We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Quiet, Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #40 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet, Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We just returned from a trip to Austin for a wedding and booked a room at the Radisson. We booked a suite that overlooked Town Lake and we were very pleased at the quality of the room. The sleep number bed was a great feature and I enjoyed a couple of really good nights of sleep. The room was quiet and the curtains allowed the room to be dark after the sun came up. The televisons in the rooms were equipped to receive HD pictures so the time inside the room was enjoyable. The location was convenient to Austin attractions and easy to find from the airport.
The only downside to this property is the layout of the parking garage, I would advise using the valet service althouigh it is very expensive ($23 per day) The self-park at $16.00 per day is no great bargain so if you can get by without a car you can save some money.
The TGI Fridays on-premises provides the usual bar fare and a nice place to grab a drink. There is also a Stabucks in the lobby to provide relief to the caffeine craving visitor.

Room Tip: The views of Town Lake are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your room. We strive as a hotel to provide a safe, clean, and comfortable place to stay. Thanks for the comments about the parking at our hotel. We are constantly trying to come up with better ideas to provide a better service to the guest. Your concerns will be passed on to our management staff.

Located in the heart of downtown Austin, Texas, the Radisson Hotel & Suites provides comfortable accommodations and the best in services and amenities, including an on-site, full-service T.G.I. Friday's® restaurant and a Starbucks© coffee shop.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    645
    292
    151
    78
See reviews for
329
371
72
879
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here for a conference in the hotel. The conference rates were lower than the listed price but I have completed this review with the listed rates in mind. At the conference rate I would have given the "value" a higher rating. Location, cleanliness and service were very good, but, in keeping with other reviewers, I found my room tired and in need of an upgrade. The adjustable bed was wonderful, although it took a few minutes to work it out and make the adjustments to my liking.

Nice to have a Starbucks in the lobby. I ate a lunch in the TGIF restaurant which had a nice river view, good service and the food was very nice. The consierge was very helpful in finding places to eat.

The location is great. The entertainment district (6th Street) is an easy walk as is all of downtown. I ate at Eddy V's which was very good although steaks at $45 caused my party to focus elsewhere on the menu. I walked across the Congress Sreet bridge (which is right next to the hotel) to see the bats at dusk and then carried on walking south for 15 minutes to Docs Bar & Grill which was a lively bar with good food and younger crowd.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
We appreciate your review about our hotel. We hope that you enjoyed the conference that you attended. Your comments are greatly appreciated about your room. Your comments about the room are being passed on to our staff. Your comments help us improve on our service.

The on-site T.G.I Friday's® restaurant boasts all of your favorites, including burgers, chicken, steaks, salads and a full menu of cocktails, beer and wine, plus a daily breakfast buffet

We hope that you will consider us again on future stays in Austin. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I brought my husband here for his 40th and I couldn't be more satisfied. The hotel is in prime location, right next to the lake and trails, the Congress Bridge where you can watch the bats at night, and a short walk to 6th Street, state Capitol, and much more. We were able to walk to some great restaurants and bars from here. The staff was friendly and helpful. Also, it was convenient to have TGI Friday's and Starbucks in the hotel. The pool is not bad, and most importantly, our room was very clean and a nice size.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CleAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your anniversary. We are glad that we could make that special for you. We appreciate your comments about our onsite restaurant TGI Friday's, and our onsite Starbucks. Will pass these comments on to our staff.

Thanks again for your comments. We appreciate them and we hope to see you again on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

The relatively new looking carpet and wallpaper is lipstick on a pig. The discolored ceiling, small bathroom with molded tiles and doors that don't keep the hallway noise out are indicators that it's time for a complete renovation. The sleep number bed was a welcomed surprise but the controls didn't work. I am surprised that the new hotels in downtown Austin (including the W), haven't been enough for this hotel to investment staying modern and appealing.Also surprised there was only one person working the check-ing desk at 7:00 pm. He was pleasant but clearly could have used some help to keep the line shorter.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thank your for providing us with this review of our hotel. Your comments and concerns are very much appreciated and will passed on to our staff. Your comments are passed on to our staff so we can provide a better service to our guests. We are currently still working on further renovations of our property. Thanks for your concerns in this area.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will consider us again on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I recently stayed here for one night to attend an event at the Austin Convention Center (about a 3 minute walk down the street. The hotel has its pluses (wonderful customer service, sleep number beds, decent WiFi performance) and its minuses (not much around it, small, cramped, old bathroom, and it's restaurant is actually a TGIF.

The front desk staff was very helpful, and did find me a very good restaurant a few blocks away, but there's not a whole lot in the immediate area of the hotel. I'd recommend the Radisson if needing to attend a conference, but otherwise I'd probably look elsewhere in Austin.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibeplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and doing that for us. Your concerns about your stay are being looked in to. Thank you for your mention of our customer service. Customer service is our number one priority!!

Offering excellent views of Town Lake and an ideal location close to the best attractions, our downtown Austin hotel serves up the ideal dining experience

Thank you again for your time. We hope you will consider us again, on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAYLOR, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a great location to watch the bats flying out of the congress Ave bridge.
The hotel is a little aged but our king room was quite large and had a view of the lake.
we were within walking distance of a free festival that had live music as well as many great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
We appreciate your comments about our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your comments will be passed on to our staff. They always enjoy hearing they are doing a good job. Our guests really enjoy watching the bats around our hotel. People seem to comment about this a lot. We are glad you enjoyed it.

Located in the heart of downtown Austin, Texas, the Radisson Hotel & Suites provides comfortable accommodations and the best in services and amenities, including an on-site, full-service T.G.I. Friday's® restaurant and a Starbucks© coffee shop.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again in Austin!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

1. When we pulled up, no valet came over... even as we removed baggage from the car. My husband finally went and got one who handed him a ticket and said overnight valet would be $24.00. Well, needless to say we declined the "service" and still ended up with a $16.00 per night self-park fee.
2. The front desk service was much better. Very friendly, pleasant smiles all around. Quick, kind service is always good.
3. The room was super outdated. Heavy old patterned drapes and cheap posters in thin gold frames. Not what I expected from a downtown location in Austin, or for the price we paid. It was clean though!
4. Very uncomfortable bed! It was a Sleep Number, which may be wonderful for others, but we hated it. Both nights were terribly uneasy. BTW: If you are couple who use the middle of your king size mattress to cuddle, or whatever, this is not the bed for you.
5. On the plus side, the location is perfect. On the river with a perfect view of the bats exodus. Head East for restaurants, bars, shopping, and a farmers market on Saturday.
We stay downtown often and I must say there are much nicer options for the price of rooms here. However, if you get a good price give it a chance for location and nice desk service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjones01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you comments about our staff and the location of our hotel. We appreciate you mentioning your concerns about your bed, room, and the parking situation at the hotel. All these concerns will be passed on to our management. Your comments are helpful in finding ways to improve our service to future guests. We strive as a hotel to provide a safe, clean, and comfortable place to stay. Your comments help us do that.

Thanks again for your time. We hope you will consider us again if you are in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing