We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #41 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The staff are so friendly in this hotel. The Valet guys are really helpful too. The outdoor pool is nice, altough its not very big.
The rooms are comfortable but in need of a refurb. The handle was hanging off our bathroom door but it did the job for what we needed it to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
John,

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear that you were pleased with our staff.

We sincerely apologize for the hanging door handle. You'll be happy to hear that we have a renovation of our one-bedroom suites planned for later this year.

We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    681
    312
    166
    87
See reviews for
354
402
78
940
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

So let's be honest, the Radisson is a great location and the people working here are great. I have stayed in one of the updated standard rooms and it was nice. So why, why I ask, would they not invest in updating rooms on their "executive" floor??? It is like a 1990s, dim, and dark cel, a cel which I paid more for. Radisson, update these rooms!! If you are reading this and debating the extra cash, save your money and don't upgrade, not worth it...in fact you would be better off in an updated standard room. But the hotel itself has a great location, nice staff and Starbucks in lobby so still worth staying at.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
MahaHouston,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback from our guests, especially repeat guests like yourself. We're happy that you are pleased with our staff and our location. We're also happy to hear that you have enjoyed our rooms in the past.

We are planning a renovation of our one-bedroom suites for later this year. We think you'll be pleased with the end result.

We look forward to your next stay with us and we are confident that you will enjoy your room next time. Thanks again for being a loyal guest.

Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent the weekend here as were going to see a play at Bass Concert Hall. This was a convenient location for that, as well as watching the bats, plenty of dining options, etc. The only drawback to this property is that the rooms are dated (old carpet, wallpaper, ect) and there is very limited seating by the pool if you'd like to order food and eat by the pool. Plenty of loungers but only two tables. We paid for a suite but I wouldn't recommend it unless you get a complimentary upgrade. Would stay here again.
Note: Drinks are rather expensive unless you catch happy hour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsItFiveOClock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
IsItFiveOClock,

Thank you for you review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location convenient to everything you wanted to do.

You'll be happy to hear that we are planning a renovation of of one-bedroom suites later this year.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is in a nice location. The staff are very nice and helpful. Might stay there again but only after checking out other properties in the area. The rooms were a good size but the hotel is in need of an updated. Could just be used to staying in newer properties. It wasn't what I expected for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not on Cesar Chavez. Also, factor in an extra $18 a day for parking at the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
doncur,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found our staff helpful. It's also great that you were pleased with our location and the size of our rooms.

You mentioned our rooms being dated - we are actually going to be renovating our rooms beginning later this year. We have completed several renovations in the last year - you may have enjoyed our new, infinity-edge pool and chavez, our new restaurant. Our rooms will be our next big renovation. We hope you'll visit us again to see how they turn out!

Until then, you can see updates about our remodels, as well as Austin area events and activities, by following us on Facebook (/RadissonAustin) or Twitter (@RadissonAustin).

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a conference in late April on our very first trip to Austin. This is a nice hotel, a little dated, but the great location and really super staff make it a good choice for downtown visitors and convention attendees. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Convention Center and there are tons of awesome restaurants within walking distance, plus its within easy reach of all the 6th street fun. It has a great bar out back with a view overlooking the river, and it is in close proximity of the Congress Ave. Bridge for bat-and-people watching at sunset. Jogging and walking trails are great for late afternoon or evening exercise. The rooms are pleasant, certainly comfortable. Ours had a great view of the city that more than made up for its slightly dated decor. The staff at this hotel was truly awesome; everyone was friendly and outgoing, quick to answer questions or help with anything. The housekeeping staff here is magnificent; no matter what time we returned from the conference, our room was always clean and fresh when we got back. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Kinich,

Thank you so much for your review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your first trip to Austin and your stay with us. We're pleased that our location was convenient for you, that you found your room comfortable & clean, and that you enjoyed the bat & people watching from our chavez lounge. We are especially pleased to hear your rave reviews of our staff! We try our best to deliver genuine Texas hospitality to all of our guests and we're happy you recognized that.

We hope that you'll stay with us again if you're ever back in Austin!

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited Austin for a Motor race event with some friends from Australia.
They upgraded both rooms free of charge.
Carparking was onsite and only a couple of blocks to sixth street with all the bars.
TGI Fridays put on a good meal and had a good bar atmosphere for all the motor racing fans in town.
Rooms were as expected clean and presentable with a turn down service.
Will recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for your review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to mention that TGIFriday's has closed since your stay. Our new restaurant, chavez, features southwestern cuisine and floor-to-ceiling views of the lake.

We hope that you'll stay with us again, should your travels bring you back to Austin.

Happy traveling,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Every time my family and I visit Austin, we stay in this hotel. We always stay here for the Austin Marathon in that you have a 10 min walk to the start. The location couldn't be any better! We park in the free garage and can easily walk to many restaurants. Plus, it's just a 5 min walk to Lady Bird Lake aka the best place to run/walk in Austin! Rooms with a view of the lake are a must! I love the renovation of the restaurant, Chavez, for it's beautiful glass window views of the lake and the nice bar are a must see. Rooms are spacious, well cleaned and remember to get a lake view! Recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice stay downtown and central to all things Austin!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Katie H,

Thank you for your review and for being such a loyal guest! We're happy to hear that you've found us to be a good home base for many Austin adventures including the Austin Marathon, runs around the lake, and numerous restaurants. We're so happy to hear that you enjoy our new restaurant chavez and its view of the lake.

We look forward to your next visit! Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook (/RadissonAustin) and Twitter (@RadissonAustin) for updates about our hotel, as well as Austin area events and activities.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing