We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor heating that was extremely noisy throughout the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #41 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor heating that was extremely noisy throughout the night”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were given a room on the top floor and had to move because the A/C "chiller" was on the roof above our room and the machine noise was extreme. Our next room on another floor wasn't quite as noisy, but the very old heat mechanism in the ceiling was very loud as the heat came on and off throughout the night. Worst, the heat quit entirely in the morning (temp outdoors was 31 degrees) and maintenance could not make it warmer than about 60 degrees for our second day and night in the hotel. When we made our reservation we were told that the restaurant was being renovated and did not have a "full menu." Actually, there is no menu because the restaurant is closed until sometime next year. There is room service (not suitable for our large group) and a Starbucks in the lobby has muffins. The bar is also closed, although there is a make-shift bar in the lobby. By 2:00 p.m. on the second day of our stay, our room still had not been made up so I tracked down some clean towels and coffee packets. I would not recommend this property in its current condition.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry for the trouble you encountered during your stay. The hotel is currently in the middle of several very exciting renovations to improve our location for the enjoyment of all of our guests. Our previous restaurant has been closed for a complete renovation and re-design. We are excited to announce that we will soon open a brand new chef-driven, locally inspired restaurant with a local celebrity chef. In the interim we have kept a limited room service menu available for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and have opened a small bar in the lobby area for our guests enjoyment. Our full service Starbucks Coffee offers both hot and cold food items such as pastries, muffins, bagels, breakfast sandwiches, grab and go lunch sandwiches, oatmeal, fruit, etc. We appreciate your feedback about the issues with A/C noise, and timeliness of housekeeping service, and we would love to speak with you in person so that we might be able to make this up to you somehow. Please feel free to contact Hotel management staff to discuss these issued further!

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    681
    310
    164
    87
See reviews for
351
398
78
939
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We took the rickety, tiny elevator up to our room where the hallways and decor were all very old. I was a bit nervous at this point but thought to myself "its a 3.5 star hotel, It can't be that horrible." well... I was wrong and it was that horrible. The hotel room looked antique, and not in a good, fashionable kind of way. In an old, dingy and run down kind of way. There were cracks and stains in the walls and carpets. There was no way we were staying in that room for 5 days. After an hour long phone call with Hotwire, we had our hotel switched to the Sheraton down the road which wasn't the most amazing hotel, but it was a major upgrade from this hotel. My family stays at the Sheraton in Miami regularly and it looks brand new and very clean, so we were shocked to see the difference at the Austin location. Do yourself a favor and pay the extra $50 for a 4 star hotel, it's worth it. The 2 stars is for the friendly staff / valet, and the nice but misleading lobby. Id say this hotel is more of a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,


We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel is currently undergoing several renovations to improve our property for the enjoyment of all of our guests. We recently completed a $2million dollar renovation of our pool, to upgrade to a heated, salt-water, infinity-edge pool and completely new pool deck, sound system, misting system, and furniture. We are now undergoing a complete renovation of our 2nd floor meeting space and ballroom, and a complete redesign and renovation of our hotel restaurant. We are looking forward to opening a brand new Chef-driven, local themed dining concept in a new contemporary style dining room. These projects are projected to be completed by January, and then we are very excited to begin a complete overhaul of our guest rooms and suites to be completed in 2014. We are very excited about these updates to our property, and hope that you will give a chance in the future to make up for your recent unsatisfactory experience! If you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel management!

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for Austin Comic Con Nov 20-24th. Luckily we got the government rate since my husband is a gov. employee. We did get a suite with a living area/couch and separate bedroom with a sleep number bed which I loved. Hotel is right on the river and the bridge where the bats live is right outside the front door. They are in the middle of a major renovation and only have a Starbucks onsite and limited room service. Micro and fridge in room was great. Now the cons....Wi-Fi was spotty and kept cutting out, cable was out for a full day and there are no in room movies or anything, the maid skipped our room and when we called to ask for clean towels and coffee we had a maintenance man deliver toothpaste and a toothbrush instead, toilet clogged 2 nights in a row and we had to pour water from a trashcan into the toilet to flush. The most concerning thing was we were on the 10th floor and noticed 2 rooms had giant humidifiers/air dryers/huge buckets to draw out water from some type of 'water leak' but it was on every floor in the same place. We had friends staying on floor 8 and it was the same thing in the same place. this means an entire outer wall of rooms had some sort of catastrophic flood.......it made the hallways super noisy with the industrial dryers and extremely hot and humid. Parking is 17.00/day and you have to park on the 5th floor in the garage and then lug your luggage up a flight of stairs to get to an elevator. The hotel is a bit of a maze....certain elevators only go to certain floors, separate elevators for the garage, hotel, in between. For the price we paid compared to surrounding hotels we saved a lot. Hopefully after the reno to the restaurant they will start on the rooms which are outdated and showing signs of wear. We did appreciate the Starbucks on site. Also, they have no hotel shuttle which was disappointing. Staff were all very nice but most had no clue where to eat, get a manicure etc. Concierge was the place to ask those questions. If we go back to Austin we will prob stay here again if we get the discount. Also the breakfast for 15.00 was terrible! eat a muffin at starbucks instead!

Room Tip: government rate, suite only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Aragedie,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us . We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We apologize for any inconvenience that you were caused by our much needed renovations. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. We use all guest feedback to make the changes needed to make the hotel better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future once our renovations are complete. Thank you so much for your feedback. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Recently I booked this hotel for my husband and I to enjoy some R&R before the holidays. After hearing about the renovation I was hesitant (almost canceled the reservation) but after reading about how well guests were treated I stayed with the hotel. However, when we arrived from the airport at 7pm this evening we were told there would be no hot water from 8am-3pm tomorrow. Since the gas was being shut off to the entire hotel, there would be no room service available (the restaurant is still closed). The front desk treated it like it was no big deal and offered no compensation of any sort. Needless to say, telling a pregnant lady that if she wanted to sleep in at all, there would be no shower and a breakfast consisting of Starbucks over-caffeinated beverages did not sit well with me. This past June we had a similar issue with gas being turned off during a hotel renovation at a Doubletree in Seattle and despite it being for half the amount of time, they offered vouchers to their bar/restaurant. We only used one, but the gesture was well received. Two days left, so we'll see how it goes...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry about your recent visit. We are sincerely sorry for the no hot water or heat in the hotel. Locally Texas Gas Service is upgrading service to all buildings. We did however receive the service that night. The installation of this new equipment was installed on that day. We would like to invite you to please contact the hotel so we can better assist you in the future We value all guest feedback and use to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Downtown Austin for 3 nights. The location was very central. The concierge 'Dave' was extremely friendly and provided us with many tips on things to do in Austin. He also has his own app 'iDave' which you can get on your smart phone to give you more info on Austin restaurants and sites. We found this very useful throughout our stay. The hotel is located right next to the Lake, and you can get a fantastic view of the bats from the parking garage at the hotel. The room (we didn't have a renovated room) was clean, and had everything we needed. The bed was super comfortable. The only downside to our stay is that they were renovating while we were there - meaning that the pool was closed for the duration of our stay (in the middle of summer), so it would've been nice to be able to use it. They had plans for the renovations in the lobby and it looks like the rooms are going to be very nice.

Room Tip: I would ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Melifranklin,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so excited for our renovations. Our pool is now open and being used by our guests. We value your feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Austin. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We need customer feedback to be able to do that. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were in Austin from November 14th to the 18th for the Formula 1 race. After arriving at the original bed and breakfast we had booked (who had no record of our reservation) and finding the last minute accommodations unacceptable we were in desperate need of a quality hotel room for at least one night of our stay. Early in the trip we had ventured into the lobby of the Radisson to get a cup of coffee at the Starbucks. I watched the interactions with the ladies at the front desk and was blown away by their friendliness to each guest entering. After sleeping on a futon at our original inn for 2 nights we decided we had to find something else. We went door to door looking for a hotel with a room remaining. We then decided to try the Radisson because we knew after watching their interactions they would be willing to help if they could. They were able to provide us with a room with expensive but reasonable terms and we were absolutely thrilled that they were willing to hear us out and help fix someone else's mistake. Emily and Missy (might be Misty-my memory isn't what it used to be) made us feel welcome and treated us like gold.
As far as the hotel goes I would not hesitate to stay here on any trip to Austin. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. They had a pool that guests seemed to be having a blast in. The best part is you are within walking distance of so many great restaurants and bars. It is a prime location.
Thank you to the ladies at the desk and the Radisson for giving its staff the freedom to know what customer service will create a guest for life.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for telling your stay during the Formula Race. We are so excited that you picked us. We are glad that we could help you during your time of need. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We will pass this great feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much. We hope to see you again soon.


Sincerely,
Radisson hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Radisson is a good choice if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a good area. The hotel is within walking distance to pretty much everything. The rooms were fine, the sleep bed was pretty cool. Continental breakfast in the morning and a newspaper at the door were nice perks.
Had a drink or two in the lobby at night and was able to listen to some music, you don't see that everywhere.
The hotel will be even nicer once all the renovations are done but it is a good choice to stay.

Room Tip: Room facing towards the congress bat bridge is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uraqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear uraqc,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all guest feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in the area. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in the area. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing