We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #42 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I booked one night, Valentine's, on Trivago for a steal. Then we were somehow up graded to a king bed with breakfast. The breakfast food was delicious. The beds are sleep number, which has it's pros and cons. No hot tub. Great views, but you can tell the old windows from the newer. Innovative parking passes using room keys.
Great location, all I'm all, I had a wonderful holiday and the Radisson was part of it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ladynfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

ladynfamous,

Thank you for your review - we're happy your stay exceeded your expectations! Glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast. We hope you'll stay with us again.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,118)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,623 - 1,629 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Worst night stay in a hotel ever. Hated this hotel with a passion. Pool was pitch black and had no lights also had building work going on really loud drilling through the walls. Electricity blackout for three hours. The decor was cheap and tacky and nothing seemed to match.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prlrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Prlrt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that you did not have a great experience with our hotel.

We apologize for the inconvenience of the power outage - it was a necessary part of the renovations we underwent to open our new restaurant, chavez. We did our best to schedule it at a time that would impact the smallest number of guests and to let guests know that it was planned. We are very sorry that it negatively impacted your stay and your opinion of our hotel.

If you would like to further discuss the issues you experienced during your stay, we would love the opportunity to try to make it right! Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel management!

Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us.
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is in a good location if you have an event at the convention center or the Palmer Event Center. If you want to watch the bats in the summer, this is the best location as it is right at the bridge. Other than that....hotel is tired, ceilings are low, lighting is dark. Parking garage is super tight. Hotel room had info on the bed about using a remote to make the mattress perfect for your sleep style, but couldn't find any remote. Called front desk, they sent someone and said, oh, sorry, not all the rooms have those kind of mattresses. Uh....then why put the instruction cards right on the top of the bed?! Guess that goes with my service when I checked in at 6:00 pm. They said, "we don't have any double rooms" (and I had my reservations for 2 months). And I said, "yes, you do" and she said, Okay. can you wait 30 minutes and we'll have it ready for you.
There are many better choices of hotels in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

mow11,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We're sorry it wasn't more enjoyable. We apologize for the confusion regarding the bed and room availability.

We are in the process of updating our property and hope that, since you enjoyed our location, you will visit us in the future and give us the opportunity to leave you with a better impression.

We invite you to follow our renovations, as well as Austin-area events and activities, on Facebook and Twitter.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is my third time to stay at this hotel downtown Austin. I attend a technology conference for work each February and since I had a good experience the previous two times, I booked my stay at this hotel location again this year. I was very disappointed. The bed was very uncomfortable and hard. The sleep number mattress controller did not respond resulting in a mattress that was hard and uneven. In the past, there has been a refrigerator in my room. This room was smaller and did not have a refrigerator. The rate I paid was still the same as the previous years' rate. We arrived on Tuesday night and were anxious to try the new restaurant, the Chavez. It was also disappointing. They state that the dishes are meant for sharing. The portions are very small and unusual. We enjoy trying new menu items, but the quality of the steak was disappointing and pricey menu items. When I attend this conference next year, I will probably not stay at this property.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Mari,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We really appreciate that, especially from repeat guests. We strive to provide our guests with a wonderful and comfortable experience and it sounds like we fell short on your latest visit. We're sorry that you were unhappy with your room and that you did not enjoy our new restaurant. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again. Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I love this hotel. Have stayed there before on several conventions before. Their location is great and the accomodations are just wonderful. Love their outdoor pool. While the rates seem high at times they are very in line with other downtown hotels - in fact they are usually cheaper. A lot of great employees - my personal favorite is Emily in reservations. They are all great but she gives amazing service and is great with customers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mavfan1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

mavfan1956,

Thank you so much for your review and for being a loyal guest! Thank you also for sharing your positive experiences with Emily - we love to hear good things about our staff. Looking forward to your next stay, Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable, except that the pillows were too full (not "squishy" enough for me). The shower was powerful, but the spray ended up outside the shower curtain and on the floor. The towels were the softest hotel towels I have ever had the pleasure of using. The view was wonderful and the noise minimal. All-in-all, it was a good stay, and I would come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hi Kirsten,

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your visit. (We love soft towels, too.) We hope you'll visit us again.

Please visit us on Facebook and Twitter for hotel updates and specials, as well as Austin area events and activities.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Drove over from Houston to attend a wedding. Once inside, I expected something nice for my money. The lobby is lovely. Restaurant is under construction although there IS a limited room service menu. From the moment we arrived, there was one issue after another. I had reserved a room with 2 beds - very important since our 2 daughters were with us - and they are older teens. Was told that they don't guarantee my room choice from a 3rd party vendor! Gave us a king with a pull out sofa bed- the most horrible sofa bed ever! We put the mattress on the floor. It was very thin, not much more than a sleeping bag and my two adult-sized teens had to share. Had enough pillows for them but only ONE thin blanket and housekeeping couldn't find any more. The Radisson had NO extra blankets.
The walls are thin and we were next to a room of teenage volleyball players -many tournaments in downtown Austin. These girls had friends in and out all night long, ran up and down the hall screaming. Management assured us that they were SURE the girls would go to bed soon as they had to play in the morning. They didn't. We watched TV to waited them out. Well after midnight, they did go to sleep for a bit and we retired to floor and bed. At about 2am, they were at it again.
The king sized bed was fine - it is a sleep number bed. We slept fine when our neighbors slept. Bathroom lock was broken out.
There are many great hotels in Austin. The room was no better than some lower priced competitors.

Room Tip: Beware of volleyball tournaments in January and February!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumziepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Mumziepooh,

Thanking you for providing feedback about your stay. We strive to provide our guests with genuine Texas hospitality and a great experience and it sounds like we fell short on your stay. We're sorry about the confusion regarding the room reservation, we attempt to fulfill each of our guest's request to the best of our ability. We apologize also for the lack of extra blankets and for your noisy neighbors.

If you would like to discuss the issues you experienced during your stay, we would love the opportunity to try to make it right! Please do not hesitate to contact hotel management.

Sincerely,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 202 in Austin
1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £148 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing