We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Austin Central(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
W Austin(Austin)
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,187)
Filter reviews
2,187 results
Traveller rating
867
709
322
183
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
867
709
322
183
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssleep numbergreat locationthe congresscesar chavezwithin walking distancetown lakestreet bridgebats flyconvention centerinfinity poollady bird lakeparking garage iscity viewking suiteself parkrainey streetnice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,997 - 2,002 of 2,187 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Location- excellent location on first street of Congress two minute walk to Austin Convention Centre.

Staff- very friendly and helpful staff, no complaints what so ever regarding employees.

Restaurant- only used TGI Fridays on evening of departure and was pleasantly surprised. Far better than their European equivalents.

Rooms- very poor, look like they have not been decorated in many years. Was on 7th floor facing Cesar Chavez Street, which is very busy. Due to road noise I got very little sleep. Believe it or not this hotel has single glazing on rooms this side of hotel. Advice- insist on a room facing river, you can also enjoy Austins famous bats better from this side.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasagh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_CEG, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable hotel and we have addressed the issues you raised regarding the condition of our rooms. We are pleased that you enjoyed TGI Fridays. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This is a well-situated hotel for folks attending SXSWi, with its walking-distance location to many of the event venues -- The conference room on the ground level, in fact, hosts some of the sessions -- but it's not so central that the lobby becomes overrun with conventioneers.

And it's a perfectly clean hotel staffed by lovably hospitable, friendly people. The $1.25 sodas in the vending machine, Starbucks downstairs, and the open-almost-all-the-time food trucks nearby (try Surf-n-Turf Po' Boy) are also pluses.

That said, if you pay the full rack rate during major events (~$350/nt), you'll basically have paid the local premium, finding:

* Dated motor-lodge decor, traces of which are evident even in the renovated rooms (to the right of the front desk, as you face it) via the bathroom tiles, tubs, and ceiling
* Very poor soundproofing
* Abysmal wi-fi with easily overwhelmed bandwidth, for $9.95/day (I recommend at least roaming onto it via Boingo wifi account, which is $9.95/MONTH)
* At least in my case, out of Room #610, a "Lakefront View" that was dominated by the parking garage (see photo)

At the right price, it's probably a fine place to stay. Be sure to go into the experience with eyes wide open.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Most reviewers have noted the convenience of the Hotel’s location. Indeed, I was quite pleased with all the advantages the location has for a visitor to Austin. The weather was wonderful, and we were able to relax at the TGI Friday’s outdoor café and enjoy the view of the Lake/River and the surrounding parks and trails. Of course, the Congress Bridge is next to the hotel, and many bat-watchers enjoy the view with refreshments there. Family with young children joined us for an afternoon, and the hotel made the visit problem-free, with a parking bridge (there is a fee), family-friendly restaurant, countless gathering areas, a Children's Museum one block away, and pedestrian access to the rest of the city (which, unlike many capital cities, has a hopping nightlife on the weekend!).

I was delighted with the efficient and friendly service I received from the concierge in planning transportation and last-minute wardrobe issues for a wedding. Our standard room was spacious, with plenty of storage and access to amenities. My husband and I both slept comfortably, with no noise distractions in spite of the fact that our room was near the hotel elevator. Do not hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice_LUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our onsite TGI Friday's. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Austin Convention Center, Downtown Austin Business District, the world famous 6th Street and the Warehouse entertainment districts. We have passed your comments regarding the service on to all of our staff as it is important for them to hear when they are doing a good job. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I was a little worried after seeing some of the negative reviews but based on my experience I would say this is a good bargain. The hotel is in an excellent location right near the bat colony at congress bridge, five blocks from the 6th street night scene and blocks away from the new Austin City limits venue.

The hotel is clean and quiet, The lobby has a starbucks that's open open til 9:30pm and they allowed us to store our rental bikes in our room. There is the Lady bird park trail just steps away.

Overall its just your average corporate hotel. Nothing too fancy or charming but with a great location, quiet and clean.,.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jalan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Radisson Hotel and Suites Austin - Town Lake offers accommodations in a unique downtown, lakeside setting that is also with in walking distance of the Austin Convention Center, Downtown Austin Business District, the world famous 6th Street and the Warehouse entertainment districts. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Located next to Town Lake and the jogging/walking path and Congress Bridge. We could see the bats emerge at night and watched the rowing teams practice. Shops on Congress are within walking distance. The rooms are nice but the food availability in the hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrsTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of the Austin Convention Center, Downtown Austin Business District, the world famous 6th Street and the Warehouse entertainment districts. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews