it was a nightmare. We arrived at 1PM and had to wait 2 hours for a room (they gave our room away twice). The receptionist then lied to us when he finally gave us a room (he told us we were next to other wedding guests when we were put in a room 6 floors away from the wedding party). The food was mediocre. The night staff was borderline beligerent (35y/o's with kids should be able to bring a six pack into the hotel). Bottom line: they harass guests because they are afraid that their proximity to 6th street will encourage late night in-room partying (which didn't happen). HOWEVER, the Driskill is across the street, at the same price, of the same star quality with BETTER ROOMS, BETTER FOOD, BETTER SERVICE and no harassment. This place simply isn't worth the price of admission. I'm well traveled and this is a marginal hotel at best. It's much closer to a 2-star than 4-star and whatever you do, DO NOT GET MARRIED HERE!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything. It was really bad.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 00dcameron00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
415 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

This is a pretty good Omni. It's right in the middle of town, which san be conveinent. But if you don't mind driving from Hwy 71, then I would stay at the Omni South Park. I just like that one better.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Hard to get out of town from here.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jameygamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

I just had my wedding there and they are mis leading on every part. I first had one wedding coordinator and then she did not return calls or emails for 3 months then when I finally got a hold of someone they said she was no longer my wedding coordinator Leah was and people do not have your wedding here. it was all horrible. The food was great but the staff will tell you anything for you to think you are getting a really good deal and then bill you for it later.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank e_metzger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

I booked the hotel through Priceline for 5 nights and was pleasantly surprised.

I am from Austin and have been away in Europe for a few years, and remember the Omni as a bit run down and soulless. I was worried, when I got the priceline bid, that it would be the same place I remembered. Happy to say this is not so.

The staff (especially the valet parking staff) were exceptionally friendly. The room was newly redone and the beds were like heaven. If you sign up for their points membership program, they bring you free coffee and a paper in the morning, plus you get free wireless internet. This is a great membership bonus!

There is a teeny pool on the rooftop which is quite lovely, but if you have kids it's not exactly a kiddie wonderland. A couple of moms brought up their pack of kids and they were fairly quickly reminded by hotel staff to keep the noise down.

The lobby is ambience free, but who cares about that when the rooms are so comfortable and clean clean clean. The housekeeping staff were great. I would defintitely stay there again, and am glad Priceline led me to the Omni.

  • Liked — comfortable beds and cleanliness
  • Disliked — weak 'rain shower'
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OsloK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

My stay at the Downtown Omni was excellent. The room was very well decorated, comfortable and pleasant, even if not huge. But being French I am not used to huge rooms anyway.
I found they were just right. Mine had a very interesting view of the top of the Capitol in a glass reflection. Indeed it looked out in the inside of a glass building which houses a restaurant, a bar - where the food is good- and offices. The lobby, which is decorated with delicate bunches of fresh orchids, is interestingly situated inside that building with the lifts traveling along the surface of the hotel or offices across it. Not scary at all but fun.
The pool is on the roof is pleasant with nice colors and plants. The only drawback being it is not very large. The flat rooftop provides exceptional views of Austin and its surroundings. Including, and especially at night, a view of the beautiful highest and nearly ethereal downtown skyscraper.
The staff was very helpful and clearly there to accommodate the guests. To quote one of the managers at the reception: "we are here to make people happy and not the opposite!".
Having trouble with the phone I even had a technician come very late at night as soon as I called. He very nicely asked what the hotel could do for the inconvenience.
Having stayed at a nearby hotel - a landmark but which has not aged so well inside - before I would choose the Downtown Omni anytime if I went back to Austin.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank HKLParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamdonald
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

You get what you pay for. The Omni was what I expected. The front desk people were quite curteous, the concierege was helpful, and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. A nice large atrium added to it all. The security did a good job keeping out the young drunk kids pouring off of 6th street during the wee hours of the morning, too good a job actually, as some of those yayhoos were friends of mine. The location was great, just a few blocks north of all the bars on 6th street, though if you want a little classier night life head farther west on 6th. Usually I would rather stay at a nice secluded inn or bed and breakfast, though the Omni's government per diem rate and its convenience made it hard to pass up. If going to Austin just to wander around the downtown bars and restuarants, I would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — So nice that it is almost boring
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown Texas
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing