We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we could stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #42 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My daughter was in town for an interview for a scholarship possibility. They paid for our stay here, as it was next door to where the interview was located. We found it a great stay. All the staff were very friendly. The room had the sleep-number bed, which was fun to use and made for a great night's sleep. The room was also very clean and quiet. They don't provide breakfast, but there's a restaurant there and also a Starbucks. The pool looked very inviting, but it was too cold to use. There wasn't a room refrigerator, but according to their in-room pamphlet, you can rent one for $20/night. You do have to pay extra to park (either self-park or use their valet). The one (minor) drawback is that the vending machines for sodas only accepted credit cards, no cash.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet79720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Janet,

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly, beds comfy, and rooms clean and quiet. We hope that you'll have a chance to stay with us again, perhaps when it is warmer so you can enjoy our pool!

We wish your daughter the best of luck with the scholarship.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,118)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,608 - 1,614 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visit Austin Every April For The Lone Star Roundup Car Show. We Booked A Room Here last Year And The Manager Was So Sweet To Help Us Out When A Last Minute Family Emergency Caused Us To Miss Our Trip, So We Decided To Book With Them Again. We Were Upgraded At Check In Through The Club Carlson Program They Have. Our King Suite Was Very Comfortable. The Only Thing I Could Say That Might Not Be Positive Would Be That The Decor In The Room Was Out-Dated. But We Don't Stay In Hotels For Decorating Ideas Anyway ;) The Parking Garage Is Secure, The Whole Hotel Is Clean, The Pool Looked Great But We Didn't Swim (Can't Beat That Lake View, Perfect For Watching The Bats!), The Staff Was Very Friendly And Helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

travelgirl823,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of our hotel! We're so happy that we were able to help you out last year and that you decided to stay with us again. We're pleased that you enjoyed your room, our parking garage and pool deck, and that you found the hotel clean and our staff friendly.

We think you'll be happy to hear that we have a renovation of our one-bedroom suites planned for later this year. Not only will they be up-to-date, they'll be gorgeous! We look forward to seeing you again next year and hearing what you think of them.

Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook (RadissonAustin) and Twitter (@RadissonAustin) for updates about our hotel, as well as Austin-area events and activities.

Thanks again for being such a great guest,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotell looks good from outside but inside the years is popping up. But the worst thing is the traffic. If you get a room on street side, then you have bad luck. Especially on Saturday, no sleep before two am then. And an early sleep on week days are difficult.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Strupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Strupo,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're very sorry that you were bothered by street noise. We know how important a good night's rest is and we hate that you didn't get one.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at this location for three nights while visiting Austin. We have stayed here before and keep coming back when the price is right. We wanted to be near Town Lake, the nightlife, and entertainment so as with most of our trips to Austin, we try to stay downtown. We also always try to enjoy a nice run at Town Lake. We have always liked the location of the Radisson, and once again found an excellent rate so decided to give it a try.

The location was easy to find given it is located at first and Congress. Within a 5 minute walk you have the warehouse entertainment district, 2nd Street district, 6th Street, etc. You have the choice of valet or self-parking. Self-parking is in a connected garage with easy elevator access. ($16 self with in and out, which is typical downtown....some places are even more. Parking for larger vehicles is on the first floor and rather limited but we did not have trouble finding a spot. Normal sized vehicles are on the higher floors.

There is a nicely decorated inviting lobby with front desk and nicely appointed common area. Check in was quick, friendly, and efficient.

We never had the opportunity to use the gym, given we were on Town Lake and love to run on the lake, but it appears to be nice enough. They also have one of the nicest pools downtown, overlooking Town Lake. Though the pool was not huge, there were plenty of loungers available, and the remodel is absolutely fabulous.

Though we were there for the nightlife of Austin, it was nice to be away from the hectic side, and we were really appreciative of the hotels no party policy. Unlike other hotels in the area however, we did not see a security presence at night, though they may have been there. The rooms are somewhat dated, but very clean and the sleep number beds were comfortable. They have nice HDTV’s in the room. The climate control works well and the blower motor stays on for white noise while the climate control is still functioning. We had no noise from adjoining rooms nor unexpected city noise. Bathrooms very basic, but sufficient. There is a tub with shower.

Breakfast is not included at the Radisson, which is the norm for Radisson. They have a Starbucks in the lobby for quick drinks and pastries, when we stayed, the had closed the TGI Fridays and are putting in a upscale restaurant from a local chef. By now I believe the new restaurant is open. The area has every type of dining and entertainment option you could ask for all within easy walking distance.

We would absolutely recommend this location and would stay here again if we wanted to stay in the area for a personal trip and can get a good rate. Having also stayed at the nearby Hilton, Hampton, Hyatt, Intercontinental, Residence Inn, and Courtyard in the past, I would feel comfortable choosing any of these hotels based on who has the best price at the time. All of these are very nice options and similar in their offerings and the prices seem to vary wildly from day to day. The Radisson is slightly more outdated, but has a wonderful product and have one of the best locations in downtown which we love.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Town Lake for a nicer view and quiet room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

pcsanity,

Thank you for your wonderful a detailed review of our hotel. We love our return guests - thank you for returning to stay with us again and again.

We're pleased that your find our proximity to downtown and the Town Lake Trail so convenient. It's nice to know that you found your room clean and comfortable. We're also happy to hear that your enjoy our hotel's amenities including our Starbucks and new infinity-edge pool.

As you mentioned, since your visit we have opened a new restaurant, chavez, featuring southwestern-inspired cuisine by local chef Shawn Cirkiel. We hope that you will visit us again soon so that you can try it out!

Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updates about the hotel and restaurant, as well as Austin-area events and activities.

Thank you again,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here in March, 2014. The bats had not quite returned to Congress Bridge. We enjoyed the infinity pool and the patio. The room was a little tired and the bath dated. But the location and ease of getting around made up for it. We enjoyed Starbucks in the lobby. On the morning of our departure, we were leaving early. A staff member of the hotel went in and got cream for the coffee set up for us. Above and beyond! We would definitely stay here again. Walk across Congress to the famous Austin Food Trucks. Walk up to Sixth for nightlife and great music. Great location! We dined at the hotel restaurant for breakfast. It was well priced and service was very good. They have taken out the patio and TGIF and replaced it with an upscale, glassed in restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Jeri,

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We strive to provide genuine Texas hospitality to each of our guests and we're happy to hear that we succeeded. It's nice to know that you were pleased with our location, pool, Starbucks, new restaurant, and other amenities.

We hope that you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Austin. Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updates about the hotel, as well as Austin-area events and activities.

Thanks again,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wonderful maid service, sleep number beds, and a Starbucks in the lobby. Only downside could be the service in their restaurant, Chavez. Waitstaff was not friendly and poor service. On the plus side, the restaurant overlooks the congress street bridge, where you can see the bats at dusk!
Also had a beautiful pool area to relax in!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

btlove,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, bed, view, Starbucks, and our new pool!

We sincerely apologize for the poor service you received from the chavez staff.

We hope that you will visit us again! Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updates about the hotel, as well as Austin area events and activities.

Have a great day,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here in the Summer of 2013 for the RTX convention. Paid the higher price for a nice room on the executive level. I asked for a room with a view of the lake and a newer room, since I heard that the hotel was going thru some renovations. We were give an older room and we overlooked the street. Okay - but not happy. What can you do? The floor had a hospitality room which was supposed to have drinks, snacks, etc available for the people on this floor and some breakfast and evening items also. I don't thnk that in the 5 days I stayed there, anyone attended to this room on a regular basis. It was filled once and never looked at again. Whoever was responsible for this was just plain lazy. If you got into the area early you could get something, but repeated phone calls to the desk about having the room restocked were ignored.
The room was large and the sleep number bed was comfortable. The pull out sofa was a remnant from prehistoric times- old , saggy and just embarrassing to have in this type of hotel. I hope they update the newer rooms with more comfortable sofas.
When we return to Austin in the future, I will not be returning here. There are many other hotels in the area to choose from. Radisson should seriously update their rooms and their amenities if they want to keep customers

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We strive to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay with us and it seems that we fell short in your case.

We apologize for any confusion - we will be remodeling our one-bedroom suites later this year but the renovations have not yet started. Since your visit in 2013, we've added a new restaurant, chavez, and remodeled our meeting facilities.

We're very sorry that the Executive Club Lounge was not properly restocked during your stay. There should be a concierge present to ensure its supply and guest comfort.

We are,however, happy to hear that you were pleased with the size of your room and the Sleep Number bed.

We hope that you will consider visiting us again after our suite remodel is complete. We'd appreciate the chance to wow you!

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £149 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing